Customer Reviews for

Desperation Dinners!: Home-Cooked Meals for Frantic Families in 20 Minutes Flat

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    I learned so much...

    I bought this book shortly after it first came out. Even though I had several years of kitchen experience, I learned things in this book I somehow missed learning before. For example, what kind of basic essentials should you always have on hand to throw together a meal. I also learned a lot of shortcuts used in these recipes that I can transfer to other recipes and to making up my own, on the fly.

    My one and only complaint is that most of the recipes are very high carb. Still, it does what it promises to do: gives you a wide variety of recipes that are quick, simple and tasty. It's such a great resource that I always give it to new brides, and I recommend it to any busy mom or newbie cook.

    Try the "Pasta with no-cook sauce" -- YUM!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    The best cookbook for busy families!

    Every recipe in this book has been wonderful so far, and even my husband can make a tasty dinner in under 20 minutes! It is a lifesaver for busy families!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2007

    A great cookbook, for everyone !

    I have owned this book for five years, and i refer to it often. I find it is a great beginners cook book, but its also good for the experienced cook, who wants to save some time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    A must-have for busy families

    This book is a life saver. Not only are we eating better, but we are saving about $150-200 dollars a month (in the past 4 months) and my husband and I have each lost about 10 pounds without even trying (and that's in spite of eating desserts on occasion, too). Most of all, we are less frantic, and have more time to relax and enjoy being with our kids. OH, and the food is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2004

    Great tasting easy recipes for the non-cooker

    Love to eat,but hate complicated recipes.My headline sums this cookbook up.Friend suggested it to me and she has 5 kids.I have made several recipes from here and they all are good!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2003

    Wonderful meals, great time-saver!

    This is my favorite cookbook. I have three children under the age of seven. Our afternoons are very busy, as I am driving all around town picking up the children from school and going to dance or soccer, etc. When we make it home from an afternoon running around I am just too exhausted to cook - fast food is not the answer and taking three kids out to a restaurant is not fun(nor affordable or practical). I finally found an answer - this book helps me quickly prepare dinner - mealtimes are not a hassle, nor difficult! I make most of our dinners from this book - the meals are delicious and healthy. Highly recommended for busy families - this book is wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2003

    Wonderful Cookbook...

    I am a recent college graduate who has no experience in the kitchen, outside of ramen noodles & microwave pizza. I picked up this book because eating out all the time was starting to take it's toll on my wallet (and my health!) The recipes are so easy to follow & the ones I've tried all came out great. My favorites are 'Mom's Mini Meatloaves' and 'Real Life Lasagna'. I didn't think I was capable of actually making a great meal at home until I got this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2003

    Hectic schedule doesn't mean you can't cook

    Love this book, took my family out of the pasta and fast food rut. Can really have good tasting meals in 20 minutes and also good tasting meals that use low-fat ingredients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2001

    A must for any parent of a young child/infant

    Borowed this from a friend. After two months of it being 'my bible', I finally went out and bought one for myself...and three for family and friends! It is a godsend. I've always loved to cook, but haven't really found the time to try new recipes like I did pre-daughter. This book is fun to cook with, and the recipes are FANTASTIC and ready in a flash! Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    A life-saver for new parents...

    After our first child was born, we found little time to fix decent meals. Desperate! for some quick but satifying dinners, I picked up this book. I was not disappointed. Now, almost every dinner we eat comes from this cook book! A definate buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    We Love It!

    I got this book for my wife for Christmas. We use it all the time. The best quick prep, easy recipe type cookbook I've seen. Great tasting meal ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    Delicious Recipes

    When they say you can have a great tasting meal in 20 minutes - they weren't lying!! This book has super easy, super delicious recipes. I bought it, tried it and went out and bought three more copies for family and friends. You have to buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1