Customer Reviews for

Destiny's Embrace

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

Wonderfully developed characters enter twined with a fabulous love story. Riveting page turner that will keep you reading until the end and looking forward to the next book in the series!

posted by 15928784 on January 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved

I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved that once again, I learned something new about Black History, but this story seemed like an overview. It seemed more like a novella in the pacing. All in all it was a good read, and I am looking forward t...
I enjoyed the story, but we got there way too quickly. I loved that once again, I learned something new about Black History, but this story seemed like an overview. It seemed more like a novella in the pacing. All in all it was a good read, and I am looking forward to the next one in the series.

posted by PrettyGirlReading on February 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Read Destiny's Embrace in one night!!! This was a wonderful stor

    Read Destiny's Embrace in one night!!! This was a wonderful story! I've read all the historical romance novels you've written and this was a refreshing addition that I've been waiting for. I'm very excited for the next story!! Thank you :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Starpelt

    She turned to Sparrowpaw. "Loyalty. You will grow up to be loyal to your clan. Others may call, but you will know what clan you should be true to." She licked his nose. "You will be a great father and loyal to your mate and kits. After a while," she closed her eyes solemnly. "Your loyalty will have lead you to be with StarClan......In a great battle where ends meet...you will loyally sacrifice your life for others." She nuzzled underneath his head. "StarClan seeks you to be with them someday." She slowly faded into a mist. "For I am from the starry ancesters clan as well." For a second, transparent starry cats around her all bowed heads towards the apprentice. She then vanished along with the starry cats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Duskkit

    What does that mean? My mother is in Twilightclan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Sparrowpaw

    "Wow!" She squeaked. (Imma girl, but that's alright)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

                                                                   

                                                                                                                   
    highly recommended to anyone looking for a sizzling historical romance with beautiful imagery and memorable characters..

    Can’t get enough of Logan Yates…

    Mariah Cooper has lead a life filled with sorrow under her domineering and abusive mother.  When the abuse becomes too much to bear, Mariah takes a job as a housekeeper and flees Philadelphia to start over in California.

    Logan Yates spends far too much time running his family ranch, Destiny.  When his mother offers to hire a housekeeper to maintain his home, he agrees, although he doesn’t think he needs one.  Then Mariah steps into his life and turns it upside down.

    Being a huge fan of Ms. Jenkins, I’m happy to say she didn’t disappoint.  Destiny’s Embrace was awesome.  I enjoyed the ride with the twists and turns of Mariah and Logan’s relationship.  Logan wasn’t the type of man who wanted a relationship until he met the firecracker, Mariah.  She didn’t let him get away with anything which made it even better.

    I love my romances HOT and, once again Ms. Jenkins introduced a sexy hero in Logan.  His mannerisms and wry sense of humor captivated me from the beginning.  My favorite line… “You’ve kicked me, thrown rocks at me, and all I want to do is slide you into my arms and kiss you until the mountains turn to dust.”  Wow!  It was fun seeing him turn himself inside out for the beautiful Mariah with the gold, cat-like eyes.  I loved the fact that Mariah turned from the meek woman she was and went after the life she deserved.

    Not only was the romance between the two interesting, but Ms. Jenkins successfully introduced another family that I wouldn’t mind seeing in future books.  Logan Yates wasn’t the only handsome brother.  There were more: Andrew, Noah, and Logan’s best friend Eli.  Then there was the wonderful Alanza (Logan’s stepmother).  I adored the relationship she had with her sons and the love she showed Mariah.

    This book was outstanding! I was treated to an awesome history lesson about California during 1885.  The vivid descriptions of their surroundings make me feel like I’m in the thick of things.  I laughed out loud more than a few times and was sad for the book to end.

    I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a sizzling historical romance with beautiful imagery and memorable characters.

    -Reviewed by Leslie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Destinyclan warriors den

    Destinyclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ms. Bev has done it again....

    Loved this book. She has created historically correct storyline. Character that you immediately bond with. Put those two together, you have a book that I didn't want to put down. Making myself wait to read the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    Not as much action as some of Ms. Jenkins' other books, but Mari

    Not as much action as some of Ms. Jenkins' other books, but Mariah and Logan were very likeable. You'll fall in love with the Yates family and Destiny Ranch. We've all been in a place in our lives where we vowed to change, and Ms. Jenkins depicted a very realistic and admirable change in both Mariah and Logan. It was a great opening book to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    I'm not normally a fan of historical romances because it's diffi

    I'm not normally a fan of historical romances because it's difficult to put myself in the heroine's place. Not likely that someone that looks like me would find herself in the arms of some rogue pirate. Beverly Jenkins has kind of changed my mind.




    Desperate to escape working for her tyrannical mother in a dress shop in Philadelphia, Mariah Cooper answers an ad to be a housekeeper on a ranch in California. She has endured a difficult childhood and her dream is to open her own shop far, far away from her mother. Logan Yates has no idea that his stepmother Alanza has even placed the ad for a housekeeper for him and isn't too happy when Mariah arrives. He does and says whatever he can to make her change her mind and leave, but knowing what she has to go back to makes Mariah dig in her heels and do the job she was hired to do.




    This was a perfect re-introduction for me to Jenkins' work. She makes sure that you are aware of exactly what life is like in the 1880's for people of African descent. Her inclusion of so much history adds volumes to what could be a typical romance. Destiny's Embrace, taking place predominately in California, also has a lot of detail about the relations between Blacks, Mexicans, and Spanish Californians. I'm now obsessively going back and reading all of her books and I'm thoroughly enjoying them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    A good story, but too much happened in a span of a week. it was

    A good story, but too much happened in a span of a week. it was not believeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    This was not one of her better books.  I keep expecting to find

    This was not one of her better books.  I keep expecting to find gems like Topaz and Indigo, but the last few books have fallen short.  I will continue to support her work though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Great read

    I enjoyed this book by Mrs Jenkins can't wait for the 2nd book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Slow start but a good read as things progressed.

    Good book. I immensly enjoyed the romance between the two main characters build.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Glad I picked it up!

    It was a really good story. History of Cali was great, and made me want to read more about the state. I was a little dissapointed that they fell in love so quick..BUT...they made me laugh so much...great interaction between the main characters. I wanted more on the mom and her love...hope she gives us more in the up coming books. A perfect hit Mrs.Jenkins! If you are reading my post.....this is a great read..go for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Historical Romance

    You can never go wrong with a BJ novel. Class is always in session when it comes to history and Love is in the air when it comes to romance. What a great combination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    highly recommended

    One of Beverly best books I love all of her novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Never fails!!!

    Another awesome read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    As always I loved the knowledge of our history Ms. Jenkins gives

    As always I loved the knowledge of our history Ms. Jenkins gives in her stories. This one ended too fast for me, I would like to see the story of Logan's Mother and Max as well as his brothers finding love. As always such a delight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Outstanding work again Ms Jenkins....This book had it all. I wa

    Outstanding work again Ms Jenkins....This book had it all. I was laughing so hard at some parts, and wanted to cry at others. You continue to amaze us with each book you write....Please continue to Bless us with your talent. I have every book you have writtenMs Jenkins. Can't wait for the next one.... I love your work. Hopefully we don't have to wait tooo long.......Ughhhh... By the way when will it be out....... :<)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    i love the book and the information about black history I would

    i love the book and the information about black history I would love to read more about the Yates family, and what will happen with the family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4