Customer Reviews for

Detour

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

I enjoyed this book as much as "Derailed." I didn't want to put it down.

posted by 705137 on January 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Siegel Disappoints This Time Around

Having just finshed and enjoyed Siegel's 'Derailed' - which I found considerably better than the film - and 'Deceit', I opened 'Detour' with eager anticipation. While the basic plot 'childless couple clutching desperately at the last chance of parenthood in an alien env...
Having just finshed and enjoyed Siegel's 'Derailed' - which I found considerably better than the film - and 'Deceit', I opened 'Detour' with eager anticipation. While the basic plot 'childless couple clutching desperately at the last chance of parenthood in an alien environment' is intriging, I found the novel lacked the structured, sustained intensity of his earlier two novels mentioned above. Although Siegel throws in a timely crisis here and there to keep the plot-pot boiling, this time it's with mixed success. In particular, the parenting sequences between the Breidbart couple and their new, adopted baby drag a little 'mothers of newborns might disagree here!', while the extended biographical digressions involving their Colombian nanny-turned-kidnapper, although enlightening as background information on the country's political turmoil, detract somewhat from the tension of the couple's own predicament. Siegel is a gifted storyteller and a welcome addition to the ranks of contemporary thriller-writers. His style and prose are taut, however, more critical editing might have prevented a couple of small derailments - smells, however strong and varied, are not cacophanous 'p. 18' and the adverb, 'equivocably' 'p.199' doesn't exist -and tightened up the storyline. In summary, I found 'Detour' to be a fascinating read, yet rather a let-down by comparison with 'Derailed' and 'Deceit', both real page-turners.

posted by Anonymous on December 22, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Another one I couldn't put down!

    This is the 2nd book by James Siegel that I've read (read the first one last week) and I am impressed with this writer! He takes normal people like you and I and puts them in abnormal situations that we hope we never have to deal with. It's suspenseful without being overly detailed with law enforcement details and is written entirely from the perspective of the main charactor. You feel his pain, you feel his agony over the situation he finds himself in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    Great Book

    I enjoyed this book as much as "Derailed." I didn't want to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    Siegel Disappoints This Time Around

    Having just finshed and enjoyed Siegel's 'Derailed' - which I found considerably better than the film - and 'Deceit', I opened 'Detour' with eager anticipation. While the basic plot 'childless couple clutching desperately at the last chance of parenthood in an alien environment' is intriging, I found the novel lacked the structured, sustained intensity of his earlier two novels mentioned above. Although Siegel throws in a timely crisis here and there to keep the plot-pot boiling, this time it's with mixed success. In particular, the parenting sequences between the Breidbart couple and their new, adopted baby drag a little 'mothers of newborns might disagree here!', while the extended biographical digressions involving their Colombian nanny-turned-kidnapper, although enlightening as background information on the country's political turmoil, detract somewhat from the tension of the couple's own predicament. Siegel is a gifted storyteller and a welcome addition to the ranks of contemporary thriller-writers. His style and prose are taut, however, more critical editing might have prevented a couple of small derailments - smells, however strong and varied, are not cacophanous 'p. 18' and the adverb, 'equivocably' 'p.199' doesn't exist -and tightened up the storyline. In summary, I found 'Detour' to be a fascinating read, yet rather a let-down by comparison with 'Derailed' and 'Deceit', both real page-turners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Whenever I decide to read a novel written by James Siegel, I kno

    Whenever I decide to read a novel written by James Siegel, I know that every page, from beginning to end, will be captivating and impossible to put down. The only reason this particular novel took a little while longer for me is because I tried my best to keep it from coming to an end. I usually finish a Siegel novel in two sitting. There were some very gruesome moments in Detour and some lighthearted moments involving Joanna and Jollele. I also admire the lengths this father would go to protect his family. A must read for anyone looking for a fast and enjoyable read. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    Great writing, relatable characters, fast-paced plot. The ending was a bit too perfectly wrapped up, but other than that, believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I loved this book!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2007

    Great plot twists will keep you guessing

    Sometimes you just can't get into a book and then when you revisit it, you can't put the book down. I read 70 pages and it just wasn't grabbing my attention the way Derailed did. I put the book aside and just picked it up again today. I also finished it today. Detour will keep you guessing it is not predictable or hackneyed. The prose is tight, sparse and easy to read. Give James Siegel a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    I couldn't put it down!

    This is definetly a thriller that keeps you going the whole time. I never wanted to put it down and couldn't wait to find out what happened next. This book was about many disturbing events happening to one man and his wife and it was kind of stressful for me to read so I do not suggest this if you do not like reading fast-paced books containing many stressful situations. The author is excellent at making you empathize with the characters and making you forget that you are reading fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Non Stop Thriller

    As with his other book Derailed I read this book in 24 hours. Non stop thriller with plenty of twist and turns. A great book and a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2005

    WHAT WOULD YOU DO TO SAVE THOSE YOU LOVE?

    The question resonating throughout the latest spine-tingler from James Siegel is 'Just how far would you go, what would you risk to save the person you love?' Stage, film and television actor Holter Graham gives an accomplished reading to this story of a man caught in a life or death struggle. Paul and Joanna Breidbart are a devoted married couple. Their lives are happy and complete save for the absence of a child. The waiting list to adopt a child in America is lengthy, so they decide to fly to Colombia to adopt a baby there. Their happiness is all too brief as Joanna and the baby are kidnaped; they're in the hands of drug dealers who will stop at nothing to achieve their ends. Paul is told that in order to secure the release of his wife and baby he must smuggle cocaine worth millions into the U.S. and turn it over to a mysterious person in New Jersey within one day. If he does not do this, Joanna and the baby will both die. But, when Paul arrives at the meeting site in New Jersey the house has been destroyed. What will he do and where will he turn in order to save his wife and child? Siegel, the author of Derailed which Miramax has optioned for a major motion picture, delivers his story a bit like gunfire, in staccato bursts. And, it's frightening. If a fast-paced thriller laced with memorable characters is your pleasure, Detour is for you. - Gail Cooke

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Exciting and suspenful page turner!

    I love finding a great book! Detour was fantastically fun and intriguing. I read it in one day and now can't wait for another by him. He is right up there with Harlan. Thank goodness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1