Customer Reviews for

Deviant Ways

Average Rating 5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Highly recommended, I've been a fan of his writing for years.

    I believe I have all Mooney's books. He has a unique style and his
    characters have great chemistry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    ' Explosive '

    Story with many twist and turns...many sub plots...makes this one a real page- turner...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    best book I have read in years

    picked this up in hardcover in a thrift shop for 1.00. It is the best purchase I have made in years. Never heard of Chris Mooney...but right now I'm out looking for his second book. Hope he writes a lot more ...I will buy and read them all...by far...one of the very best I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2002

    A book to savor!

    I happened upon this book at Barnes and Noble in their Bargain section...what a steal! $6 bucks and one of the best finds I've ever made! I can't say enough good things about this book. I even liked the ending, which I tend to be pretty critical about after becoming so attached. My co-workers, friends and family are all taking numbers to see who gets to read it next! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2001

    mooney is the man

    Mooneys book kept me awake at night reading and awake after I closed the pages. Watch out Patterson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    Deviant Ways

    Alright Chris. I was the first to review Deviant Ways. You told me #2 was out in the Spring! I'm off to the beach tomorrow and just KNEW I would have your 2nd to take with me! Congrats on the ***** reviews! You certainly deserved them! HURRY with #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    AWESOME!!!

    Bravo! This is an amazing book. I felt as if I was a part of the plot itself. I loved the graphics of it, the characters, the whole story line. I would LOVE to see a continuation of the same characters,especially Fletcher. He was FABULOUS, so intense. What an incredible debut novel. I look forward to Mr. Mooney's second novel (due this winter).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    AN INTENSE READ

    THIS BOOK WAS INTENSE FROM START TO FINISH. I FOUND MYSELF AMAZED AT THE DEPTH OF THE CHARACTERS,AND HOW THEY SEEMED REAL WITHOUT BEING OVER THE TOP.I LOOK FORWARD TO THE AUTHORS NEXT BOOK IF HE STAYS ON THE SAME PATH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2001

    Praise for Chris Mooney!

    If you enjoy a really hard to put down suspense novel, you've got to read this book! In a world already overflowing with suspense novels, this one really stands out! I really enjoyed this rollercoaster ride! The story is very detailed but it grips you from the very beginning and doesn't let go. In some suspense novels the action is spread throughout the entire novel. Not true here! The action/adventure never stops! I was sorry when I reached page 370! I wanted more! Jack Casey is a true hero! I really hope to see the main characters in Mr. Mooney's next book! A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2001

    The Most Frightening Book I've Read in Years!!!

    I don't know why the previous reviewer hated it - this book grabbed me from the first page and wouldn't let me go. It's scary, it's thrilling, it has great characters (some of which I hope to see again), and it kept me turning the pages so fast I thought I was going to faint!!! Is there violence? Yes. But I think the author did a great job in using it to show the severity and magnitude of just how creepy and powerful the Sandman is. And to top it all off, there a lot of moral issues here to tackle. The book was just FANTASTIC and I can't WAIT until I read his new one. I'm a fan for life!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    I Hated It!

    Judging from other reviews, I can see that I am in a minority in my feelings for this book, but I despised it. Its violence was gratuitous and far more graphic than it had to be and 'The Sandman' was portrayed to be so clever as to challenge any reasonable person's belief. This is one reader who will not buy this author's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Didn't sleep with the lights out the whole time!

    This is by far one of the best books I have read in a long time. I am an avid suspense/thriller reader and this takes the cake! I made my husband search the house everynight before bed! The sandman never left me the whole time I was reading it. I anxiously await Chris's next novel. Julie B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    A 'MUST READ' novel!!!!!!!

    Tremendous book!!!! I could not put it down. This truly is a 'page turner'. I loved that the chapters were short; I'd want to finish a chapter, next thing I knew, I read 4 more!!!! After I finished the book, I felt like I had just seen the movie, it was that descriptive! Which brings me to my next point...I hope somebody will make a movie out of it because it would be an award winner!!!! I highly recommend this book to everyone. There is not a dull moment in it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2001

    Deviant Ways

    For my mystery loving friends, you cannot pass this one up! I am so impressed that this is Mooney's first novel. It is a nonstop, can't put down read! Mooney is the new James Patterson! Rush out and get it! Twists and deviation make this book one that you cannot put off. I can't wait for his 2nd novel!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    A Terrific, Taut Thriller !!

    Debut author Mooney has written a scorching, fiercely addicting thriller which forced me to finally give in and submit a review on the web. In fact, I haven't even finished the book yet (only half way through), but felt compelled to offer my sincere praise to this new, powerful voice in the thriller genre. The characters are deftly drawn, immensely interesting and carefully developed. The plot, so far, has gripped me so tight that I try to sneak in quick chapter reads whenever I have a free moment. I haven't been so excited about a new author for years (I'm a devoted John Sandford fan). Mooney writes like a skilled, professional craftsman..offering vivid detail in all of it's glorious violent overtones. Can't wait to read the follow up!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2000

    I Am So Impressed!

    This is Chris Mooney's first book and I am amazed at the talent and maturity his writing displays. I have read alot of books lately and Deviant Ways is at the peak of my top 5 list. This is a true suspence thriller that is unprecedented. The descriptives in this book were so good that at times I felt as though I was watching a movie. The Sandman is a great 'serial' character but I think Miles Hamilton (the Sandman's predecessor) was a little creepier. But my favorite character wasn't even the main character, Jack Casey. It was Malcolm Fletcher, a former FBI profiler with a sordid past. He is the key ingredient for the utter success of this book. Malcolm Fletcher is cool and delivers his own form of justice that will surely put a smile on your face. This is a dark tale but don't worry you'll be feeling most hopeful at the end of Deviant Ways. Enjoy, thriller fans and watch for Chris Mooney in future. I have a feeling he'll back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    The Best Thriller I've Ever Read!

    'Deviant Ways' is an absolute must read thriller! Mooney is unparalleled at his ability to throw the reader into the minds of his characters. The book's main character, FBI profiler 'Jack Casey,' struggles with his emotional baggage and moral dilemmas as he tries to nail the highly intelligent and vengeful 'Sandman.' Mooney takes you on a fast paced roller coaster ride that is truly cinematic. You may find YOURSELF mentally unstable after reading this book. Malcolm Fletcher HAS to be brought back in a future novel!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2000

    An Exceptional Debut

    Mr. Mooney has written an intense character driven novel. It holds the readers attention from the first page and never lets go. He breathes life into every character. If you enjoy novels about serial killers and like edge-of-your seat pacing you'll love this book. If you buy no other suspense novel this year, buy DEVIANT WAYS - you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    Great Book! Very engrossing!

    This book was great. I got it on recommendation of the author and I loved it. The story line reminds me of Thomas Harris. Mooney is 'disturbed' enough for my taste! Those disturbing thoughts of your own come back at you in this book. Great thriller and LOVED the characters. I'm not big on series books but I would LOVE to see Malcolm Fletcher make an appearance in a future book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    BEWARE, THE SANDMAN COMETH!

    It isn¿t very often that a new author appears on the scene, writing in a particular genre, and manages to create a debut novel filled with such believable characters, such vivid storytelling, and such breathtaking intensity, that it knocks a reader right out of his socks. For avid book lovers, it is the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow we¿re always in search of, and when we occasionally find an author of this amazing caliber, it¿s like waking up on Christmas morning with dozens of exciting presents waiting to be opened. Chris Mooney is such an author, and his debut novel is DEVIANT WAYS. This is the story of the Sandman, a serial killer who knows your every move, your every thought, and there¿s no place to hide from him. As a young boy, he was part of an experimental program that was instigated by the FBI¿a program in which many of its participants were methodically tortured with new drugs being tested and even with electro-shock. The Sandman is an adult now, and he wants REVENGE! His intentions are to kill the doctors and psychiatrists who did this to him and to bring the FBI tumbling down. The killing spree begins in Marblehead, a rich, seashore community in Massachusetts where many of his former torturers live. The Sandman doesn¿t intend to just kill the individuals. Noooo. He¿s going to make these good citizens suffer by forcing them to watch as he massacres their entire families; then, when the police show up, he will take them out, too, by destroying the neighborhoods in such a manner as to draw the attention of the FBI and the national media. That¿s when the fun really begins. Only one man might be able to stop this diabolical killer: Jack Casey, a former FBI profiler, whose wife and unborn child were murdered years before by Miles Hamilton, a serial killer Hannibal Lecter would certainly be proud of. Casey is now a detective in Marblehead and probably nobody understands the psyche of a serial killer better than he does. You see, Jack Casey has killed before in the line of duty, and he enjoyed it! If our dark hero can get his hands on the Sandman, he will teach him a thing or two about death. Needless to say, the town of Marblehead will never be the same as these two adversaries square off against each other. Who will live and who will die? How much of the town will be destroyed before justice prevails¿justice in the eyes of both the Sandman and Jack Casey? Revenge never tasted better! DEVIANT WAYS will grab you in the first twenty pages, surprising you in ways few other novels are able to do. Each chapter will literally propel you forward as Mr. Mooney makes us peel back layer after layer of this multi-structured story, pushing us to discover the truth hidden within the core of his central characters, which is that we all have monsters lurking within us, and it only takes the right button being pushed to bring them out. This novel also has a score of secondary characters who are every bit as mysterious and intriguing as the lead ones. There is Miles Hamilton, the killer who changed Casey¿s life forever and who reeks of pure evil. Then, there¿s Malcolm Fletcher, also a former FBI profiler, who once tried to stop the experiments that created the Sandman. The FBI sent assassins to take him out, but they weren¿t good enough. Now, he¿s come out of hiding to help Casey put the Sandman down and to get retribution on his former bosses. The pacing of DEVIANT WAYS is relentless, and it has so many twists and turns that it will be nearly impossible for the reader to guess the ending. At the heart of the novel, however, are the themes of lost and redemption. Both Casey and Fletcher have done things in their pasts that neither of them are proud of, and the time has come to balance the scales. I can¿t say enough good things about DEVIANT WAYS, and I find it rather awe-inspiring that a new author could come from out of nowhere with a debut novel of such quality and magnitude, that you wonder how he

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2