Customer Reviews for

Detectives in Togas

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2005

    Thrilling!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Detectives in Togas might have to be my third favorite book ever. It inspired me to read more mysteries. This book isn't very predictable at all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2004

    Long remembered - glad its back!

    Like another reviewer mentioned, this is a book from my childhood. In fact, it is the ONLY book that I remember vividly from my childhood. It was read to my class by our English teacher and I loved it! Will definitely be getting a copy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2003

    Great book!

    This is a really good book because it keeps you guessing through the whole book. It is a little easy to guess who wrote the message on the wall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2003

    Cant Wait to get this

    This book was my absolute favorite when I was in grade school (late 50's) I remember borrowing it over and over from the school library. I am so glad it is back in print, and would recommend it highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2003

    6 kids, in togas?

    Rufus wrote Caius is a dumbbell on his tablet and hung it on the wall of his school and got in a fight with Caius. Rufus gets expeled. That night their teacher is robbed and on the temple wall appears "Caius is a dumbbell". This book is a real page-turner, it kept me on my feet through the whole book. I couldn't put the book down, it was full of suspence and action. Who did the crime? Find out for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    mystery that makes you part of the story

    this book is a good book for people that love to have a book that solves in front of your eyes this story is about a guy named rufus who wrote caius is a dumbell on his tablet at school. It matgicly appears on the temple wall who did read the mystery to figure out

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2003

    6 Kids in Togas Can Go a Long Way!

    I would really recommend this book. It¿s amazing! It¿s a real page-turner! I gave it 5 stars because I think its full of suspense, mystery and excitement! Each page you turn brings a new surprise. It takes place in Rome. It is about a boy named Rufus who attends Xanthos School with his classmates. One of the boys named Caius would not let Rufus study his words. So Rufus writes on his slate ¿Caius is a dumbbell,¿ and hangs it behind their teacher. Caius gets mad and fights with him. Their teacher (Xantippus) expels Rufus for what he wrote! The next morning the students find Xantippus tied up in a closet. He said he was assaulted! On their way to tell Rufus, the boys find writing on the temple wall. It says, ¿Caius is a dumbbell!¿ When they get to Rufus¿ house, he has been arrested. Can his schoolmates find the real culprit in time or will Rufus be forced to stay in prison for the rest of his life? If you want to find out what happens, read this great book, Detectives in Togas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2002

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!

    Detectives in Togas is an OUTSTANDING suspence book. A MUST read. I just can not stop reading it enough!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2001

    Great!!!!!

    This book is a really good mystery. It keeps you guessing right to the end,I recommend everyone reads it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    good, clean mystery set in ancient Rome It is at some unspecif

    good, clean mystery set in ancient Rome

    It is at some unspecified time of the ancient Roman Empire, and Mucius, Rufus, Caius, Antonius, Flavius, Julius, and Publius are all students in the school of Xanthos, whom the boys nicknamed Xantippus because he reminded them of Socrates’s bad-tempered wife Xantippe. Caius had disturbed Rufus and wouldn’t let him study, so Rufus angrily writes “Caius is a dumbbell” on his wax tablet which he hangs on the wall. When Xantippus sees it, he sends Rufus home and threatens to expel him. When the boys arrive at school the next morning, they find that someone has broken into the schoolroom, attacked Xantippus, and stolen several articles, including Rufus’s tablet. But then an even worse crime is committed. They find that someone has written “Caius is a dumbbell” on the temple of Minerva dedicated to the Emperor by Caius’s father Senator Vinicius.

    Unfortunately, the handwriting expert Scribonius confirms that it is in Rufus’s handwriting, so while Rufus steadfastly denies that he wrote it, he is taken off to prison and is slated to be sold as a galley slave. The boys must look for clues to find the real culprit and save Rufus. Who might have been responsible for it? Could it be Senator Vinicius, or Lukos the astrologist whose house is across the street from Xantippus’s school, or even the Emperor who is jealous over the military victories of General Praetonius who just happens to be Rurus’s father? Or is there someone else lurking about? And will they be able to solve the case in time to spare Rufus? I first heard about Detectives in Togas back in 2007 when it was recommended by Love to Learn, a homeschool resource company. This delightful story not only presents readers with a suspenseful yet good, clean mystery but also gives youngsters a lot of insight into daily life in ancient Rome, with a good dose of humor along the way and a surprise ending.

    During excavations at Pompeii, a temple wall was found on which the words “Casius Asinus Est” were written. These literally mean “Caius is an ass,” i.e., a stupid person, and this fascinating bit of history forms the basis for Winterfeld’s imaginary plot. Author Henry Winterfeld (1901-1990) was born in Germany, wrote his first children’s book Trouble at Timpetill in 1933, and emigrated to the U.S. in 1940. He originally wrote Detectives in Togas in German as Caius ist ein Dummkopf, and it was translated into English by Clara and Richard Winston. Being set in ancient Rome, it contains numerous references to the Roman gods, including such exclamations as “by all the good gods,” and to drinking wine. However, it corroborates the fact that the Emperor insisted on being worshipped as a god, which was the basis for the persecution of Christians in those days. There is also a moral to the story, as Xantippus uses the fate of the criminal to remind the boys that “The path of vice leads inevitably to ruin.” A sequel is entitled Mystery of the Roman Ransom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1