Customer Reviews for

Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President

Average Rating 4.5
( 280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(169)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great Book!

    This is a must read for all historians. Its a book that you will find hard to put down!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Essential reading for geeks who appreciate writing and craft

    Here's a tremendous history lesson wrapped up with brilliant, paced, provocative writing that makes a great page-turner. Most of us are acquainted with the sad ending of this event, but Millard has meticulously researched her subject and presented a compelling story with detail, historic accuracy, and a talent for revealing personalities. We not only are immersed in the 1880s--we not only meet Garfield and his family--we become fascinated with the technological achievements of the time and the great (or not-so-great) character that infused some 'major players' in Washington. Be sure to beg or borrow this magnificent book, especially if you love history a la Ken Burns or Eric Larson. Or if you're a fan of great writing talent--you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Wonderfully written!

    Candice Millard did a fantastic job of writing the account of the death of a president who, had he lived, would have done great things. Even as a history buff, there are still books that I have trouble finishing, and this was definitely not one of them. The juxtaposition of Garfield's life with the stories of Guiteau and Alexander Graham Bell was very fluid and reminiscent of the intertwined stories of Devil in the White City. I would definitely recommend picking up this account!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book, easy read, and a whole new world of history i never knew existed. A must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great

    Love the history and little known facts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful and Insightful Book

    If you wish to read a book that is in depth, highly sourced, and an overall immaculate look into the life and assassination of President James A. Garfield, then look no further. A fascinating look into the life of Garfield, Charles Guiteau, his assassin, and members from his family, including Lucretia Garfield, and many others within his lifetime, including friends and enemies. Definitely would recommend to any who also would like an in-depth look also into Alexander Graham Bell, Joseph Lister, and others who had an impact in the life and time of James A. Garfield.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great Read

    What a fasinating book. It gives you insight to the running of our politicians and the faults in the medical minds.
    Just a great book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    highly recommended

    A very interesting telling of a little known piece of presidential history. Much like Ms. Millard's previous effort River of Doubt this one informs and entertains in a most effective manner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Superb, I highly recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    Great history

    I love reading biographies and this gave me info I didn't know. Easy, fast reading. Don't miss this book if you love history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Great Read!

    Well written! It's a shame that history books in schools aren't written this way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Nook

    Awsome book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Garfield is my new favorite pres

    This is a wonderful book, meticulously written. As a historian I am so glad Millard chose to share the largely forgotten story of this president who had a very short time to make an impression on the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Thoroughly compelling read

    I am amazed at how far the practice of medicine has progressed since President Garfield was shot. I am also amazed at the ignorance of the physicians, especially the dr. who assumed complete and dictatorial control over his care. This book made me mad and sad because the Nation lost a truly great man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    An exceptional work.

    Ms. Millard has done her homework and pieced together something I didn't expect: an important bit of American History that has all but eluded us. She paints a fascinating portrait about "one of those other Presidents" that will cause you to mourn for what might have been. A brilliant narrative and a story that inspires me to want to learn even more about our 20th President. Bravo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Great book!!

    I loved this book. Could not put it down. What a great man Garfield was!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Bravo

    Intelligent, well-written snippet of history few modern Americans are even awate of. Could not put it down and sad that it had to come to an end. What can be said of Ms Millard except - Bravo! Bravo! Encore!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Excellent Read about a long forgoten episode of American history.

    Great Book ! I don't know whats worse , the suffering that Garfield endured or the fact that so many Americans don't know about this exemplary man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Very interesting

    Great read. History buffs will enjoy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Great story - well written

    A little light on Garfield biography but a veey good story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9