Customer Reviews for

Destiny's Forge

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Vampire Scifi! Can't get any better.

I would have to admit I thought this would be a fun read. Like a fluffy beach book about vampires and i was ok with that. But NO this is an indepth character, romance and adventure book that I could NOT put down!
When I have time I can't wait to read the rest in this s...
I would have to admit I thought this would be a fun read. Like a fluffy beach book about vampires and i was ok with that. But NO this is an indepth character, romance and adventure book that I could NOT put down!
When I have time I can't wait to read the rest in this series.
I highly recommend this book!

posted by JamJam74 on February 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Author needs to slow down and develop the story and characters

The author tries to put to much in too little space which led to a storyline that is fractured, with underdeveloped one dimensional characters. It does have periodic glimpses of real potential. There are moments of good descriptive scenes and action but it is not cons...
The author tries to put to much in too little space which led to a storyline that is fractured, with underdeveloped one dimensional characters. It does have periodic glimpses of real potential. There are moments of good descriptive scenes and action but it is not consistent and is loosely tied together. The characters, too seem like drafts with the ability to come to life if given the chance. The potential is there - if the author would take this book as the draft it seems to be, split it into two maybe three books and develop and edit it more fully it would be a good read.

posted by 18248350 on June 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Vampire Scifi! Can't get any better.

    I would have to admit I thought this would be a fun read. Like a fluffy beach book about vampires and i was ok with that. But NO this is an indepth character, romance and adventure book that I could NOT put down!
    When I have time I can't wait to read the rest in this series.
    I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Seth

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Merleah

    Yup.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Good read for scifi and vamp lovers

    Good read for scifi and vamp lovers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Daggerspirit

    No but i am in that clan.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    A real twist on vampire.

    Destiny's Forge - Review by Martha A. Cheves, Author of Stir, Laugh, Repeat



    'A small space craft rushed toward a planet orbiting a pair of white stars, trailing a plume of sparking fire and rapidly dissipating smoke. The meteoroid had done its work well when it smashed through the hull of the craft at a critical point, tearing through the main engine pod and disabling it in an instant. The pilot was clad in an eva suit when it happened, but this would be no comfort when the air supply in the suit ran out and the ship's systems began to fail.. The pilot struggled with the controls and managed to coax it to pitch the nose upward as it began its inexorable spiral toward the surface.. The pilot was able to bring the retrothrusters back on line and controlled them manually. The craft bucked and jostled as its descent fell back to something less terrifying, but it was not designed for a surface landing. The pilot aimed the craft toward a patch of desert just beyond the forest crowding the shore of one of the larger lakes.. The craft crumpled and bounced and set fire to the tumbles cribs growing on the desert floor until the nose came down suddenly and buried itself.. A hatch exploded outward and landed a few yards away. The pilot dove out above the flames and sailed a fair distance, hit the dirt and rolled clear. Exhausted with pain and nearly out of air, she struggled to unfasten her helmet, tossed it away and took a gulp of dry heat into her lungs as an awful consuming darkness claimed her mind.'



    The pilot is Antonia Bellero. Origin? Unknown. Destination? Unknown. Quest? Unknown. Only Antonia herself knows the answers to these questions and to survive she must keep it that way. She has just crash landed on a planet called Corelli's Planet. The planet's namesake, Vince Corelli, is destroying the planet and the people living there through his mining for its beryllium. As circumstances take form, Antonia will do whatever she can to save both the planet and its people. But this won't come without a cost to her and her plans. She must join the Interstellar Federation as an intelligence agent which will result in her being stationed on the Destiny's Forge in the capacity of an Ensign.



    While on the Destiny, Antonia finds herself helping to fight the creation of a Star gate which is being financed by a being known as Julian Bridge. As Antonia will soon find out, Bridges is not only known by many other names but he is one who could destroy and control space and it's planets as they are know.



    If someone told me a year ago that I would be reading a book like Destiny's Forge I would have told them "I don't think so, not my kind of book." Again, I have to admit that I'm wrong. Destiny's Forge is the first book in a series called Children of the Dragon and it is about "vampires." Vampires have never been one of my favorite reads. When I commit to a book review I do it with an open mind. I don't read reviews others have written. So, when I took on the commitment to read and review not 1 but 7 books in this series I really had no idea that they were about vampires. I struck out reading the 1st book Destiny's Forge and found myself hurrying to turn the page. And now that this one is finished, I can't wait to read the next.



    I know that there are several vampire type shows on television but Destiny's Forge could easily be made into a series that would blow them all out of the water. Yes, it's that good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 7 of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1