Customer Reviews for

The Devil Colony (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4
( 483 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Best. Novel. Yet.

Over the years, I've written a lot of enthusiastic things about the novels of James Rollins. But until now, I've never written this: THE DEVIL COLONY IS THE BEST NOVEL THAT JAMES ROLLINS HAS EVER WRITTEN! (Yes, in all caps even!) Like many readers, I was disappointe...
Over the years, I've written a lot of enthusiastic things about the novels of James Rollins. But until now, I've never written this: THE DEVIL COLONY IS THE BEST NOVEL THAT JAMES ROLLINS HAS EVER WRITTEN! (Yes, in all caps even!) Like many readers, I was disappointed in the two-year wait for this latest installment in the Sigma Force series. Now, I'm thinking perhaps he should take two years on all the novels-I don't know if it was the extra time, but something has paid off huge dividends.

As always, summarizing the story is the hardest part. First, because I'd hate to spoil any surprises. And secondly, because it's just really hard to summarize one of Rollins's everything-but-the-kitchen-sink plots. The main action of this book opens in present day Utah. From two boys who can't resist the lure of the forbidden, a great and terrible discovery is made at a sacred Native American site. There are bodies. There is an artifact. And, astonishingly, something that goes to the very core of Mormon theology!

Just as the scientists on site are beginning to grasp what they've discovered, there is a huge explosion. The explosion is blamed on a Native American activist, but it's clear that this wasn't your standard bomb. It's something far more dangerous, with implications that spread further and further afield, and which drag Sigma operatives into the story on differing assignments and for different reasons. All the usual suspects are back, including the enigmatic Seichan, who is again paired in an uneasy alliance with Gray Pierce. Painter Crowe is also back in the field this time around. Operatives from the Guild are up to their usual tricks, and even as readers learn more about the shadowy organization in this novel, new questions are raised for the next book. (It's infuriating how he does that.)

In provocative messages leading up to the publication of The Devil Colony, James Rollins repeated asked, "Was America founded on a lie?" The plot of this novel does get right to the heart of the formation of this country. What were Lewis and Clark really up to? What was Thomas Jefferson communicating in secret ciphers? It also explains the fate of some of the most mysteriously lost cultures through history. It delves into the not only the most cutting-edge technology, but also some amazingly advanced ancient technology. And, yes, it also explores the foundation of the Mormon Church. Oh, and there's a super-volcano! And killer whales! And the heist of all heists!

Seriously, I could go on like this all day. The scope of this novel is breath-taking. What's amazing is that Rollins pulls all of these diverse threads together so plausibly that you'll find yourself wondering if he has indeed solved half the puzzles of the ages in one fell swoop. As always, there's a staggering amount of fact laced throughout his fantastic plot. It's enough to make you go, "Hmmm."

The pace starts to race early on, and it just never slows down. The stakes in the book simply get bigger and bigger. Technically, it's a well-structured page-turner. But in the end, it's the story that got me and held me. Every part of it was just so inventive, exciting, and so darn interesting! I entitled this review "Best. Novel. Yet." I don't anticipate Mr. Rollins topping The Devil Colony any time soon, but I hold out hope. He wrote this one. What wonderful tales can we look forward to in the future?

posted by Susan_Tunis on June 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

the retards below should be banned from posting reviews

And I would not normally review a book not read, but when you see a dozen ying yangs givingh reviews of a book because they do not like a price Branes & Nobles sets, well they are too stupid to be allowed to post reviews

posted by Flal on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    great reading

    I love this book read it and want to read it again. Good if u r into good suspense books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Rollins never fsils to deliver!!!

    Action packed! It was great to get back to my old friends Painter Crowe, Grayson Pierce, the rest of the Sigma Force and, yes, even Seichen!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    You won't want to put it down...

    Fans of historical fiction and/or Founding Fathers will love this book. The author does a great job of weaving past and present as well as history and technology. The characters have depth and chemistry.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    Love all his books won't buy from nook!

    my whole family reads all his work. He truly is a talented author that always delivers a stay up to late page turner that you can't put down. I WILL buy this book but Not FROM NOOK! It really is ridculous to pay more for a ebook than the hardcover price. I was poised to buy this and a few other books to take to our cabin for forth of July, instead I'll pick up a few books at Costco for less and have something to leave in the library for future guests.

    Praise the author and give the rating based on his work but it is entirely APPROPRIATE to speak out against nooks failure to honor their commitment to provide ebboks at a lower price.

    Thank you for the time to read this- a sincere j rollins
    fan

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    JUST BUY THE HARDCOVER - THE NOOK PRICE IS A JOKE!!!!!!!

    First just let me say that the book was great. The big problem is the price. I thought the NOOK was going to be cheaper. Its only cheaper by a few cents. I think the NOOK is a good product but ,if I can get the hardcover in my hand and have the ability the give it to some of my friends why wouldnt I. All I have at the end of the day is a couple of megabytes of data. It cost them nothing to send it to me. So whats the deal with the price. I can understand the hardcover price. IM GETTING SOMETHING FOREVER. Not a file on a store server that could go out of business in a few years. LETS JUST SAY THAT IM DONE WITH THE NOOK UNTIL SOMETHING IS DONE ABOUT THE PRICING. PENNIES DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE THE NOOK AND HARDCOVER. JOKE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Must Read

    The long wait for the return of sigma force did not disappoint. I felt the book's focus on Painter Crowe and Gray Pierce simultaneously was terrific. Loved Crowe from the Sandstorm days, and Pierce's character is now really developing. Excellent Read. Can't wait for another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Cheaper e books

    Look i think at the very least an e book (one that has no paper publishing or distrabution fees should, at the very least be less expensive than the paperback. seriously why did i buy my nook color?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    Mostly a good read

    I liked the tie in to history and/or real life possibilities even when these re somewhat far fetched. If you like Cussler, you will like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    I recommend this book, it's an entertaining read.

    I enjoyed reading the Devil Colony, the writer was descriptive of the characters and kept the reading exciting. Very good action , and locations around the world. thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Great read

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Recommend.

    Interesting adventure/mystery. Smart! Will read the entire Sigma series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    great rollins book mc

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Great Read!

    I've devoured the entire series, Really fun to read although some of the scenarios are preposterous. If you want some pure escapism with a slight historical, science backround pick up this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Classic Sigma Force

    I've read all of the Sigma Force novels to date now...and Devil Colony follows the same formula that keeps me coming back. It isn't a piece of literature that's going to change your life, but the Sigma books are all interesting reads that provide good entertainment. I hope he keeps them coming...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Great! Couldnt put it down!

    Lots of twists and turns. Always keeps you interested in what is on the next page...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Makes One REALLY Wonder

    There is so much in this book that I wanted to check the facts for, that I didn't know where to start. This was lots of fun from start to finish! Who would link the Bible, Native Americans, Mormons, information on earthquakes and volcanoes, and a murder mystery this well but James Rollins. This was a thoroughly enjoyable read that makes me want to find out is there REALLY Hebrew-like script in petroglyphs in the Southwest? Are Cherokees related to African cultures? Could there be a REAL threat of volcanoes erupting in Yellowstone and elsewhere throughout the Southwest? What do we REALLY know about the "plates" that began the religion of the "Mormons"? Wow! This was fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Surprise, surprise

    Surprised with this author....Well done and I will for sure read all the other novels....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story!

    A really great story by Rollins. Keeps you interested throughout the entire adventure. Recommend to anyone who enjoys Rollins or Berry for tech/history/adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Always worth reading

    Have yet to be disappointed in reading a Sigma Force storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    A bit of a disappointment

    James Rollins is one of my favorite authors, but I was not as satisfied with Devil Colony as I have been with his other Sigma Force books. The main problem for me was the fact that the book spent so much time giving history lectures, and not enough time with the action scenes. Some of the history facts were very interesting, but I missed the energy Rollins created in his previous books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7