BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Destiny's Road

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2014

    Difficult to follow at times.

    Difficult to follow at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Terrible

    It reminded of me of some of Heinlein's work where the story just drags on and on and gradually loses any interesting qualities it may have had in the beginning. Oh, except for the casual sex that aging SF authors wish was the norm. BORING. LAME. When you have no more ideas, stop writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    Can't stop

    I have read this book probably about 10 times now. I do not know what it is about this book but I have to pick it up and read it every few months. I highly recommend this to anyone, yet I know this book is not for everyone. Give it a try though, chances are you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    Cooking, Eating And Sex

    This book is terrible..im a little over halfway thru this book and i'm still waiting for something interesting to happen.There are some parts that seem to be going somewhere but eventually all the main character ('Tim' Jemmy' or 'Andrew Dowd' depending on where you are in the story)manages to do is cook, eat and have sex with the local women of whatever town he happens to be in. I dont see much hope in this story keeping my attention very much longer but stranger things have happened.The best thing about this book is the cover art. Nothing personal against the author but I was hoping for something that was worth my trip to Barnes & Noble in a snow storm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Highly Entertaining. When will there be a sequel?

    This is the first Larry Niven book I read. I was on a trip to Keystone, Colorado and even on vacation surrounded by the Rocky Mountains, I couldn't put the book down. I finished it in record time. Since then, I've read other Larry Niven books, including the Ring World series, but Destiny's Road is still my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Niven is back

    Good to see a pure Niven work again. Building off the 'Heorot' works, Niven has put his own unique vision into the speculation of the development of the first human colonies and the basis is a stunningly simple premise: at the very basic cellular building block level, we are not evolutionarily equipped to live on other worlds. Good work here and good science.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    Better the second time around

    Destiny's Road, on the first read, is confusing and hard to follow in places. This book is one of those that opens up and reveals itself on a second read. It would have been much better as a series. It jumps quite a few years into the protagonist's future in order to wrap up the story and in doing so leaves the reader with a feeling of having missed something. These faults pale when compared against the whole and if one is a fan of science-fiction this is a wonderful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2000

    One of the Best!

    This is one of the best books I've read, and I've read it several times over for the pure enjoyment! For interesting planets and brave new worlds, this book has got it going on! For readers who found the '200-year man cruises the universe with nubile young chicks' of Niven's earlier novels a bit hackneyed, I recommend you give Niven another try. Niven's themes have come of age! The main character, Jemmy, is ... um ... impressive. And wait till you meet Harlow!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 1999

    Highly recommend

    Superb reading...great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1