Customer Reviews for

Destined (House of Night Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(911)

4 Star

(239)

3 Star

(131)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait to read it

Loved the other books. Can't wait to read this one!

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

125 out of 247 people found this review helpful.

Needs to come to an end!

I love this series but it has really started to drag on WAY too long! The last book "Awakened" was completely pointless. I've enjoyed this serious but put it to rest already! 9 books are more than enough!

posted by VampireFan2010 on May 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1412 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 71
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Great books! Do some research though!!!

    For everyone who wants these books to end, I just thought I would let you know that on her site, it clearly states that she has a twelve book contract..so it will end. It is an amazing read, and didn't take me long to finish all the books. I loved them and still do!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    LOVE This one.

    I thought that Destined was so much better then Awakened. I got kind of bored with Awakened that I wasn't really waiting for Destined.... But I went out and got and I read it in one day, couldn't put it down. There were things I would change but not gonna spoil it for anyone :)

    OH and by the way they have a total of 12 books coming out for the House of Night Series.. Hoped that helped!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Must read series

    Before you start this book... you have to read 'Dragon's Oath'. It ties book 8 to this one and will help make sense of some of the things that happen with Dragon in this book.
    It is a great book. Be prepared to both cry and this 'about dang time' when you reach the end. Your gonna love it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Destined is a Must read

    Great read! Though it leaves you hanging at the end it also drawls you in from begining to the end!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Gone on way, way too long!!!

    When the series started, we were interested. Like all good series, it should have ended somewhere between volume 3 and volume 7. It is now more like an ongoing soap opera ("As the World Turns" or "Days of Our Lives"), where nothing much really changes. We quit reading several volumes ago and are just waiting for the final book. I know I will never start another series until I know the end is written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    ???

    I stopped in the middle of burned. Steve rae and rephaim lik get together.???

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    end already!!

    I liked these books when I first started to read them but after awhile it started to just drag on for waaaay to long. I don't like the main character because she seems self-centered. Only worried about her love life when its obvious from the story that she may be the only one who can stop Neferet and Kalona. Everyone else seems to be completely oblivious to the things Neferet does and causes to happen when the evidence is so obvious a three year old could see it. I just don't understand. Its too convenient to be even a small bit believable. I mean I know its fiction but come on! The only reason i'm still reading this series is for the story line between Stevie Rae and the Raven Mocker, (and she wasn't even one of my favorite character's when she was "alive") and the fact that once I start a series I like to finish it. This had better be the last one or I don't think I can finish this one.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I cant read it!!!

    Am i the only one whose book isnt loading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Boo1652@yahoo.com

    Add me

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    recommended - you must check it out !!!!

    if you are a fan of this series i recommended to you. Great book .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    this book is great

    I really like the part where theyre walking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Awsome!!!!

    I was not expecting what Kalona did towardes the end, my jaw literary droped open lol. Cant wait for the next one. House of night is the BEST series i have read. These series had me crying and laughing. I hope PC and Kristin keep wrighting good books like this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    wtf

    This gurl needs to hurry and pick a guy... ummm she has stark in the beggining of this book and then the new guy comes and pow.... u guess wut happens next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Good (for teenagers though)!

    I've read countless of books and must admit this story stayed with me even though I've read the series a while ago. I've been waiting a while for the next installment, and I'm happy it's finally coming out October of this year! I recommend this book only to teens 14 & up though, it has some pretty heated scenes inappropiate for kids. I do hope the series wrap up in Hidden, the series has been on a long run, any longer and it'll be dragging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Loveee

    I really am sad that the series is ending soon!!!! I love them!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Read before u judge!!!! >:(

    Dont just assume that zoe is gonna fall for all those guys again!! The book was actually really good. The last review really ticked me off >:( but anyways. . .the book was one of the best in the series. Im just wondring wat happened to the little insignificant detail that kalona could enter starks body since some of his soul is in stark. Dying to see how zoe will react to aurox (heath) when she finds out hes alive and wat happenes to neferet when her seceret is revealed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Ok, wow. Im done.

    This is dissapointing. I could hardly bring myself to finish this, and I honestly wish I hadnt. This series is way too long. This book is completely just filler, I'd actually reccomend skipping it. Sorry, but unless #10 is the last one, I won't be reading it. This was completely pointless and ended in a wanna-be cliffhanger that really does nothing but piss you off. Amen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This series needs to end.

    I started this series in seventh grade,I'm now in tenth and this series is just too long. Not only do I feel like the books drag on for ages, but the story line has not gotten anywhere in the past 3 books and I feel like Zoey is the most conceded and stupidest main character in the world. She dates every guy she sees and is really a horrible leader. I actually only keep reading the books to see how Stevie Rae and Rephraim end up. I adored this series till about book 3 but now it is just stupid. If you are wanting to start this series I don't recommend it. It is a waste of time. Go read The Hunger Games, Vampire Academy, Night World, or even Vampire Kisses. At least those get to a point and have good story lines with great main characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Go Forth and Enjoy

    Destined may be my favorite House of Night books to date. The wait for it was unbearable after all that happened in Awakened. October and November have been filled with so many great book releases that it was hard to choose what I would read and when. Lucky for me, Destined, won the vote.

    I have seen review after review complaining about Heath being thrown back into the mix. If you read Awakened then you knew this was going to happen. I loved his role as Aurox and can't wait to find out what happens next. Like every House of Night book, there was a huge cliffhanger causing much pain and nail-biting until the next release.

    As the book begins, we find Zoey and Stevie Ray getting ready to return to the House of Night with their entourage. If you know anything about this series, you know that this cannot be a good thing for anybody. Nyx has stepped in and forced Neferet to let this group of misfits return to the school. Neferet is up to her usual no good. To amp up her usual trouble making, Neferet decides to throw a few humans in the mix. It is about time for her to get caught with her hand in the cookie jar. She continues to get away with too much. This book focuses on exactly that.

    As the story progresses, we learn a lot more about Rephaim and his relationship with his father, Kalona. This may be one of the biggest surprises to come out of the House of Night Series. Stevie has a really hard time accepting the fact that Rephaim still loves his father even though he really doesn't want anything to do with him.

    There is not a lot of action in this book. There is a lot of turmoil between the group leading up to a ritual that takes place at Grandma Redbird's farm. One of the things I love about these books is that there are laugh-out-loud moments scattered among cry-my-eyes out moments. Ms. Cast uses an unusual approach with the point of view. If we are seeing Zoey's point of view, that part will be written in first person. When she shifts the point of view to someone else, she writes it in third person. I personally love this technique. I love the fact that we are able to see the story from so many points of view.

    Anywhoo...I loved this book as I have every other in this series. Go forth and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Awesome!!

    I give a ten! I heart me HON!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1412 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 71