BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Destiny Kills (Myth and Magic Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

the author's new paranormal romance series is a fantastic thriller

- She wakes up on a beach with no idea how she got there next to her is a dead man whose name she recalls. When daylight arrives, he turns to ash. After stealing food and clothing, she tries to hitch a ride, but the man in the car plays chicken with her. She reca...
- She wakes up on a beach with no idea how she got there next to her is a dead man whose name she recalls. When daylight arrives, he turns to ash. After stealing food and clothing, she tries to hitch a ride, but the man in the car plays chicken with her. She recalls her name is Destiny McCree and she realizes she is a sea dragon that can live in the sea as a human or a dragon. Jewel thief Trae Wilson, the dead man¿s half-brother called him to help Destiny who was held captive by scientists who are studying adults dragons, dragon children of both sexes in an underground compound near Loch Ness.---------------- Destiny is on a quest to see her father, an air dragon, before he dies and to free the children and her mother from the scientist¿s compound where scientists are experimenting on them with no regard to their well-being. Trae is willing to assist her especially since the seditious mercenary hunter dragons are stalking her to bring her back to the compound for quite a fee. Trae also wants his father¿s ring that Destiny possesses so that he can give it back to his dad in return for information as to where his sister is. As they elude the hunters, Destiny and Trae realize they are soulmates, but have little hope for a future together as the quest comes before their hearts.------------ Keri Arthur¿s opening salvo in a new paranormal romance series is a fantastic thriller as the full bodied characterizations make the world of dragons seem genuine. Destiny is a strong kick butt individual while Trae admires her inner strength so much so he willingly becomes her sidekick even before they realize they are mates. Although the plot is somewhat limited as expected in a first tale as the need to introduce the cast and the settings are critical, fans will enjoy this unique quest fantasy.-------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on September 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Simplistic/Predictable Plot With A Frustratingly Clueless Heroine

Being an enthusiastic fan of the author's Riley Jenson Guardian series, I picked up this book and, subsequently, slogged through it. The plot is semi-juvenile and predictable with a memory challenged protagonist being rescued by her future soul-mate who subsequently hel...
Being an enthusiastic fan of the author's Riley Jenson Guardian series, I picked up this book and, subsequently, slogged through it. The plot is semi-juvenile and predictable with a memory challenged protagonist being rescued by her future soul-mate who subsequently helps her to liberate other imprisoned 'dragons'. As an amnesiac, the protagonist's depiction is truly irritating/annoying and utterly frustrating. Further, even when she regains her memory, her shallowness/triteness, passive-aggressive behavior and predictability grated at my nerves. At times the descriptions and imagery in the book were good, but, on the whole, I advise that any fan of the Riley Jenson series skip this boring and frustrating book.

posted by dalnewt on April 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2008

    the author's new paranormal romance series is a fantastic thriller

    - She wakes up on a beach with no idea how she got there next to her is a dead man whose name she recalls. When daylight arrives, he turns to ash. After stealing food and clothing, she tries to hitch a ride, but the man in the car plays chicken with her. She recalls her name is Destiny McCree and she realizes she is a sea dragon that can live in the sea as a human or a dragon. Jewel thief Trae Wilson, the dead man¿s half-brother called him to help Destiny who was held captive by scientists who are studying adults dragons, dragon children of both sexes in an underground compound near Loch Ness.---------------- Destiny is on a quest to see her father, an air dragon, before he dies and to free the children and her mother from the scientist¿s compound where scientists are experimenting on them with no regard to their well-being. Trae is willing to assist her especially since the seditious mercenary hunter dragons are stalking her to bring her back to the compound for quite a fee. Trae also wants his father¿s ring that Destiny possesses so that he can give it back to his dad in return for information as to where his sister is. As they elude the hunters, Destiny and Trae realize they are soulmates, but have little hope for a future together as the quest comes before their hearts.------------ Keri Arthur¿s opening salvo in a new paranormal romance series is a fantastic thriller as the full bodied characterizations make the world of dragons seem genuine. Destiny is a strong kick butt individual while Trae admires her inner strength so much so he willingly becomes her sidekick even before they realize they are mates. Although the plot is somewhat limited as expected in a first tale as the need to introduce the cast and the settings are critical, fans will enjoy this unique quest fantasy.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Original!

    Arthur's "Full Moon Rising" is one of my favorite books of all time, and because of that, I'll read anything she publishes. This story wasn't quite as good, but it was still a highly original and well-written story. It's the type of story that meshes genres quite well: you get the fantasy twist with the dragon element mixed with the urban fantasy storyline.. very well done! If you enjoyed this story, you might also like the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs; and for teens, "Firelight" by Sophie Jordan.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Simplistic/Predictable Plot With A Frustratingly Clueless Heroine

    Being an enthusiastic fan of the author's Riley Jenson Guardian series, I picked up this book and, subsequently, slogged through it. The plot is semi-juvenile and predictable with a memory challenged protagonist being rescued by her future soul-mate who subsequently helps her to liberate other imprisoned 'dragons'. As an amnesiac, the protagonist's depiction is truly irritating/annoying and utterly frustrating. Further, even when she regains her memory, her shallowness/triteness, passive-aggressive behavior and predictability grated at my nerves. At times the descriptions and imagery in the book were good, but, on the whole, I advise that any fan of the Riley Jenson series skip this boring and frustrating book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Great Book

    Not what I expected, however, it was a good book to read. I really enjoyed it. Loved the romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT READ!

    This book has twists and turns, mystery, were-people, scientists, and just a whole lot of can-stop-turning-the pages. I really liked this book and I gave it five stars because so many books today cannot hold my attention for long. This was a book I really wanted to get back to when I HAD to leave it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Going to be GREAT!

    I am loving this series so far and I will keep on purchasing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Fantastic read

    Found this by accident...wonderful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book!

    This book was sooooo amazing. I even wrote Ms. Arthur to tell her that. I have a 17 and an 11 year old, both daughters. I have let them both read this. I was taken aback by the characters and the whole story. I actually read it in 2 days flat! Would definately recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This was a GREAT book! It had action, hurry, and OH the romance!! This book does have strong sexual content..but its good. I read this book in a day just because I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great surprise!

    I went to pick up a couple of the Riley books and grabbed this one by mistake. Thank goodness I did. Now I love the Riley series, but it can be dark at times. This book was a breath of fresh air. Keri Arthur has always been one of my fav's but some of her books are dark stuff. This book had all the weirdness I love from Keri yet it had a real soft side that was nice. Loved It!! Cant wait for the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This book was interesting from the first few pages. Keri Arthur books always get you involved from the beginning, so I wasn't surprised. I liked the character building. You get involved with them. I also liked the new 'myth and magic' world she created...interesting. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. I read at least 3 books in a week, and this is one I will keep on my shelves for another read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good find, stands out amoung other urban fantasy books

    This was my first sea/air dragon urban fantasy book. If there are others out there... let me know and I'll read them. I though the characters were unique and interesting. I wasn't exactly sure how it was all going to end, and that is always a good thing. One of the things that I don't like about Arthur's Riley Jenson series is that it is soooo filled with sex. This book has a much stronger plot and doesn't have to rely on the sex to get you from scene to scene. I actually thought the characters cared about each other. I'm not sure if this a stand-alone novel or the beginning of a new series... I'm hoping for a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT SHORT SERIES STARTER

    GOOD SATURDAY AFTERNOON PORCH BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Better Than I Expected

    I am a huge Keri Arthur fan. I didn't buy this book when it first came out because of the description on the back of the book, I just bought it on Friday and I couldn't put it down. It was a breath of fresh air. If you like her other books you will love this one and be waiting for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Really good book for all Keri Arthur fans

    If you like Keri Arthur, then you will like this book. You can find many similarities in the writing style in this book when compared to the Riley Jensen books. So if you enjoy the guardian series then you will enjoy this book. What I like the most is that it actually has an ending, unlike the guardian books. I can't wait to read more of this series, the possibilities are endless!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Thumbs up, hats off

    WOW! I have to say this book is really good. I don't usually read books but I could not put this book down. I really loved the romance between Trae and Destiny and the fact that they are monsters that can fly in the air and swim in the water. I was really surprise when they were running from the police and Trae just turned into this huge thing that could fly. I really can not wait until Destiny has their twins in the second book (if there is a second book). I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Destiny Kills by Keri Arthur

    I liked "Destiny Kills". If nothing else, it was nice to read about a female dragon with powers of her own! <BR/><BR/>Destiny is half air dragon and half water dragon. Of course, she doesn't know this when she awakens, in pain and bleeding, beside a dead man on the shore of an ocean, somewhere. She doesn't remember her name or the name of the dead man or how they got where they are. All she does know is that she's in trouble and there's something urgent she needs to do...if she could only remember what and why.<BR/><BR/>Trae is a draman, half air dragon half human. As a halfbreed in his father's clique (clan), he's considered 'less'. So as soon as he could, he got out. Now he's a thief and a rogue. When he sees the gorgeous woman standing in the middle of the road, he just can't resist. It turns out she's the reason his half-brother asked for his help. His apparently dead half-brother who died on the beach beside this woman, his Destiny.<BR/><BR/>This story is not a hearts and flowers one. It's a story of monsters, some of which are human. A wacko scientist has been capturing, holding, and experimenting on dragons. Destiny and Trae's brother managed to escape after eleven years, but Destiny's mother and several child air dragons are still in captivity. This is the story of Destiny and Trae's race to free those captives. It's also about magic, love, hatred, privilege, and jealousy. <BR/><BR/>I'm guessing that Keri Arthur used this book partially to set up more books in this world. There was quite a bit of information that wasn't really needed for this story, but would be for more in this world...if that makes sense. It didn't take away from my enjoyment of the story, but if that will bug you, you've been warned. Also this book is written in first person, so if you hate that, don't blame me cause I told you!<BR/><BR/>The sex is hot (and so is Trae). I would rate this about 50/50 for romance and fantasy. There's mild violence and death too. But now that I've gotten a glimpse of Arthur's world in "Destiny Kills", I want the next book...NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    Very well written. I am a sucker for love stories, this one is a good one. I like the fact it is based on "true love" and they are supposed to be mates. Keri Arthur does a great job to draw in your attention and keep it there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 214 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11