Customer Reviews for

Destined for an Early Grave (Night Huntress Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1075 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(786)

4 Star

(216)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love this series!!! Action packed and good story line

This is one of the best series I've read. The heroine is a butt-kick'n half vamp who works for a paranormal military corp who protects the world from evil vampires. She is in love with her lover/husband who is a vampire who works with her to combat evil forces.

posted by 1647675 on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, but A let down

I really enjoy the Night Huntress series, but this book seems to be my least favorite so far. The books seemed to be one downward spiral of despair. It seemed to get sader and more depressing, which was upsetting for me, since I felt like it lost a lot of it's witty com...
I really enjoy the Night Huntress series, but this book seems to be my least favorite so far. The books seemed to be one downward spiral of despair. It seemed to get sader and more depressing, which was upsetting for me, since I felt like it lost a lot of it's witty comebacks and comedic moments. Also, Cat goes through same changes through the book and I feel as if she lost what sort of made her Cat. Bones and Cat go through several changes, which were heartbreaking and seemed to get worst and worst, but since it's Cat and Bones it's so well done and you can't put the book down until you know how it's going to end. At moments, I hated him, which was a first for me, but it's Bones so it doesn't last very long. It was just a very depressing book and when I finally got a moment of happiness the book was done and I wished for happier moments. That being said, if you love the rest of the series, you will enjoy this book and look forward to the next book.

posted by naomiloves on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but A let down

    I really enjoy the Night Huntress series, but this book seems to be my least favorite so far. The books seemed to be one downward spiral of despair. It seemed to get sader and more depressing, which was upsetting for me, since I felt like it lost a lot of it's witty comebacks and comedic moments. Also, Cat goes through same changes through the book and I feel as if she lost what sort of made her Cat. Bones and Cat go through several changes, which were heartbreaking and seemed to get worst and worst, but since it's Cat and Bones it's so well done and you can't put the book down until you know how it's going to end. At moments, I hated him, which was a first for me, but it's Bones so it doesn't last very long. It was just a very depressing book and when I finally got a moment of happiness the book was done and I wished for happier moments. That being said, if you love the rest of the series, you will enjoy this book and look forward to the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    Well this one was weird and a little confusing. An interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    an okay read

    First, let me say that I hate Cat, but in a love to hate her kind of way. She is spoiled and childish, and has been that way since the beginning of the series. That being said, it is one of the reasons I like this series. But, this is the first time that I did not like Bones in the series. Both of them always insist on doing thing their way, when half of their misadventures could have been prevented if either of them had taken 30 seconds to explain their thought process to the other. Although the action and the other characters make this series one I would recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    Vampire Story Its NOT

    The author took what could have been a great story and ruined it. I love vampire novels, they are my favorite over anything, but this novel is the absolute worse one this author has completed of the entire series. The author began with a good premise; Cat, the vampire hunter/assassin is a damphir, half vampire, half human, and together with Bones, a two hundred plus vampire, they kick butt and always come out on top; despite some rough patches from time to time. Not Bram Stoker classic, but a good story nonetheless. However, with this fourth installment in the series, the author goes completely off the deep in. First, the author expects us to believe that a girl raised to hate vampires, who mother believes she was raped by a vampire demon, would allow another vampire to carter off to Paris with Cat and all is well and fine. It is complete crap and deters from the original outline of the foundation of the story. What makes things worse is in this story, Cat is finally turned into a full feldged vampires, and the author could not even write that correct; instead she makes Cat transformed into some new vampire hybrid who lives off vampire blood for the power instead of human blood as a life source, which we all know is the foundation of the vampire myth, and the author completely ignores this. This novel, is a waste of time. Read the first three books in the series and skip this one. Perhaps if the author writes a fifth book in the series she'll get back to the original premise she began with and apologize for this bland awful addition to a once great series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3