Customer Reviews for

The Devil Colony (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4
( 479 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(243)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Best. Novel. Yet.

Over the years, I've written a lot of enthusiastic things about the novels of James Rollins. But until now, I've never written this: THE DEVIL COLONY IS THE BEST NOVEL THAT JAMES ROLLINS HAS EVER WRITTEN! (Yes, in all caps even!) Like many readers, I was disappointe...
Over the years, I've written a lot of enthusiastic things about the novels of James Rollins. But until now, I've never written this: THE DEVIL COLONY IS THE BEST NOVEL THAT JAMES ROLLINS HAS EVER WRITTEN! (Yes, in all caps even!) Like many readers, I was disappointed in the two-year wait for this latest installment in the Sigma Force series. Now, I'm thinking perhaps he should take two years on all the novels-I don't know if it was the extra time, but something has paid off huge dividends.

As always, summarizing the story is the hardest part. First, because I'd hate to spoil any surprises. And secondly, because it's just really hard to summarize one of Rollins's everything-but-the-kitchen-sink plots. The main action of this book opens in present day Utah. From two boys who can't resist the lure of the forbidden, a great and terrible discovery is made at a sacred Native American site. There are bodies. There is an artifact. And, astonishingly, something that goes to the very core of Mormon theology!

Just as the scientists on site are beginning to grasp what they've discovered, there is a huge explosion. The explosion is blamed on a Native American activist, but it's clear that this wasn't your standard bomb. It's something far more dangerous, with implications that spread further and further afield, and which drag Sigma operatives into the story on differing assignments and for different reasons. All the usual suspects are back, including the enigmatic Seichan, who is again paired in an uneasy alliance with Gray Pierce. Painter Crowe is also back in the field this time around. Operatives from the Guild are up to their usual tricks, and even as readers learn more about the shadowy organization in this novel, new questions are raised for the next book. (It's infuriating how he does that.)

In provocative messages leading up to the publication of The Devil Colony, James Rollins repeated asked, "Was America founded on a lie?" The plot of this novel does get right to the heart of the formation of this country. What were Lewis and Clark really up to? What was Thomas Jefferson communicating in secret ciphers? It also explains the fate of some of the most mysteriously lost cultures through history. It delves into the not only the most cutting-edge technology, but also some amazingly advanced ancient technology. And, yes, it also explores the foundation of the Mormon Church. Oh, and there's a super-volcano! And killer whales! And the heist of all heists!

Seriously, I could go on like this all day. The scope of this novel is breath-taking. What's amazing is that Rollins pulls all of these diverse threads together so plausibly that you'll find yourself wondering if he has indeed solved half the puzzles of the ages in one fell swoop. As always, there's a staggering amount of fact laced throughout his fantastic plot. It's enough to make you go, "Hmmm."

The pace starts to race early on, and it just never slows down. The stakes in the book simply get bigger and bigger. Technically, it's a well-structured page-turner. But in the end, it's the story that got me and held me. Every part of it was just so inventive, exciting, and so darn interesting! I entitled this review "Best. Novel. Yet." I don't anticipate Mr. Rollins topping The Devil Colony any time soon, but I hold out hope. He wrote this one. What wonderful tales can we look forward to in the future?

posted by Susan_Tunis on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

the retards below should be banned from posting reviews

And I would not normally review a book not read, but when you see a dozen ying yangs givingh reviews of a book because they do not like a price Branes & Nobles sets, well they are too stupid to be allowed to post reviews

posted by Flal on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best. Novel. Yet.

    Over the years, I've written a lot of enthusiastic things about the novels of James Rollins. But until now, I've never written this: THE DEVIL COLONY IS THE BEST NOVEL THAT JAMES ROLLINS HAS EVER WRITTEN! (Yes, in all caps even!) Like many readers, I was disappointed in the two-year wait for this latest installment in the Sigma Force series. Now, I'm thinking perhaps he should take two years on all the novels-I don't know if it was the extra time, but something has paid off huge dividends.

    As always, summarizing the story is the hardest part. First, because I'd hate to spoil any surprises. And secondly, because it's just really hard to summarize one of Rollins's everything-but-the-kitchen-sink plots. The main action of this book opens in present day Utah. From two boys who can't resist the lure of the forbidden, a great and terrible discovery is made at a sacred Native American site. There are bodies. There is an artifact. And, astonishingly, something that goes to the very core of Mormon theology!

    Just as the scientists on site are beginning to grasp what they've discovered, there is a huge explosion. The explosion is blamed on a Native American activist, but it's clear that this wasn't your standard bomb. It's something far more dangerous, with implications that spread further and further afield, and which drag Sigma operatives into the story on differing assignments and for different reasons. All the usual suspects are back, including the enigmatic Seichan, who is again paired in an uneasy alliance with Gray Pierce. Painter Crowe is also back in the field this time around. Operatives from the Guild are up to their usual tricks, and even as readers learn more about the shadowy organization in this novel, new questions are raised for the next book. (It's infuriating how he does that.)

    In provocative messages leading up to the publication of The Devil Colony, James Rollins repeated asked, "Was America founded on a lie?" The plot of this novel does get right to the heart of the formation of this country. What were Lewis and Clark really up to? What was Thomas Jefferson communicating in secret ciphers? It also explains the fate of some of the most mysteriously lost cultures through history. It delves into the not only the most cutting-edge technology, but also some amazingly advanced ancient technology. And, yes, it also explores the foundation of the Mormon Church. Oh, and there's a super-volcano! And killer whales! And the heist of all heists!

    Seriously, I could go on like this all day. The scope of this novel is breath-taking. What's amazing is that Rollins pulls all of these diverse threads together so plausibly that you'll find yourself wondering if he has indeed solved half the puzzles of the ages in one fell swoop. As always, there's a staggering amount of fact laced throughout his fantastic plot. It's enough to make you go, "Hmmm."

    The pace starts to race early on, and it just never slows down. The stakes in the book simply get bigger and bigger. Technically, it's a well-structured page-turner. But in the end, it's the story that got me and held me. Every part of it was just so inventive, exciting, and so darn interesting! I entitled this review "Best. Novel. Yet." I don't anticipate Mr. Rollins topping The Devil Colony any time soon, but I hold out hope. He wrote this one. What wonderful tales can we look forward to in the future?

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a great action-packed Sigma Force thriller

    In Utah, teenagers Charlie Reed and Trent Wilder explore a cavern filled with desiccated mummified humans. Amongst the horrid sight, the boys also find a gold-coated skull of a saber-toothed tiger. They report their findings. While Native Americans and scientists argue over the findings, archeologists remove the prehistoric artifact. However, instead of a simple excavation, the removal causes an explosion that leads to the release of a substance that erodes rock on contact.

    During the blast, an archeologist is murdered; the police suspect Kai Quicheets a teen leader of the Native American protest group at the dig site who tossed the charges that caused the initial explosion. She turns to her Uncle Painter Crowe, leader of the Sigma Special Forces unit. His team uncovers a conspiracy that goes to the roots of the United States.

    This is a great action-packed Sigma Force thriller (see The Doomsday Key) in which James Rollins ties together Jefferson, Mormonism and Native American lore into a save the world scenario. Fast-paced, Painter has to deal with the ooze released by explosion, his contrite niece and the "war" between the scientists and the Native Americans. Devil Colony is difficult to put down especially when the players converge.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Book I have read in a long time

    I have read all of James Rollins' books and this is simply the best one. It was well worth the two year wait. Given the detail that he went into, I cannot imagine the research that this book took. All of his characters were definitely expanded upon and left in a dark place. Would highly recommend this book to anyone that likes this genre.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    The Devil Colony was a Fantastic Book

    I just finished this book and loved it. It was exciting like all of Rollins's Sigma Force books and this one will not disappoint the reader!! It is about the Guild, a secretive group of people Sigma is trying to find. I found the setting in Yellowstone National Park fascinating. The story has information about Meriwether Lewis. Of course we all studied about the Lewis and Clark Expedition in school, but I found the part of the plot about Lewis interesting. I am going to Barnes and Noble tomorrow and buy a biography about him too. Painter Crow is in the field instead of in his office. He and Gray are trying prevent some major volcanic eruptions. They are also trying to foil a Guild plan too but I can't say anymore without spoiling it for the reader. I liked the Native American theme also. Hank, Kai, and Jordan are good characters. I hope that Hank will be a recurring character in the future. The ending is different in this Sigma book. A tragedy occurs which is so sad for one of the characters. The ending is exciting and kept me up late reading. I like Seichin, and if you are a fan of hers, she is in this book quite a bit. The end scene with Seichin and Gray is really good. If you are a Sigma Force reader, this is one you will really like. If not, you will become a James Rollins fan when you read this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    great reading

    I love this book read it and want to read it again. Good if u r into good suspense books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Must read!

    First, to everyone who did not read this book and gave it a poor rating because of the price, you need to know that James Rollins has no say over the price. That is completely up to his publisher. Ratings and reviews do matter to authors. If you don't like the book after you have read it, you certainly have the right to say so, but it is low class and ignorant to damage an author's rating because you don't like the publisher's price. I LOVED this book. The Devil Colony has the perfect balance of description and action. Rollins' scientific and historical research is solid, and he never once distracted me with unnecessary backstory or mistaken facts. He took me to the edge with tension, but he never made me feel like I'd been fed through a melodramatic wood chipper. Also, his amazing plot twists kept me turning pages, and they were all totally logical. I think my favorite thing about Rollins' writing is his true gift for thinking in opposing points of view, which allows him to produce distinct and dynamic characters, with even "extra crew members" who are as real and alive as the mains. This is the first Sigma Force novel I've read, and I can't wait to read the rest. James Rollins is the master of scientific thrillers. Five stars!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I have read all the Sigma books and love the action and history in each. Great reads. Pick them up in order just cause.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    After a two year wait reading the Devil Colony was like getting back in touch with a great group of friends you hate to be without.

    Yeah waiting two years for the next Sigma novel by James Rollins was disappointing, but well worth the wait. I've read all of his books multiple times and he just keeps getting better and better each time out. With his latest effort he takes the Sigma team to new heights and places while basically keeping them at home for this mission. To make it even better he continues to evolve Seichans character while keeping her both complex and mysterious. It's just hard to give Rollins enough credit. In this particular outing he keeps Painter as one of the lead characters in the field which is a throwback to "Sandstorm". Gray, Monk, Kat and Seichan work on the mission from other locations in conjunction with Painters efforts. At the backdrop of this story the Guild organization gets brought back in as a main player and in the end Rollins gives Sigma and us more insight into their organization and background while still leaving plenty of questions going into future novels. Withough giving away specifics I will say that at the end of this book Rollins leaves Gray, Monk and Painter in a pretty dark place. Seichan is still trying to figure things out and is still confused and torn in regards to Gray. I can't wait to see where Rollins takes Sigma next. As great as his storytelling has become and as adept as he is at action and adventure writing he continues to impress on how well he researches his factual subject matter and incorporates it into fiction writing. In addition it is remarkable at how well he has become at developing his characters. He truly is a great writer at the top of his game. I can't recommend him and his books highly enough.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rollins never fsils to deliver!!!

    Action packed! It was great to get back to my old friends Painter Crowe, Grayson Pierce, the rest of the Sigma Force and, yes, even Seichen!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    You won't want to put it down...

    Fans of historical fiction and/or Founding Fathers will love this book. The author does a great job of weaving past and present as well as history and technology. The characters have depth and chemistry.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Classic Rollins

    If there is one Author I can count on to give me a good read it is James Rollins. I've devoured everything he has ever written. I don't usually like serials, so when he began the sigma series I got worried, but each books stories is unique and thoughtful enough to stand on its own, while bringing in characters we love. In Devils Colony, he again blends past facts and scince with ficition seamlessly enough to be beliveable. Please keep em coming ;) PS - buy the Sechein short story and read it first, its not necesary, but worth it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Must Read!

    This is an excellent book. I have enjoyed all the Sigma Force books and this one did not disappoint. It is a perfect combination of adventure, suspense and history. I highly recommend this book. To the people who give a lower rating due to the price, that is not what the rating system is for. It is to rate the content of the book. Also, if you bother to go to the store and check prices, you will find that the Nook prices are cheaper that the actual book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Idiots who complain

    Why are you people complaining about the price! Buy it for the love of reading, or borrow it from a friend. James Rollins is an amazing writer and you shouldn't be ruining his review because of the price. You people are pathetic.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love James Rollins' books and can't wait to read this one. the Sigma force series just keeps me wanting more.

    James Rollins is a must read. His Sigma Force Series is one of the best, along with Steve Berry, Lincoln and Child, and a few other authors out there. I highly recommend the read. and if you the rest of you complain about the cost of books or ebooks go to the Library they are free. as for myself I am a book collector and have the books available for a reread.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Highly recommend, but.....

    Please don't blame BN for the book cost it is out of their control. If your have a problem with the cost, as I do, contact the publisher. If enough of us do we may see FTC step in action.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Been waiting for this one to come out!

    I agree with LANDSHARKPILOT'S review! Rate the book, not the price! Nook price is still cheaper than buying the newly released hardcover version!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Love all his books won't buy from nook!

    my whole family reads all his work. He truly is a talented author that always delivers a stay up to late page turner that you can't put down. I WILL buy this book but Not FROM NOOK! It really is ridculous to pay more for a ebook than the hardcover price. I was poised to buy this and a few other books to take to our cabin for forth of July, instead I'll pick up a few books at Costco for less and have something to leave in the library for future guests.

    Praise the author and give the rating based on his work but it is entirely APPROPRIATE to speak out against nooks failure to honor their commitment to provide ebboks at a lower price.

    Thank you for the time to read this- a sincere j rollins
    fan

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    JUST BUY THE HARDCOVER - THE NOOK PRICE IS A JOKE!!!!!!!

    First just let me say that the book was great. The big problem is the price. I thought the NOOK was going to be cheaper. Its only cheaper by a few cents. I think the NOOK is a good product but ,if I can get the hardcover in my hand and have the ability the give it to some of my friends why wouldnt I. All I have at the end of the day is a couple of megabytes of data. It cost them nothing to send it to me. So whats the deal with the price. I can understand the hardcover price. IM GETTING SOMETHING FOREVER. Not a file on a store server that could go out of business in a few years. LETS JUST SAY THAT IM DONE WITH THE NOOK UNTIL SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THE PRICING. PENNIES DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE THE NOOK AND HARDCOVER. JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Yippee for Sigma!!!

    I have been waiting for this book to come out for a long time and it was worth it!!! There are a lot of personal issues going on w/in the Sigma team during this novel & it gives a better depth to the characters. I loved the way Rollins tied in the Mormons w/the Native Americans and of course I'm fascinated by the geology. Make sure to read the Skeleton Key. Now that I have reviewed, I would like to take the opportunity to say that those who have reviewed the book w/out reading it do a great disservice to James Rollins. Do you expect to read the book for free? If so, then go to the library and reserve a copy. If you don't like the price of the Nookbook, then Get a Kindle; if you don't like the price of the Kindle book, then go to the library, borrow a friend's copy or wait until you find the book in a used bookstore. I know everyone is entitled their 2 cents, but pulling ratings down because of the book price, which is not the author's fault, is not right.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Worth every penny!

    So alot of people are complaining because the ebook is the same as the hardback books. Well, are you enjoying it any less in ebook form? And you will enjoy this book! The best Rollins so far, and if you've read any of his prior work, you know what a compliment that is! You will not be able to put this book down! The thrills start on page one and will notletup until the end. A must read!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 483 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25