Customer Reviews for

Destiny Unhinged

Average Rating 3
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down for wanting t

I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down for wanting to see what was going to happen next. It left you wanting the next book. I have a teenage daughter and I could hear her saying the things Vanessa said. It kept me smiling. Good Job on your first book Kimber!...
I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down for wanting to see what was going to happen next. It left you wanting the next book. I have a teenage daughter and I could hear her saying the things Vanessa said. It kept me smiling. Good Job on your first book Kimber!!! I look forward reading more of your books.

posted by Crystalgal on August 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great story but...

This was a very interesting story. I liked the unique twist on alien culture and the parameters of other worlds. One of the things I love about the science fiction genre is the ability to create anything. Kimber has created a very interesting juxtaposition of worlds w...
This was a very interesting story. I liked the unique twist on alien culture and the parameters of other worlds. One of the things I love about the science fiction genre is the ability to create anything. Kimber has created a very interesting juxtaposition of worlds with this story. I was up more than one night past my bed time reading just one more page.

The characters are interesting. The main character is as annoying as any other teenager you would meet. She made me shake my head more than once at her singular focus on her life. Vanessa is a likeable character and I found myself rooting for her with every challenge. Her world really gets turned upside down.

The men seeking her love come with interesting strings attached. Both of them gave me the sense that there was more to their story than they shared with Vanessa. Both Max and Toby are seeking her love but neither is being exactly truthful with her about who they are.

The one complaint I have about this book is two-fold about the writing. First, the editing of this book was shoddy at best. There were grammatical or spelling errors on just about every page which made it harder to read. More than once I had to re-read a sentence to understand what it was being conveyed.

The other suggestion I would make to the author is to stop using cliches and acronyms. Books on how to write all say the same thing. If it has been said before you don't need to say it again. Now I understand why. It was distracting, confusing and took away from the originality of the story. It made it feel recycled. To this day I am still trying to understand what "m&m" means in relation to two people talking. The first time I read it I went back to see if the characters had been eating during their conversation to see if I had missed something. Very confusing. If anyone knows the answer please share with me.

Having said that, the story is worth the read. I am waiting for the second book. There are many interesting sub-plots in the book and I want to know how they work out. Writers get better as they write and I am looking forward to watching Kimber's writing develop.

posted by My_Mommys_World on September 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down for wanting t

    I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down for wanting to see what was going to happen next. It left you wanting the next book. I have a teenage daughter and I could hear her saying the things Vanessa said. It kept me smiling. Good Job on your first book Kimber!!! I look forward reading more of your books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Great story but...

    This was a very interesting story. I liked the unique twist on alien culture and the parameters of other worlds. One of the things I love about the science fiction genre is the ability to create anything. Kimber has created a very interesting juxtaposition of worlds with this story. I was up more than one night past my bed time reading just one more page.

    The characters are interesting. The main character is as annoying as any other teenager you would meet. She made me shake my head more than once at her singular focus on her life. Vanessa is a likeable character and I found myself rooting for her with every challenge. Her world really gets turned upside down.

    The men seeking her love come with interesting strings attached. Both of them gave me the sense that there was more to their story than they shared with Vanessa. Both Max and Toby are seeking her love but neither is being exactly truthful with her about who they are.

    The one complaint I have about this book is two-fold about the writing. First, the editing of this book was shoddy at best. There were grammatical or spelling errors on just about every page which made it harder to read. More than once I had to re-read a sentence to understand what it was being conveyed.

    The other suggestion I would make to the author is to stop using cliches and acronyms. Books on how to write all say the same thing. If it has been said before you don't need to say it again. Now I understand why. It was distracting, confusing and took away from the originality of the story. It made it feel recycled. To this day I am still trying to understand what "m&m" means in relation to two people talking. The first time I read it I went back to see if the characters had been eating during their conversation to see if I had missed something. Very confusing. If anyone knows the answer please share with me.

    Having said that, the story is worth the read. I am waiting for the second book. There are many interesting sub-plots in the book and I want to know how they work out. Writers get better as they write and I am looking forward to watching Kimber's writing develop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    I must say that I'm confused by the reviews. I wasn't sure

    I must say that I'm confused by the reviews. I wasn't sure whether
    I should take a chance on it or not. Let me say, I'm so glad I did. It
    was wonderful. The first couple pages may be a tad slow but this Author
    has some great potential. It is about 285 pages long and a very quick
    read. There are a few grammar errors but nothing that hindered my
    reading it. Let me just say -Great action scenes and wonderful
    descriptions of the alien planet of Najinial. I really got
    involved with the main characters. There are several unanswered
    questions that this book leaves me with but it only makes me what the
    next installment to come out even sooner. Vanessa seems to be a
    typical teenager who wants nothing more than to find a boyfriend. She
    does find a person of interest, Toby Clarkston but she also finds that
    she has a connection to a dead alien king, Max Harper. I must admit I
    was rooting for Max for a little while and then I just couldn't help
    myself wanting her to hook up with Toby. What was surprising to
    me was that Vanessa discovers she is part human and part alien herself.
    Her mother and grandmother have been keeping secrets. Plus, Vanessa had
    always thought her father ran off and left them, but here she infected
    him with her blood and caused him to go psycho. I'm not sure where the
    author is going with this one, but I can't wait to find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great

    It was a nice book to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Really

    I got through maybe half of the book when i became so annoyed that iwanted to throw my nook

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    And the winner is...?

    Not a bad read, but not the best either. Clever story line, young girl torn between two epic loves, an alien dead king, the other an unbelivably noble and commited teenage boy. I seriously didn't know who to cheer for. Two goodlooking guys both focussed on being your one and only true love, wow. A cliff-hanger leaving you wanting more. So, yes it's worth a read. Just be prepared for long periods of slowness, bad grammar, such as "site" instead of the correct word "sight", and at one point I thought I was reading a script showing character movements - now that was distracting I write as I slowly type this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Wtg

    If u hate sad endding dont read this... im sorry but i wish some one had told me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Disappointing

    I was disappointed with this book. The story seemed like it would have been a good idea, but the main character just seemed really shallow and underdeveloped. I couldn,t connect. The supporting characters were even less realistic. I can usually get over some grammar and technical errors here and there, but I found the mistakes in this book to be so distracting from the storyline that I would reread sentences over and over. I completely lost interest after about 250 pgs...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Good thing it is free.

    I got about 50 pages into the approx 500 page book. The writing is not good, to say it lightly. I am a lover of YA novels but can not handle this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1