Customer Reviews for

Destined (House of Night Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(920)

4 Star

(244)

3 Star

(132)

2 Star

(54)

1 Star

(68)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 104 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait to read it

Loved the other books. Can't wait to read this one!

posted by theReader278 on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

125 out of 247 people found this review helpful.

Needs to come to an end!

I love this series but it has really started to drag on WAY too long! The last book "Awakened" was completely pointless. I've enjoyed this serious but put it to rest already! 9 books are more than enough!

posted by VampireFan2010 on May 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Ehhh ok.

    This series was really great in the begining and I was excited for each new one to come out but the last two have been incredibly hard to read. They are so boring and just drag. Yes you want to make more money but end the series already, it's starting to become crap!

    39 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    end already!!

    I liked these books when I first started to read them but after awhile it started to just drag on for waaaay to long. I don't like the main character because she seems self-centered. Only worried about her love life when its obvious from the story that she may be the only one who can stop Neferet and Kalona. Everyone else seems to be completely oblivious to the things Neferet does and causes to happen when the evidence is so obvious a three year old could see it. I just don't understand. Its too convenient to be even a small bit believable. I mean I know its fiction but come on! The only reason i'm still reading this series is for the story line between Stevie Rae and the Raven Mocker, (and she wasn't even one of my favorite character's when she was "alive") and the fact that once I start a series I like to finish it. This had better be the last one or I don't think I can finish this one.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Ok, wow. Im done.

    This is dissapointing. I could hardly bring myself to finish this, and I honestly wish I hadnt. This series is way too long. This book is completely just filler, I'd actually reccomend skipping it. Sorry, but unless #10 is the last one, I won't be reading it. This was completely pointless and ended in a wanna-be cliffhanger that really does nothing but piss you off. Amen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    It seemed like this was just a filler book. There were a few imp

    It seemed like this was just a filler book. There were a few important things in here, but other than that, nothing happened. I loved the series in the beginning, but now I'm sick of it. This series should of ended already. I don't know why they continue it. For money? Because they don't want to see it end? Either way, they just need to stop.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Destined is book nine in the House of Night novel series, publis

    Destined is book nine in the House of Night novel series, published in 2011, and the only one I have read since book three. With that being said, it doesn’t matter where in the series you start as each book is a perfect standalone, but complement one another quite well.

    Ex- High Priestess, Zoey, is back home with her guardian and boyfriend, Stark, which gives them both this ultimate connection between them. She learns her mother is dead, first sentence, and instead of being devastated by the news, she quietly sheds a few tears, summons the spirit to still Stark, then has sex with him. I was lost in trying to figure out where the mourning period or real emotion would come, but it never did and this made Zoey look very heartless and a poor leading character. From there, Nefeteri is all about being evil, while somehow the council can’t seem to see it, which has a reader questioning the validity of said council.

    While I’m not sure I would recommend buying the book new, I would say to pick it up used or from the library, especially if you like train wrecks or Jersey Shore as there is just so much poor dialogue, it’s dumbed down to below middle school level; so many pop culture references, weird descriptions, and odd teen angst that I question if the Cast authors have been out of the teen world a bit too long, but it creates a book that is hard to put down simply for this reason. This is just one of those love/hate books.
    *This book was provided in exchange for an honest review*    
    *You can view the original review at Musing with Crayolakym and San Francisco & Sacramento City Book Review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    I just wish she would finally end this series.. Its nice to read

    I just wish she would finally end this series.. Its nice to read but goodness all good things come to an end. I kind of feel forced to read this and the following installments just because I want to know what happens next. smh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Ehhh.

    Yeah, so this book has taken me FOREVER to finish! It just drags on and on. I dont even know what the plot is! I have finished several books while reading this. I'm just trying to get this book over with. Also, it just seems that the authors are trying too hard to make them sound like teenagers. If you are going to make a series so long, please make every book as interesting as the last. That is all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Could have been better

    Honestly this book was perdicatable and overall pretty lame. It made me wish it was the last book so this series can be over and i dont feel obligated to read another one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Unknown

    It's done dragged on for too long now im jst readin it to know what happens not enjoyment. Should have ended it along time ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Uggh enough already

    Dont get me wrong iLoved the first few but enough already seriously the main female characters are getting more flighty each book. And the random( failed) attempts to add in current pop culture( when in each book whats current has changed) to the conversations only make me question the writers skills. Good base story line. But end it already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Ehh. Not as good as the first few.

    I wasnt impressed with the last few. Talk about beating the dead horse. I loved the first few, but the plot felt so overworked and just made me bored. She can only write so many. I just was bored. Very very bored

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    They keep getting worse

    I have been sticking with this series out of pure willpower. There are many poorly written book all spanding the time of a day or so and they keep on a cheesy bantor that teenagers laugh at. The author tries too hard to write how a teenager would speak and ends up looking dumb. The first two or three books were okay, now they are just being ridiculus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    So-So

    Most of the book nothing happened except for Zoey and Stark getting it on and a few other unimportant things. The ending was good, but the rest of the book should have been cut out. I had to force myself to read it so I could finish it and I didn't look forward to the next chapter like most HoN books. Sorry P.C. and Kristin, I love your books but this was pretty bad and I was especially disappointed because of how much I had looked forward to reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Boring! Such a drag! Make it end!

    Okay, I really did like these books a lot. I loved Marked thru Untamed. Then we came into Hunted and it was eh. Not as good as it should have been with such a dramatic filled ending of the last book. Tempted was also okay just like Burned. Then we get to Awakened and its TERRIBLE! Just like this book. Nothing exciting happened, nothing until it gets to the end. Then finally something happened! Like effing kill Neferet and find a new villian but no. Its only the people finding out how evil she is. Okay, we get she is evil now lets move on! And dont even get me started on Zoey. They try to make her into a teenager but fail at it.and i would know I'm a teen. No girl in their right mind as that many guys. You know what we call those whores.

    This book was totally dragged. The only reason I give two stars is because of what happened with Rephaim and Kalona and Stevie Rae. Everything else terrible. Especially with the unwanted drama. P.C Cast and Kristen Cast please please write better books you have an amzing idea just a terrible wzay of portarting it. Please listen to your fans.

    The only reason I havent given up on these boks because i want to know what happens to those characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Meh

    The book was okay. I was disappointed with the lack of action and it took entirely too long to get to the real action. The last few books could have been combined,making one large amazing book. I have to reread the last few chapters of the previous book just to remember what is going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    time to throw in the towel!

    dont get me wrong , i loved the first couple of books but i feel the last three have just gotten worse. This book could have been cut down alot if you took out all the descriptive words. It seemed they were describing every detail just as space fillers. Some of the sentences didnt even make sense or it was like why even put that in?? this will be my last book of this series i will be reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Not keeping muy interest

    I have really enjoyed the past books in this series but this one is not keeping my interest. I am having issues with all the character changes and different points of view. Would really like to see Zoey telling the adventure. This will be the last book in this series that I read. Seems to be the same books repeating themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Is there an end in sight

    Seriously wrap it up already. Im a faithful follower but the last few books could have been combined....you get a low score for dragging it out yet again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Well... it was boring.

    Yeah, it was and I have a LOT of patience with books. Nothing really happened in it, not much changed, only let Zoey be more important because she can do EVERYTHING. This book must just be a transitional one because it took me a LONG time to buckle down and finish it. I was bored the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Should've ended by book 5

    The series was good in the beginning but after Zoey killed kalona the first time on book 5 it should have ended right there and then but to me it now looks like there in it for the money. it gets annoying after a while when she can never make up her mind on which guy to pick not even girls in real life are like that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3