Customer Reviews for

Destiny's Embrace

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

Wonderfully developed characters enter twined with a fabulous love story. Riveting page turner that will keep you reading until the end and looking forward to the next book in the series!

posted by 15928784 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved

I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved that once again, I learned something new about Black History, but this story seemed like an overview. It seemed more like a novella in the pacing. All in all it was a good read, and I am looking forward t...
I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved that once again, I learned something new about Black History, but this story seemed like an overview. It seemed more like a novella in the pacing. All in all it was a good read, and I am looking forward to the next one in the series.

posted by PrettyGirlReading on February 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved

    I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved that once again, I learned something new about Black History, but this story seemed like an overview. It seemed more like a novella in the pacing. All in all it was a good read, and I am looking forward to the next one in the series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Ummm Yeah ok

    I have read all Ms. Jenkins books. And have enjoyed them all. I keep them and reread them over and over again. This is not one of those books. It was rushed and basically had no meat on it. When authors write books like this, the run the risk that readers will not read this newer 2nd novel. #ijs.....this is my humble OPINION!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I'm a huge fan of Ms. Jenkins, work. I have read all her books a

    I'm a huge fan of Ms. Jenkins, work. I have read all her books and has come to love her well thought out plots, beautifully built  characters, and the steady paced storyline. However, this one falls a little short for me. It felt rushed and I didn't really connect with any of the characters. The story line was "predictable" and there was no real conflict besides the couple denying their attraction. I hope the second book in this series is better, I do love her historical romances.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Wonderfully developed characters enter twined with a fabulous love story. Riveting page turner that will keep you reading until the end and looking forward to the next book in the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    Loved this new family (the Yates) started by the AA history lady

    Loved this new family (the Yates) started by the AA history lady, Beverly Jenkins. The California history was enlightening and the action between Logan and Mariah was humorous as well as "heated". Looking forward to the other stories in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved the book! Fresh new characters! Throw in a lil history, and get swept away into new adventure. Beverly Jenkins doesnt disappoint. Guess I have to patiently await to read remainder of this series due to surprised turn of events at end.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Awe story and book writer

    Awe story and book writer

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Romantic, Fun, Passionate story! Destiny¿s Embrace, the first

    A Romantic, Fun, Passionate story!

    Destiny’s Embrace, the first book in Beverly Jenkins’ Destiny series, is a romantic story about learning to compromise, learning to trust, and learning to love.

    This is my first taste of Ms. Jenkins’ writing and I enjoyed it! It’s one of those easy to read stories – a comfortable tale without a lot of angst, but loaded with feeling and characters you can care about. I loved the way the story unfolded, told with enough attention to detail, making me see and feel the landscape, the atmosphere, the trials and triumphs of ranch living, and I felt as if I were there. The characters are compassionate people who, despite giving new meaning to the word stubborn, are understanding and able to – eventually – admit their mistakes.

    The bottom line: I thoroughly enjoyed Destiny’s Embrace and Ms. Jenkins’ easy going way of telling a story. It's sweet, witty, and sexy, and I now understand why she’s considered one of the leading ladies of writing in the African American Romance genre!

    My thanks to Avon Books for providing me with a copy of Destiny’s Embrace in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    I won¿t give you a synopsis of the book because that is in the p

    I won’t give you a synopsis of the book because that is in the product description. I really enjoyed Destiny’s Embrace. Mariah was the perfect example of when a woman has had enough. She’ll either crumble or get tired of the—excuse my French—BULL and take control of her life. Overall, the title was great. As usual, I learned a lot while being entertained. Thanks for another great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2013

    This book was so well written that I read it in a day loved ever

    This book was so well written that I read it in a day loved every minute of it but the cliff hanger at the end has me on the edge of my seat with all kinds of ? who? what? where? why ? cant wait for the next book to find out the answers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Easy romantic reading. Loved it

    Easy romantic reading. Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    loved it!!

    I have read all of her novels and I can't wait for the next one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    I enjoyed this book sooo much. I loved the humor which softened

    I enjoyed this book sooo much. I loved the humor which softened out the sad parts. What a great read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    True love in 3 days

    Beverly Jenkins is one of the favorive authors. She always includes some interesting history facts in her love stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Loved it !

    I have read nearly every one of Ms Jenkins novels and have looked forward to the release of this one eagerly. I forced myself to put it down so it would last longer! I loved reading about Mariahs adventures and I will plan to grab up the sequel as soon as it comes out! I enjoyed the way Ms Jenkins developed all the characters from Logan all the way to his youngest brother and still made me want to read more about them especially Noah.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Purple Lady Romance Reader Forever

    I cant see anyone not loving this story. Im going to die waiting on the next ones. More then anything I enjoy travling back in time. Learning about parts of our history take has been hiden away. Keep writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyable. Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Love it!

    Great book! I am such a big fan of Ms. Jenkins. I am happy for the new family. Looking forward to reading the next installment. Alanza Yates may deserve a book too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Wonderfully entertaining

    Another wonderful story by Beverly Jenkins, heartwarming and humorous, another day of getting nothing done because I could not stop reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    The mature readee

    As with all Ms Jenkins books i love this book. Great history lesson,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4