Customer Reviews for

Destiny (Rogue Angel Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2006

    One Hellava Ride!

    I just finished this FAN-TAB-ULOUS book. I powered through it in under three hours. It hooked me hard and fast. When another writer hooks another writer, readers HAVE to believe the book is well written. Annja is a kick-butt heroine in the same line as Laura Croft, Marion from Raiders of the Lost Ark or Sigorney Weaver's character in Alien. An archeologist, Annja stumbles onto a mystery while trying to make a living as a host of a history show. She's in search of a story, but what she finds is more than just a story. She finds a magical sword linked to Joan of Arc, a villian of great proportions, a monster and two possible villians who could also be redeemed as heroes. This book reminded me of my favorite kind of action films or books, The DaVinci Code, Tomb Raider, Raiders of the Lost Ark and all the action flicks I've seen over the years. To say that Archer created a movie in my head is an understatement. The tight writing, terrific detail and exciting pace didn't let up until the end, and it left me wanting more. I'm glad there are two more books to come later this year. If there was anything not to like, it was that there was no real romantic elements woven into the book. This didn't hinder the read though, and it was quite satisfying nonetheless. If you like action, like to see a woman empowered and outsmarting the bad guys, then this book is for you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Indiana, Lara, now Annja

    Yes, I read this book twice. I thought this was an amazing adventure for a brand new action hero beautiful Annja Creed. Beginning with the mystery of La Bete to the sword of Joan of Arc I could not put it down. A cross between Indiana Jones and Lara Croft. This is the first of three books in this exciting series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Rogue Angel - The start of a great series

    I was looking for a fun book to read while traveling on an airplane and the Rogue Angel kept me entertained. The main storyline involves Annja Creed, an adventuresome Archaeologist/TV personality who becomes the owner of Joan of Arc¿s sword. This book is the first of the series and establishes Annja¿s origins with the sword. The storyline for this book focuses on the mystery of La Bete, which involves deadly occultists battling with renegade monks while Annja is trying to solve the puzzle and stay alive. The mystery of the La Bete keeps you guesses and ends with a satisfying conclusion. The author does an excellent job of writing a character-driven action story. If you are fan of Joan of Arc, Witchblade and the Da Vinci code, this book will appeal to you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2006

    I loved it!

    This is an absolutely terrific action/adventure with a wonderfully unfolding mystery, a delicious treasure hunt, secrets, a mystical sword (that you'll want to own), and -- my favorite -- a smart, witty heroine (I wanted to be her). You will stay up turning the pages to see what happens next. And the secondary characters are fabulous, as well! Two especially -- they made me laugh and charmed me completely. Some books you just want to dive into the pages and become part of the story and this is one of them. This is a book to buy, no doubt about it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2006

    Loved the Adventure!!

    Annja Creed is worthy of a series. The archaeology and the action in this first book - Destiny - is reminiscent of Raiders of the Lost Ark but with a touch of the TV show Witchblade thrown in. The pacing in this story is great---a very fast read. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I love this series! You know how I got into this book? I had fou

    I love this series! You know how I got into this book? I had found Destiny plus 4 or 5 of the other Rogue Angel books at Goodwill. At the time they were outside in big boxes with a sign saying they were 25 cents a piece. Of course me and my mom shifted through them to see if we could find anything good. I came across a book with the Rogue Angel title and, after reading the back cover, it looked interesting enough. After a little bit of searching, we found all there was there and went inside to pay for them. When I got home, after figuring out the Destiny was the first book, I started to read and quickly feel in love with this series.

    Weird how stuff like that can happen huh? Anyways now I own all of the books, some used some new, except for the newest ones that are being released. I plan on getting those too though and I hope that this book continues with the series. Though with 41 books, they may be running out of ideas for this book. Still great book, one everyone should read for they want a new series to get hooked on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Lara croft eat your heart out

    This book is intense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Full of action

    Great story with a mystery to solve

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good book, just not enough romance!

    This is one that could've been a 5 star except it left the romance category and simply went for Fantasy. Normally, I'm annoyed by too much sexual contact and not enough story, but in this case it was non-existent. The other complaint I have is that there was no actual "angel" that came forward as such. Why the rogue angel series then?

    I loved Annja in many ways! She's tough and a brawler and takes no crap period. However there could've been something between her and Garin as an example, if not Roux because he was described as about 70 or so. (I have not read the continuing books so I don't know if relationships develop in the future or not I'm only commenting on this particular book!)

    What I didn't like about it is the abrupt ending. It came too quickly and left too many unanswered questions. What did Roux mean when he commented that he had "fought much worse" than the enemies they faced? Demons? Lucifer? Who?? That kind of leave 'em in suspense writing is not something I like. If I enjoy the book, I'll buy the rest of the series, there's no need to lure me in!

    Overall I gave it a 3 star. Sorry to the writer. This could've been so much more....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    Witchblade meets Lara Croft

    I really enjoyed this book and felt it had some resemblance of Witchblade with a hint of Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones, which to me isn't a bad thing at all. The action was consistent and the characters colorful. What will be interesting to see evolve is the relationship between Annja and her 500 year old mentor Roux through this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    AMAZING

    I loved this book and I fully expected to hate it lol Seriously though, this book was awesome. Reminiscent of The Da Vinci Code and The Historian with a little something extra thrown in. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    A big fantasy and horror reader, I liked this book. It was different from some of the other books in the genre. Lots of action, and I like the way the author tied in the historical with the mumbo jumbo. I have high expectations for the rest of the series, as the author has a great character in Annja. All ages can enjoy this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Thought provoking, worth lending it out to be shared

    This book was amazing! The cover grabbed me - I'm a sucker for swords! - & after reading the first page, I was hooked. I read it from cover to cover in one afternoon. There are enough mysteries and action to keep anyone's attention. Its certainly a twist on the usual religious novels. Annja is the perfect kind of heroine. I can't wait to buy the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2006

    Fast paced action and detailed!

    Rogue Angel: Destiny by Alex Archer This book was recommended by a friend whose opinions I value, from a literary perspective, so I started it with very high expectations. Boy did it hit the high marks! This book starts by hitting the ground running and very rarely slows down to take a breath. This caught me off guard, from a series so young, as I write this book number 3 has just been released. Then as I flipped through its pages I noted that it was being published by GOLD EAGLE. Why should THAT make such a big difference? Well Gold Eagle books bought the publishing rights to the EXECUTIONER series back in the 1980¿s For those folks unfamiliar with that series, it started very much like a ¿Punisher¿ premise of revenge against the mob, when Gold Eagle bought them several things started to happen. First there were SEVERAL series available to choose from, all revolving around these characters. Secondly they were publishing 4 to 6 books each MONTH. They also offered a club that you could sign up for whereby you received your books ahead of everyone else, you go a discount and you didn¿t have to leave the house to get them. I participated for several years, and then the load at college got to outweigh the amount if free time available for reading. But I digress. This however does account for the fast action available in this book, and sets a very high standard for the Author for future volumes. Anja Creed appears to be an investigator for a ¿history TV ¿based show investigating history¿s monsters. And that¿s where we find her when the novel opens. Running across France in search of a mysterious beast that killed hundreds of people over the centuries. The first surprise of the books comes when she seems to solve that mystery within the first 1/3 of the book! Of course she has help in her discovery, since she¿s being chased by motorcycled maniacs, madman monks and even nature itself seems to be involved as a mysterious earthquake opens up the tomb of the beast and the closes itself once she has fled. Once you catch up with Anja and she has stopped to catch her breath, the real adventure starts. Who are these gangsters and why are they fixated on her work? Why are the monks determined to kill her? THEN she meets two men who claim to be several hundred years old and hate each other, but have one common interest HER. There is a HUGE potential built into not only this book but this character and the series itself. When dealing with an Indiana Jones type character, which is very intelligent and has a very strong grasp of the unusual you really lay yourself out a very broad palette to draw from, that combined with several `mystically oriented¿ sidebars makes for very interesting and very rapid reading. My hope is that this series will extend for quite a few books, allowing the author a very slow development process to flesh out the main character as well as paint a nice backdrop for some of the ancillary characters as well. I¿d give it 7 out of 10 for pleasure reading, an 8/10 for adventure and a solid 9/10 for potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2006

    THE START OF A NEW SERIES

    This book was Excellent I finished it in 2 days and I just could stop reading it. I can't wait for the second book to come out titled Solomon's Jar. This book has what every adventure reader is looking for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    A real page turner

    Part Indiana Jones, part Buffy the Vampire Slayer, part paranormal thriller. This was a fun fast read and well worth your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    In Search of Adventure

    Although reminesent of a tv storyline of a cop with magic bracelets, this novel keeps your interest from first word to last. A beautiful archeologist, a secret monastary, two sort of old men, a master criminal and a sense of humor allow the plot to develop and weave its web around the reader. A modern, (thank goodness no references to DaVinci), mystic thriller that brings a heroine who idealies good vs evil when of course good wins. I enjoyed this book and could not put it down until I finished it. I look forward to the continuation of the series for many books to come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3