Customer Reviews for

Destroy Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Omg!

I cant wait til this comes out!

posted by EmilyRoseanna on June 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Insightful

I appreciate that we get to view scenes from Warner's perspective, and I must admit that I'm liking Warner more. I realize he's murdered people, but this novella provides the opportunity to glimpse in his life and childhood. He has good intentions for Juliette, and we l...
I appreciate that we get to view scenes from Warner's perspective, and I must admit that I'm liking Warner more. I realize he's murdered people, but this novella provides the opportunity to glimpse in his life and childhood. He has good intentions for Juliette, and we learn that he truly cares for her. This is evident in his reaction to her journal entries. Warner finds her notebook and learns of Juliette's relationship with her parents, how others have mistreated her, and her experiences when her parents released her to the government (and sent to the asylum). He truly aches for her pain and fear.
If he were to leave his current position and involvement with the reestablishment, Juliette might be able to view him differently. I mean, I like Adam, but their relationship just began, and it was very rushed. We'll have to see what happens on the second book. I'm positive Warner will defy his Father's order to save Juliette.

posted by 11205949 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Not a sequel

    I loved Shatter Me, and this was well-written but it was such a tease! It's only about 80 pages long and from Warner's perspective so don't buy it expecting a sequel. There was no description when I bought it so I didn't know that it was only a novella. I had a few issues with it. First, Warner's name is no where in the story and it had been so long since I had read the first one that I couldn't remember it so I actually had to look it up. Second, I get that she's trying to set something up for the next book, but no matter crappy his life was I just can't find him sympsthetic enough to think he deserves even a novella devoted to his thoughts. I would have prefered to have this as the first part in the next book. It only took me about 2 hours to read so it just wasn't worth it to me.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Being a huge fan of Shatter Me, I was very excited to start this

    Being a huge fan of Shatter Me, I was very excited to start this short novella, Destroy Me. The best part is that, it's told from Warner's point of view! While reading Shatter Me, I definitely had mixed feelings about Warner. I didn't know whether to like him, or whether to hate him. He was just one of those characters where you end up having a love/hate relationship with! Destroy Me starts off from a certain point in Shatter Me, but what I really loved is that we get to hear what Warner thinks about whatever happens, instead of Juliett. I think this novella really got me to connect with Warner much more, and know him as a character. I don't think i'd ever understand Warner if I've never read this book, and I'm so glad I did. I think I judged Warner, without actually knowing the feelings he has inside. That's why I'm going to thank God that I read this book, because I no longer have a love/hate relationship with Warner, but a LOVE LOVE relationship! Despite this book being short, there were also moments where it almost broke my heart. Y'all probably know how Tahereh Mafi writes, but if you don't, its so, oh God beautiful. Anyways, I cannot wait to open the pages of Unravel Me, and let Tahereh break my heart once again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Great insight from Warner!

    I gave this 4 stars because it felt unfinished. I would love to know his thoughts from ****** spoiler from first book****** when he found them and kissed her. He finally got what he dreamt about.

    I also hope there is more between them, he needs to tell her how he feels. I love adam and j together but the triangle leaves us guessing.

    This is my favorite book trilogy so far.! Minus fifty shades.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

         So I should have started this one before I read Unravel Me,

         So I should have started this one before I read Unravel Me, but I only realized that it was addition that gave important insight when I was 2/3 of the way through Unravel Me. But I guess better late than never. So I stopped Unravel Me, and started Destroy Me.
         Mafi is as amazing story teller in this on e
         At first, Warren's voice seemed to clinical and detached, but I told myself, he's just been shot. If there is ever a time... But I kept going because I wanted to see what was so great about Team Warner. And did I find out. There is so much in his past that makes him act the way he does, and it is almost as sad as Juliette's background. His voice sounds that way because that is the way his father taught him to be. He has built up walls within himself in order to lead the way he does.  
         But then you find out even more about his motivations, and my heart just wanted to melt. He did so many things that I thought was just downright evil, but when I discover the cause, I have to rewrite everything and question it all through Juliette's eyes. 
         The love he has for her, just wow. He tries all of the time to talk himself out of it, and it is sad. I still adore Adam, and I know that one of the two is going to have to get hurt, and that makes me sooo torn. Ms. Mafi definitely knows how to write a character so that they make me feel for them and connect with them. 
     
    Bottom line: Great novella that gives great insight into Warner. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    So, Warner isn't all evil, huh?

    This might be brief, because to say a lot is to reveal a lot.

    I'll say this much - Warner is a lot more complicated than I imagined him to be.

    He's still not a good guy, overall. He still hates people, is mentally unstable, will kill if he has to, and to say he has daddy issues is like saying that a cactus is not easy to handle because it has thorns. Basically, duh!

    I never expected him to be an easy read. But I just didn't expect that I would actually feel really bad about what he's become and why?

    The thing is, he knows he's bad. He knows he's screwed up. But he does it anyway for reasons you find in the book.

    So, if you're waiting for Unravel Me to come out and you haven't bothered to read this, I highly recommend you do. These .5 digital reads are quite integral to the series whenever the author writes one. It fleshes out characters that you often don't get to really learn about from the novel, for whatever reason.

    I hate to admit, but I think I understand now why some fans are actually fascinated with Warner.

    Although, I believe the author actually wants you to care for him, or at lease sympathize, for all is not what is seems, as Adam indicated in his note to Juliette.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    This has been the best intermittent book I've read! It didn't co

    This has been the best intermittent book I've read! It didn't cover just one scene, it was a complete point of view from Warren. I normally feel cheated when I buy these types of books, but I don't regret one penny I spent on this one! It was beautifully written and really lets you look into Warren's mind and heart. I actually enjoyed this just as much as I did the first book, Shatter Me! I have to admit I have a soft spot for Warren now that I didn't before. This guy might just have a heart after all!!! I can't wait to see what is coming next!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Novella.

    It's not the sequel guys. Just a novella to keep you prepped up for the sequel. Still though, this was a nice short read. Cant wait for Unravel Me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Wow, great, awesome dont even begain to discribe how great this book is

    This was amazing I always thought Warner was the bad guy but he is just as broken as J. I love Adam but my heart bleeds for Warner. I really hope that the aurthor can make do that she is both guys. Cant wait for the next book. TM did a great job at writting this series will by all her books. However wish the book started from Shatter Me and had both Adams and Warner sides to the story. Thats the only reason why I did 4 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Omgggg my review

    Ugh. Its so amazing bur uts so short (around 100 pgs) told from the view of Warner, who i am beginning to like... you really get to see everythig from his point of view, his mind his background. You learn a little more about Kenji but adam isnt in here really at all. Hes just mentioned a lott. I cant wait until unravel me coms out because these series have me in "book depression" literally this is all i think about. I cant wait, i recommend you go to the library and check it out becae its so shrt its not completely worth the 10 or whatever dollars i spent. Kwish it qas longer but oh well, still loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2015

    4.5 STARS - WARNER'S SIDE IS AWESOME Ugh, what to think now?  W

    4.5 STARS - WARNER'S SIDE IS AWESOME

    Ugh, what to think now?  Warner.  Is still don't think I like him, but now I don't know if he's ALL bad or not.  We meet Warner's father the leader of the Reestablishment and dang, he is the devil.  




    I love reading from the bad guys point of view.  I know, kind of twisted, but I love reading about how and why they became the way they are.  There is always something behind their behaviors.  Well, with Warner's father in the picture we learn a lot about why Warner is the way he is.




    We also learn that Warner kind of has a heart.  I wish I could say I know for sure, but I just can't yet.  I loved reading Warner's side of the story though.  I think Warner might have had good intentions regarding Juliette.  Warner's father on the other hand....




    I really enjoyed reading this side of the story.  I love the insight it gave into Warner's mind.  I think I have a better understanding of why he is the way he is.  I cannot wait for the next book.....




    That is all I am going to say because I probably already gave something away.  Oops, if I did ;).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    4.5 stars! My Initial Reaction...  I loved getting to know Warr

    4.5 stars!

    My Initial Reaction... 
    I loved getting to know Warren better - just wish there were more! Destroy Me definitely filled in some details about my favorite guy in the series!

    The Good... 
    One of the best things about Destroy Me is that it let me pat myself on the shoulder a little bit. After reading Shatter Me I said (quote from my review...) "What can I say? Sometimes the bad guys steal the show – and in the Adam vs. Warren scenario, he totally did for me." I saw him as a much more complex character and even did he did some seriously horrible things that I could in no way pretend made him the GOOD GUY, I just liked him better. And now after reading Destroy Me I feel so much more justified in feeling that way. Warren is ONE COMPLEX DUDE and understandably so. I loved getting inside his head! 

    The Bad... 
    So in Destroy Me Warren finds Juliette's journal. I LOVED this and thought it was cool to see his reactions to what he read. But then the chapters started beginning with a random excerpt from her journal without his reaction to them. It felt out of place and I didn't like Juliette taking over Warren's book. You have your series, let him have his novella! LOL! Yeah, it's not a big point at all, but I could have done without those (or even better, would have liked them to involve Warren's reactions!)

    Concluding Sentiments... 
    I loved reading Destroy Me and I think it's an absolute must for anyone who's reading the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    4 Stars

    4 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    SHIP SHIP SHIP

    I SHIP WARNER AND JULIET SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This novella that follows "Shatter Me" gives us a grea

    This novella that follows "Shatter Me" gives us a great deal more insight into the evil Warner, son of the supreme commander of The Reestablishment regime. While he is clearly the antagonist in "Shatter Me," this time around the block we get to see the forces that have molded him into the man-shaped creature that he is now.

    While it is easier to see why he behaves as he does it still does not excuse his behavior, nor his lack of backbone. By this point in his life he should at least be able to stand up to his own father, or better yet take advantage of their relationship and rid the world of such a horrible beast. That seems like it would be the ideal solution since Warner seems to have a fairly large suicidal streak running through himself, and he knows there is no way he could kill his father without being killed himself.

    The way Warner relates to Juliette through her notebook that got left behind is sad and rather pathetic. He invades Juliette's private thoughts by reading and rereading her journal until he can almost recite it verbatim and decides that they are too much alike one another to be apart. He feels that they are soul-mates, and that since he understands her so well, she too must understand him. Or would if given the time according to the few semi-rational brain cells he still has firing.

    That his physical disability, caused by Juliette, eases the way for his mental breakdown is somehow poetic justice. As his body heals his obsession with her spirals farther out of control, causing cracks in the facade holding all his fractured pieces together. As he frantically searches to find before his father locates her and destroys her, Juliette and Adam are settling in to the Omega Point. Their precipitous flight from the military base caused some problems, particularly when Kenji showed up at their door, leading Warner et al. directly to the home Adam had so painstakingly created for his ten-year old brother James. Kenji leads them to the safety if Omega Point, yet it still feels a bit like a betrayal to Adam, having to walk away from the safe environment he took such pains to builds for James.

    Kenji, Adam, and Juliette settle in at Omega, but Juliette struggles with being apart from Adam since there is a men's wing and a women's wing, with no middle ground. Add to this only seeing Adam for a few moments each day and Juliette is beginning to fray around the edges. On top of that is the way she is treated in Omega, with parents pulling their children away from Juliette, people moving to the far side of the corridor when she walks by, and the less than friendly glances she get. So it should be no surprise that she is struggling, yet Castle puts the blame on Juliette's shoulders, saying she isn't actively trying to be one a part of their community.

    Between the revelations of just how unstable Warner is when it comes to Juliette, and the trio's escape from Warner's clutches at the military compound, this made for a fascinating read. Shorter than Books One & Two of the Trilogy, it offers very interesting insight into a complex character that plays a pivotal role in the series. Easily worth the brief time it takes to read, and well worth it for the light it sheds on some of Warner's motivation. This book is actually part of the trilogy in my opinion, even if not considered a trilogy book, in large part because much of what takes place here is referenced in "Unravel Me."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    I am so glad I read this novella in between the first and secon

    I am so glad I read this novella in between the first and second of the series. It helps to set up my favorite kind of love triangle in the second book! Forbidden love, dangerous love, misunderstood love! Who should she choose?! Who is really on her side?! Very good, well played Tahereh Mafi. Well played indeed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Wonderful....

    This book will shed some light on Warner and all his motivations! You'll be surprised. By the end he just may win you over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2