Customer Reviews for

The Devil Inside (Morgan Kingsley Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 141 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Devil Inside

I enjoyed this book. I picked it on a whim, having never heard of the author. I like her main character Morgan. So far she comes across as a strong, confident woman. We'll see how her character develops as the series continues. This book was a fun read. The story-l...
I enjoyed this book. I picked it on a whim, having never heard of the author. I like her main character Morgan. So far she comes across as a strong, confident woman. We'll see how her character develops as the series continues. This book was a fun read. The story-line is unique and the plot twists kept me reading throughout the night until the book was finished. I'm looking forward to the next book in series.

posted by melburg1 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

NOT recommended

Wow. So the 1st third of this was OK, decent world building, plot, etc. Then Adam is introduced and the random, violent, and irrelevant to the plot M/M-sex ensues. I guess it was supposed to be erotica but it's presented in such an off-putting manner that I pretty mu...
Wow. So the 1st third of this was OK, decent world building, plot, etc. Then Adam is introduced and the random, violent, and irrelevant to the plot M/M-sex ensues. I guess it was supposed to be erotica but it's presented in such an off-putting manner that I pretty much ended up loathing almost every character. Adam is creepy and Morgan was a spine-less idiot. The scene in the black room between the two of them and the ensuing morning after pretty much read like a rape scene to me and I just couldn't stand either of them after that and almost stopped reading. I skimmed through the rest of the book until the last 20 pages or so that had decent wrap up of the barely-there plot.

posted by Sandra027 on December 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2007

    Well Done!

    Let me preface all of this by saying I LOVED this. I sat down and read it all in one day. But I don't think everyone will love it. It deals with tough issues of religion and sex, and there are some difficult scenes. All of them are very well done and treated expertly, but they're still hard to read sometimes. At the core, I think this is a story about power more than anything-- power in human relationships and power between our realm and the Demon Realm. What I appreciated most about the book was how Morgan's struggle with the 'higher powers' (demons, in this case) mirrors a religious struggle: Morgan can't decide if it's heroic or stupid to let a higher power take over. Sure it makes you stronger, but are you still you? If you're willing to explore some tough issues you may not have given much thought to, and have a wild Urban Fantasy ride at the same time, you'll really enjoy The Devil Inside.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous urban fantasy

    In Topeka on a job, kick demon butt professional exorcist Morgan Kingsley is embarrassed to find Lugh heir to the demon kingdom residing inside her. She wants to get rid of him, but has no earthly idea how to do it safely as the two options are between death and lobotomy.------------ Lugh is also unsure how he entered his hostess, but knows she has a strong human aura that keeps him somewhat under control. He only communicates with her when she is sleeping. However, after Morgan¿s denial and fooling her expert peers re possession, Lugh through her dreams persuades Morgan they need to work together. He explains they must learn how his opponents transplanted him inside of her without either aware of it happening and how to get him out without harming her although in his mind if he escapes her, she is expendable. As his demonic adversaries want him dead due to his radical position on human possession, the easy way to accomplish this is killing Morgan.------------- This is a fabulous urban fantasy in which the Black world filled with demons, possessions, laws, and special prisons make for an exhilarating thriller. Morgan will entertain the troops although somewhat a comic book heroine similar to Lara Craft she is especially at her best when she rages at the humiliation of an exorcist being possessed. Fans of an offbeat but wildly enjoyable tale starring a take no prisoners heroine will want to read the DEVIL INSIDE, as the title is literally apropos.--------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2015

    When I first read this book, I wasn't sure if I was going to lik

    When I first read this book, I wasn't sure if I was going to like it, But as I kept turning the pages I loved reading how Morgan found out about the demon that was living inside her and how she grew to like him. In spite of everything, I could not put this but down until I finished it! And I loved it!!!!! Then I was searching for the second one! it was that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Highly Recommened- So different and exciting!

    This is an awesome book with a very unique plot line. I highly Recommened checking it out! The characters are great and different! X

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Silence

    Buy see u in like a month....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A different kind of Book

    Jenna Black took a topic that most peeps would not think of. Exorcism is one of those topics. Morgan is an exorcist who has a demon inside her and she doesn't even know it. Her aura is so strong that he can not posses her when she is awake. So when she sleeps he takes over and she finds notes to herself. And she freaks. Morgan goes to a friend to have her aura checked and it's clean. That is how powerful Morgan is. When her friend tries to kill her, she knows that something is up and needs to find answers. And she finds them in odd people.

    Her Demon is a royal in the demon world and HOT to boot. So now Morgan has to choose between her illegal demon and gettin her life back.

    This is a great read for something off the beaten path. I'm glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2008

    Creative and page-turning

    This book had plenty of ideas that made me uncomfortable and also made the skin crawl. But it was so well written that I kept turning the pages anxious to see what happened next. The characters are likable (in spite of themselves sometimes) and unique. I can't wait for the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Original!

    I absolutely loved everything about this book. Can't wait for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    REALLY REALLY FANTASTIC

    Jenna Black is a fantastic author.In the book the devil inside, has so much thrill it kept me going all night trying to geuss whats going to happen next.I love how this book had so much paranormal romance in it thats what kept me going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3