BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Destiny of Souls: New Case Studies of Life Between Lives

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Love

No one single book has all the answers. We are all individuals yet truly are one. As individuals, to find answers, you go within. Books are very helpful but EXPERIENCE is far greater. And even then is only the tip of an ice-burg. We all have purpose and meaning. From th...
No one single book has all the answers. We are all individuals yet truly are one. As individuals, to find answers, you go within. Books are very helpful but EXPERIENCE is far greater. And even then is only the tip of an ice-burg. We all have purpose and meaning. From the rich to the poorest. Who can say why someone would choose a life less than, seemingly, going without? Experience? Karma? Both? Well, for certain, due to being a global world these cannot be ignored. And reasons. There is plenty for ALL. Though I cannot say how, for I do not know, (other than continuing evolution) mankind will create harmony on Earth. There is no lack. Is an illusion created by borders, governments, greed, etc. It begins with the Self. Being human sometimes I get pissed and wonder, "God, why don't you stop the pain, wars, illness and such?" Bottom line? The answer is love. For no matter how 'bad' things seem, somehow it is good. God is Spirit. Created us to love us. To love and claim our divinity, we are doing. Love. Just over a year ago my son took his life. I was in the dark he would do this. I still shake my head. Even sensed a death was coming, but not his. While asleep I clearly heard, "Trust God." Woke me right up! And I prayed. Prayed a LOT. It is NOT an easy thing to lose a child. So count your blessings. Wake up! Love all things. Lighten up. Be "pro" and not "anti." You have your life and no one can live it but you. Free will means choice. Not making a choice is a choice. Don't feel I am telling you what to do, feel or believe! Gads! Just making suggestions and sharing a tad. To all who read this, I send you love.

posted by 10688321 on August 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Interesting, but the Big Questions Remain for Me

Rather than reiterate what others have said about the book, I would like to point out some things that bothered me. If I assume that what DoS states is true, then no matter how rotten you are in life - a molester, rapist, murderer, whatever - as soon as you die it's a-o...
Rather than reiterate what others have said about the book, I would like to point out some things that bothered me. If I assume that what DoS states is true, then no matter how rotten you are in life - a molester, rapist, murderer, whatever - as soon as you die it's a-ok because there's no more negativity in the afterlife. josef stalin probably went to his council of elders, got a serious talking to, and then reincarnated somewhere else. oops, my bad, and back he comes. The concept of karma is bandied about, but never discussed in a cohesive, utilitarian way. the traditional view of karma being credits for good actions & debits for neg actions is nowhere here. karma is never truly defined. the biggest problem i had, however, is the notion that freewill may exist in the spirit world, but here on earth we have chosen our lives & circumstances. a client in the book discovers that two men she had relationships with (she abandoned one, the other dumped her) were part of her spirit life & all had chosen to take on the very roles they had played on earth, as though they HAD to fulfill some gameplan that they did not even know about. I wish that the author had regressed people who were born in the slums of India or into African towns where most of the people are dead from hunger or disease. I would like to know why someone would choose that karmic path. What of children who are tortured by their parents, kidnapped and murdered by monsters? did those who died in 9/11 choose that path before they incarnated this time? i wholeheartedly believe in reincarnation, but the idea that one gets to pick and choose ones life does not sit well with me. lastly, the concept of God in this book is very vague. The term 'Creator' is used a lot but spirits do not seem to know who or what god is or what the whole Plan is. God is discussed as someone (or something) very remote and devoid of personality or character. Sort of like Brahman. The idea of reincarnation to learn must lead somewhere, but that somewhere is never identified. And one wonders why the Creator would bother to create more and more souls when there are more than enough people on this planet already and since most of us will come around for way more trips, we can keep the population up there for a very long time. If someone who has read the book (or the boko Journey of Souls) has found answers to these questions (perhaps I have missed them) then please post them - I would like to know what you have found!

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    Interesting, but the Big Questions Remain for Me

    Rather than reiterate what others have said about the book, I would like to point out some things that bothered me. If I assume that what DoS states is true, then no matter how rotten you are in life - a molester, rapist, murderer, whatever - as soon as you die it's a-ok because there's no more negativity in the afterlife. josef stalin probably went to his council of elders, got a serious talking to, and then reincarnated somewhere else. oops, my bad, and back he comes. The concept of karma is bandied about, but never discussed in a cohesive, utilitarian way. the traditional view of karma being credits for good actions & debits for neg actions is nowhere here. karma is never truly defined. the biggest problem i had, however, is the notion that freewill may exist in the spirit world, but here on earth we have chosen our lives & circumstances. a client in the book discovers that two men she had relationships with (she abandoned one, the other dumped her) were part of her spirit life & all had chosen to take on the very roles they had played on earth, as though they HAD to fulfill some gameplan that they did not even know about. I wish that the author had regressed people who were born in the slums of India or into African towns where most of the people are dead from hunger or disease. I would like to know why someone would choose that karmic path. What of children who are tortured by their parents, kidnapped and murdered by monsters? did those who died in 9/11 choose that path before they incarnated this time? i wholeheartedly believe in reincarnation, but the idea that one gets to pick and choose ones life does not sit well with me. lastly, the concept of God in this book is very vague. The term 'Creator' is used a lot but spirits do not seem to know who or what god is or what the whole Plan is. God is discussed as someone (or something) very remote and devoid of personality or character. Sort of like Brahman. The idea of reincarnation to learn must lead somewhere, but that somewhere is never identified. And one wonders why the Creator would bother to create more and more souls when there are more than enough people on this planet already and since most of us will come around for way more trips, we can keep the population up there for a very long time. If someone who has read the book (or the boko Journey of Souls) has found answers to these questions (perhaps I have missed them) then please post them - I would like to know what you have found!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Love

    No one single book has all the answers. We are all individuals yet truly are one. As individuals, to find answers, you go within. Books are very helpful but EXPERIENCE is far greater. And even then is only the tip of an ice-burg. We all have purpose and meaning. From the rich to the poorest. Who can say why someone would choose a life less than, seemingly, going without? Experience? Karma? Both? Well, for certain, due to being a global world these cannot be ignored. And reasons. There is plenty for ALL. Though I cannot say how, for I do not know, (other than continuing evolution) mankind will create harmony on Earth. There is no lack. Is an illusion created by borders, governments, greed, etc. It begins with the Self. Being human sometimes I get pissed and wonder, "God, why don't you stop the pain, wars, illness and such?" Bottom line? The answer is love. For no matter how 'bad' things seem, somehow it is good. God is Spirit. Created us to love us. To love and claim our divinity, we are doing. Love. Just over a year ago my son took his life. I was in the dark he would do this. I still shake my head. Even sensed a death was coming, but not his. While asleep I clearly heard, "Trust God." Woke me right up! And I prayed. Prayed a LOT. It is NOT an easy thing to lose a child. So count your blessings. Wake up! Love all things. Lighten up. Be "pro" and not "anti." You have your life and no one can live it but you. Free will means choice. Not making a choice is a choice. Don't feel I am telling you what to do, feel or believe! Gads! Just making suggestions and sharing a tad. To all who read this, I send you love.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Refreshing

    My son died unexpectantly sudden. Tragic for me, the greatest love I ever knew. This book was a great help. I recommend this book to all with an open mind.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    Everything You'd Want To Know About Life Between Life

    There is a wealth of information here about what happens to the soul between physical incarnations, and as significant as the content is the way the author handles the material. It is obvious that Dr. Newton is a compassionate, ethical person who is not simply digging for sensational material but is concerned about how we use what he has discovered to educate and better ourselves. There is a great deal to ponder here that is awe-inspiring, thought-provoking and humbling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Loved this book gave me a new way of thinking

    Loved this

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Even better than his first one.

    If you read Newton's first book Journey of Souls, than you will really like this one. It goes into more depth than the first one and answers the unanswered questions you have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Powerful Reading

    A few months after my husband died in my arms, Michael Newton's "Journey of Souls" and "Destiny of Souls" landed mysteriously on my doorstep. They were so much more helpful to my shattered psyche than the traditional "mourning" books people gave me. Then when my husband was finally able to "reach me," communicate with me from the In Between (the subject of my own book, "Love From Both Sides"), Michael's work made it possible for me to "hear more clearly" what I might have otherwise thought was just sheer craziness. Because I'm a working hypnotherapist, I'm able to use all his techniques to help my clients connect to their past selves, and their "In Between" states. I recommend both books highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Changed my whole life....

    After my Grandfather died in September 2003, I became curious about death. Especially after strange things started happening around me shortly after he died. I picked up this book and it was like 'Wow!' I had never had a book effectly me so deeply. This book answered the question as to why some people are born into poor, disease, abuse (because of their karma) And it's made me curious about my past lives. I am no longer scared of death, I know that none of us are going to hell...and I loved the fact that everyone he interviewed never once said they saw God, Buddah or Jesus. This is how I know it wasn't some bull story. I have come to believe that we all just come back as what we gave in our lives...and that's the only part that scares me. Read this book...it will change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2006

    Incredible Work! 3/18/2006

    I find Dr. Newton's work to be quite remarkable. Many stepping stones have been laid down here in his efforts to interview, document and share with us soul connections. Dr. Newton is truly a pioneer and explorer. I thank him for his dedication and refusal to not allow skeptics to stop him for being an 'astronaut' of the human mind & spirit. Parts of this book registered strongly with me. Certainly some assumptions are made, but it is through speculation and questioning that we get one step closer to the truth. Thanks again for your work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    Inner Vision

    Mr Newton's books both gave me tremendous insight into my own near death experience and in the why's of what has evolved in my life. I am an Intuitive Therapist and I recommend his books to people to help them understand the process of our Spiritual Evolution. With some clients, I use a regression to help them to see the Councils and to understand why the lessons are stacked in a certain way. Very uplifting!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2001

    Life is all about GOD in your spirit in if you have faith that's all you need

    I'm an aidealist and a defender of the under dog or those who suffer and injustic I will live life with a lot of intensity and will be dramaic in expressing my emotions. and I'm a very creative person and always give my personal touch to the things i do and i will be able to excel in any artistic or social activity.I like to share my achievement and my generosity will be unlimited',especially with those i admire or love.People will look to me for my great sense of humor for the power i impact and for my vitality although these things will also make me the center of criticism jealous.I was born to lead to command to dirct and to impose justice to creat to express and to communicate. One of my missions in life is to teach others to love . I will teach others that true love and happiness. My personal pride will teach others that true love begins with oneslf and my positive and optimistic attitude with show other the way to accomplish things.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2