Customer Reviews for

Destined (House of Night Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1412 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(916)

4 Star

(242)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait to read it

Loved the other books. Can't wait to read this one!

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

125 out of 247 people found this review helpful.

Needs to come to an end!

I love this series but it has really started to drag on WAY too long! The last book "Awakened" was completely pointless. I've enjoyed this serious but put it to rest already! 9 books are more than enough!

posted by VampireFan2010 on May 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Needs to come to an end!

    I love this series but it has really started to drag on WAY too long! The last book "Awakened" was completely pointless. I've enjoyed this serious but put it to rest already! 9 books are more than enough!

    125 out of 247 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    Comedy Show, Anyone?

    Quite frankly, this series is way too drawn out. I really enjoyed the first, and even the second, book in the series, but the story line follows a pointless pattern of Zoey and her constantly setting her sights on a new man. Each novel is painted with a mix of pathetic attempts to appeal to teenagers and a whole slew of expletives that rival even the vocabulary that would rival even the most profane comedians. Basically, if your looking for a good laugh, then you should definitely read this and be glad that the Casts don't control how teenagers really act, talk, and live.

    24 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Gone on way, way too long!!!

    When the series started, we were interested. Like all good series, it should have ended somewhere between volume 3 and volume 7. It is now more like an ongoing soap opera ("As the World Turns" or "Days of Our Lives"), where nothing much really changes. We quit reading several volumes ago and are just waiting for the final book. I know I will never start another series until I know the end is written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I cant read it!!!

    Am i the only one whose book isnt loading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This series needs to end.

    I started this series in seventh grade,I'm now in tenth and this series is just too long. Not only do I feel like the books drag on for ages, but the story line has not gotten anywhere in the past 3 books and I feel like Zoey is the most conceded and stupidest main character in the world. She dates every guy she sees and is really a horrible leader. I actually only keep reading the books to see how Stevie Rae and Rephraim end up. I adored this series till about book 3 but now it is just stupid. If you are wanting to start this series I don't recommend it. It is a waste of time. Go read The Hunger Games, Vampire Academy, Night World, or even Vampire Kisses. At least those get to a point and have good story lines with great main characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    I have no words

    OKay.... Really another house of Night book. o.0 I thought it was over FIVE books ago.. You know when Zoey saved the world and found and broke up with another guy. I loved this series and I read the first Three books in one siting. And a Friend of mine actually told me that the authors had planed on Nine books. I didnt think it would happen. But wow. Its been like 6 years. And usually the greatest Authors write about Three 300 to 500 page book in that time. I think alot of this series could have been maybe Two books. And alot of the people who started this series like me havent read the last Three books or in the least skimed them and skiped half of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

    THE BOOKS ARE TO SHORT FOR ALL THE PEOPLE IN THE BOOKS. THE AUTHORS RUSH THROUGH EVERYTHING TO CRAM IT ALL IN BEFORE THEY GET TO 300 PAGES.
    WHAT A JOKE! IT'S REALLY SAD BECAUSE, IT COULD HAVE BEEN A SERIES JUST AS GOOD AS TWILIGHT OR EVEN THE VAMPIRE DIARIES. I THINK THEY SHOULD HAVE THE RIGHTS TO WRITE THIS SERIES TAKEN AWAY FROM THEM. THE AUTHORS ARE DESTROYING WHAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A GREAT SERIES.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Just stop wasting your money and time.

    After Untamed, i got really sick of each character. Zoey is having sex with almost every guy, and Aphrodite is cussing senselessly, Stevie Rae's excessive twag talk(don't get me wrong, she's adorable but the way its written annoys me), Neferet is...well she's being super slutty and evil. nothing new. I really hate these books guys, don't waste your time. It was pretty stereotypical and offensive. It's like they know every teenage girl wants to have sex with every guy and have a million boyfriends, then they bash on religion. I get it, you may not like them, but don't hate, it's rude. Go get books you get something out of. Everything in this book is bad words, a lot of sex, stupid main characters, and her very annoying friends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    Is it over yet?

    I was hooked on this series when it first came out. I loved Zoey and the gang ... except for Erik though. However I think this should have ended like four books ago. When Heath died (he was my favorite character)the books lost my interest and when Awakened came out I got so confused on what was gain on. Then you have Stevie Rae's relationship and in my opinion the series ended a LONG time ago.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Okay...

    Why isnt my book loading?!?!?!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Poor spelling

    The author made a tremendous amount of spelling errors. I believe it is spelled magic in the dedication—not magick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Waste of time

    Its awfully written....the whole series just repeats itself and drags. Also since when do vamps dont have fangs and peform rituals of witches? The author is clearly confused with the two and she makes the character Zoey look like a hormone charged slut, that can't make up her mind about any guy that comes her way....should have ended at book 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Fatcakes

    Fat cakes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I would love it if one of the more recent editions of this serie

    I would love it if one of the more recent editions of this series were actually a completed story. The constant 150 pages of crap for 10 pages of good is not worth the money. I wouldn't mind so much if I could finish the book and look forward to the next one with out feeling the one I just read was greatly lacking and disappointing. I do not recommend this to anyone.. What made the first couple of books enjoyable was the completion of the story, and the possibility for more.. Now there is no story just winey kids and overthetop clues of what coming up. If you can borrow this book because you feel you have to read it than do so.. I give up I'm not following this series any longer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Okay?

    Anyone else pickin up on the hints of beastiality between that whore Neferet and the creepy white bull??????? :I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Series has been drawn out but I was still excited to read this!

    I feel it fell short in many ways including literally! Another Cast book that is way too short for the money! Starting to rip your fans off!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    I loved books 1-6 but now I have come to find it's just the same

    I loved books 1-6 but now I have come to find it's just the same thing over and over again, Zoey being a whore and her friends swearing about how they need to stop Neferet but never actually do. Hidden better be the last book because I will not get the next book. Needs to end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    After a while this series just started to get more and more poin

    After a while this series just started to get more and more pointless. I loved the first four books but then I found it hard to like the protagonist. She just got annoying, whiny and needy on her way to becoming what she is. Kristin and P.C. Cast are amazing authors but this series is just boring now. :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    NEEDS TO END

    I started off loving this series, however after book 7/8 there was only so much repetitivene teen melodrama I could take. By the time book 9 came out (took forever) I had no clue what was going on and it the novel was deeply entrenched and built on the other books, I couldnt just pick up and go. It would require going back and reading book 5-8 just to know what was going on.
    Dear Author, the series needs to end at some point. Make it into an HBO series, TV show, something but another book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Didn't like this book

    I felt this book just didn't have a good plot...It just kept going on and on and on.....Please make book 10 more exciting. Hated this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4