Customer Reviews for

Destined Mate

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Do you like sexy vampires and werewolves with non-stop action and romance? Destined Mate is a novella you can sink your teeth into then!

Two hundred years ago Angela Lavigne fled her home and her love when she was turned into a vampire against her will. Knowing her lover's intense hate of vampires she couldn't take the chance of him killing her, so she disappeared never expecting to see him again. When A...
Two hundred years ago Angela Lavigne fled her home and her love when she was turned into a vampire against her will. Knowing her lover's intense hate of vampires she couldn't take the chance of him killing her, so she disappeared never expecting to see him again. When Angela believes her friend and fellow vampire is kidnapped though by a pack of werewolves she storms their keep only to come face to face with the one man that has the capability of destroying both her life and her heart.
Knox is a powerful and fearsome werewolf alpha, titles well deserved with a thousand years of life, but he never forgot the young women he fell in love with centuries ago. When she suddenly appears in his home, Knox is not going to let her disappear on him again and will use any means necessary to keep her in his arms, including using the irresistible attraction between them to remind her of what it can be like once more. But can Knox convince Angela that he has changed his stance on vampires since her turning, assure her that they can overcome vampire/werewolf discrimination and prove that she's his Destined Mate?

What can I say about Destined Mates besides that I loved it?!?! It was a fast-paced, sexy and all together captivating novella that I was able to finish in one night. Katie Reus builds a vivid paranormal world where vampire and werewolves have deep seated hate but a shaky truce, the dynamics and politics of the two races was fascinating and added an important element to the story and Knox's relationship with Angela.

I always find it more believable when a couple featured in a novella have a past history together; this makes the fast-paced relationship realistic and still gives the couple plenty of time to work out their conflicts and issues. In this case, Knox needs to understand why Angela left him and Angela needs to believe that Knox has lost his intrinsic hate for the Vampire race while trusting that discrimination in his pack will not come between them in the future. An irrevocable bond formed between them two hundred years ago and despite their lengthy separation passion and desire still flame high. I was intrigued by both characters right away, Angela's willingness to face danger and possible death for a friend and Knox's leadership and dedication to the woman he loves. Katie Reus got the part of alpha hero just right with a strong, dominating male who has just enough charm and give. She gives readers a sensual romance and a couple that you can easily fall in love with.

Add to that the action and tension, you end up with a fabulous paranormal romance with plenty of spice. I'm looking forward to the next novella in this series!

posted by RBtWBC on October 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too short, only 59 total pages on the nook

The book IS NOT worth the money. The story is actually only 50 pages, 59 total with the table of contents, author's note, etc. I wish I would have known BEFORE I purchased it.

posted by 839457 on October 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Too short, only 59 total pages on the nook

    The book IS NOT worth the money. The story is actually only 50 pages, 59 total with the table of contents, author's note, etc. I wish I would have known BEFORE I purchased it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Do you like sexy vampires and werewolves with non-stop action and romance? Destined Mate is a novella you can sink your teeth into then!

    Two hundred years ago Angela Lavigne fled her home and her love when she was turned into a vampire against her will. Knowing her lover's intense hate of vampires she couldn't take the chance of him killing her, so she disappeared never expecting to see him again. When Angela believes her friend and fellow vampire is kidnapped though by a pack of werewolves she storms their keep only to come face to face with the one man that has the capability of destroying both her life and her heart.
    Knox is a powerful and fearsome werewolf alpha, titles well deserved with a thousand years of life, but he never forgot the young women he fell in love with centuries ago. When she suddenly appears in his home, Knox is not going to let her disappear on him again and will use any means necessary to keep her in his arms, including using the irresistible attraction between them to remind her of what it can be like once more. But can Knox convince Angela that he has changed his stance on vampires since her turning, assure her that they can overcome vampire/werewolf discrimination and prove that she's his Destined Mate?

    What can I say about Destined Mates besides that I loved it?!?! It was a fast-paced, sexy and all together captivating novella that I was able to finish in one night. Katie Reus builds a vivid paranormal world where vampire and werewolves have deep seated hate but a shaky truce, the dynamics and politics of the two races was fascinating and added an important element to the story and Knox's relationship with Angela.

    I always find it more believable when a couple featured in a novella have a past history together; this makes the fast-paced relationship realistic and still gives the couple plenty of time to work out their conflicts and issues. In this case, Knox needs to understand why Angela left him and Angela needs to believe that Knox has lost his intrinsic hate for the Vampire race while trusting that discrimination in his pack will not come between them in the future. An irrevocable bond formed between them two hundred years ago and despite their lengthy separation passion and desire still flame high. I was intrigued by both characters right away, Angela's willingness to face danger and possible death for a friend and Knox's leadership and dedication to the woman he loves. Katie Reus got the part of alpha hero just right with a strong, dominating male who has just enough charm and give. She gives readers a sensual romance and a couple that you can easily fall in love with.

    Add to that the action and tension, you end up with a fabulous paranormal romance with plenty of spice. I'm looking forward to the next novella in this series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Romancing the Book

    Reviewed By~April
    Review Copy Provided By~Author

    I found Destined Mate to be a quick and enjoyable read that fit well into my love of the paranormal genre. Though short, author Katie Reus spins a well told and highly descriptive tale of love - forbidden between werewolf and vampire. Add a dose of sizzle, an action packed fight and destiny - no matter how against the grain it may be - and you have one heck of a story.

    Knox is a sensual, strong and stubborn Alpha werewolf. Angela is a strong-headed vampire, who was turned a century ago. At one time their love for one another was a blazing fire that could not be extinguished. The love and desire that they shared for one another was like none other. Then, when Angela is turned into a vampire, she runs, knowing Knox's extreme hatred for vampires. Both hearts shattered and broken.

    It is when Angela goes looking to save her dear friend that she once again runs in Knox and the sparks instantly fly. Nothing goes as planned and stubbornness fights against chemistry and passion. Which will win in the end and who will come out on top?

    This was my first Harlequin Nocturne Craving story and I wasn't completely sure what to expect. I was quite happy with the way the story unfolded, the bits of sizzle and sensuousness and I loved both the characters of Angela and Knox. Their personalities showed through incredibly well and I loved the push and pull between the two of them. Though short, Destined Mate was a lovely story and I greatly look forward to reading more by Katie Reus in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Sf

    Groans as he thrusts softer and sprays his cum

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow...this was a sexy and fast paced read. This novella captures

    Wow...this was a sexy and fast paced read. This novella captures the reader from beginning to end. The downside is that the story is over just as it begins. I always love a cross species romance and what better story than a vampire and werewolf. I would definitely read this one again. Enough said!

    Katie Reus is the must author to read. Don't sleep on her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Book 2 is better

    Thia book was good but didn't know it was only 50 pages. $2.99 for 50 pages, really......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Chemistry...

    My Review:


    As a human, Angela had been Knox's lover and she was well aware of his deep-seeded hatred of vampires. So when she was brutally attacked and turned into one, she didn't want to put either of them through that trauma knowing he would more than likely kill her as a result. That was 90 years ago and Angela hasn't seen him since and has no idea that he changed all of his opinions after she was changed. The only thing that she knows is that Knox's pack is holding one of her best friends and fellow vampires and she has no intention of letting them kill her.


    The book starts with Angela infiltrating the werewolf compound, and wow, this girl has some moves. She's fast, quick-thinking, and incredibly strong. She also realizes when she's beat and knows when to back down. I love that she's a really strong vampire and daywalker. For me, that made the romance between her and Knox more viable.


    The chemistry between Knox and Angel (as he calls her) is instantaneous and incredible. It may have been 90 years, but you would never guess it from the way that they react to each other. If there was a single thing that I could change about this book, I would have liked to see more interaction between them. This is a short novella and the chemistry works because of their history. I just felt like it was all a little too short between the two of them.


    Overall the book was a fun and entertaining read. It's really short, but there is a lot packed into this little book. It's a great overview of the way that this world works, within the pack and within the vampire clan...as we get to see the leader of the vampires, Titus, too. There is TONS of action...both fighting and sexual. It's quick-paced and very easy to read. I am looking forward to book two in this series, Protector's Mate, which is about Alaric, Knox's second. We get to see fabulous glimpses of him in this book as he helps to soothe Angela when Knox needs his focus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Mars and Venus or in this case Lunar Moon

    Angela has been hiding from Knox for decades. She knows how much the Alpha werewolf hates vampires and cannot face the idea of her former lover killing her. Only the kidnapping of her friend gives her the courage to risk her heart and her life by seeing him again.

    Knox has hated vampires since they destroyed his family centuries before. He believes they are all evil and should be killed on sight. That is until his lover is turned against her will.

    He has searched for her for decades without success and suddenly she is on his land and in his power. Can he convince her that his feelings about vampires have changed, but his feelings for her never have?

    This story was a quick read at slightly over sixty pages. Although the forbidden relationship between a vampire and a werewolf is not unique, the author develops the story well in regards to how the pack does or does not accept Angela.
    Most of the tension in this book has less to do with Knox convincing Angela that he still loves her as it does with Angela not understanding his reactions as a werewolf. That is not much different than human women not understanding human men . . . now is it?

    My only reservation with this story is that it is a story. I would love an expanded version that explores the dynamics of Angela’s vampire tribe and Knox’s werewolf pack. I would also like to see more of how the female werewolves accept her as their Alpha female.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 11 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1