BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Devil May Care (James Bond 007 Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

A great book if you are into the 007 stories

posted by Anonymous on February 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't Wait to Put It Down!

A travel guide with no plot. Sebastian really 'Faulks' up the Bond legacy.

posted by Anonymous on July 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Awesome

    A great book if you are into the 007 stories

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mr Faulks Hits All the Right Marks!

    I've read a few of the Ian Flemming novels and fially decided to pick up this book since the original James Bond novels were not available. Overall I enjoyed the book. It did remind me of the Ian Flemming style and had all the elements of a Bond novel: egotistical bad guy, quirky henchman, beautiful babe, thrills and spills, exotic locations, techno gadgets (mostly by the bad guys) and a double cross here and there. Some folks have their complaints (i.e. Bond playing tennis, M asking for chocolates, etc). But to me that is nicpicking. Bond is Bond whatever he does he always does very well. I was quickly drawn into the whole spy adventure and thoroughly enjoyed it. If you are looking to get inot Bond again, don't miss the opportunity to read "Devil May Care"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    ....writing as Ian Flemming...

    Might be a ok book to read while traveling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Couldn't Wait to Put It Down!

    A travel guide with no plot. Sebastian really 'Faulks' up the Bond legacy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Figure

    Tell Fin to ignore the ugly girl that keeps getting in the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Sits up im going to rape a girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Bell

    Exactly. sleepover. P.s. if chu get yourself killed imma gonna march over there and kill chu a second time! Luz chu babe tells me all about it! Climb walmart for meh get kick outta the zoo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    Good Bond novel

    For those that love James Bond novels this is very well written and worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    My mom and i LOVE the james bond books and movies!

    At the end of all the james bond movies james always has sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Fun journey ...

    A short read but caprivating and layered richly with lots of trademark Bond sophistication.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Very exciting

    I enjoyed this book very much, and was happy to see Felix and Mathis again. Felix had a very trying time here. I felt bad for James when M wanted him to meet the new 009.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Read only if you're a Bond fanatic.

    Not up to the usual standards of most Bond novels. Too predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    meh...

    a little too modern for a james bond book, read thr sample to see what i mean, some people will like it but i didnt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Time Before Islamic Terrorism

    This was definitely an enjoyable read. It gave me the flavor of the original Ian Fleming series but with the style of author Faulks. There also seemed to be a hint of more of James Bond's psychology being presented but never too much. This reminds an action story and a fairly good one at that. We are taken back to a time in the early 1960's when the CIA and the British secret service are not all that trusting of each other. This is the bothersome early years of the Vietnam War in which America fights on alone with no allies. And the demon heroin and drug addiction is being used to wreck the moral and physical strength of a nation by a crazed sociopath. It is a time before 911 and Bin Laden. More a time of torturers who learned their bloody trade in the years of War War II and the post-colonial collapse of England and France.
    There are fast cars and chases with interesting twists and turns in the plot that make this smooth sailing. The plot locations are excellent and the food and drink and other references are fun and send one to your foreign language dictionary. Don't forget the wild machines (really tame and realistic) and the final scenes of fighting and mayhem which always were first-rate in the James Bond books. I think you will find this story up to that standard. Give it a whirl and hope for more books in the series. Give the younger readers a taste of what we enjoyed in our youth before the fantastic excesses of the Bond movie industry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not quite Ian, but tolerable.

    I will admit it; I am a fan of Ian Fleming. I have all of his 007 novels and prefer them to any of the movies (the newer Casino Royale is the exception). This book is not up to the Fleming novels, for the improbable reason that it is too Ian Fleming. I think that he should include more of his own talent and it wouldn't seem quite as flat. I have the same comment for those who write Sherlock Holmes stories like AC Doyle (Laurie King is a great example of someone who doesn't attempt to write in the original style, but still writes great novels). However, this book is an order of magnitude better than some of the movie novelizations I've seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not For The Fleming Purist

    May 28th, 2008 would have been Ian Fleming's 100th birthday. To celebrate, Ian Fleming Productions released a brand new James Bond novel, Devil May Care. Since Fleming's passing in 1964 several authors have carried the torch, keeping the world's most celebrated spy alive and in print. The latest penman comes in the form of Sebastian Faulks (Charlotte Gray, The Fatal Englishman). Interestingly enough the book is advertised as Sebastian Faulks writing as Ian Fleming.
    Unlike the James Bond novels of the 80's written by John Gardner or of the 90's written by Raymond Benson, Devil May Care picks up where Ian Fleming left off, the 1960's during the height of the cold war. We find agent 007 on a three month ordered sabbatical to recoup after the events chronicled in 'The Man With The Golden Gun' (best cronicled by Kingsley Amis in 'Colonel Sun'. Upon completion of the three months James Bond is to make a decision on his future as a British spy. He doesn't get much of a chance to make a decision when his superior M orders him back to duty to shadow a Dr. Julius Gorner, a lord in the pharmaceutical field. Gorner's opiate derivatives have become popular in the British culture and the government believes that it is only the front to a scheme that could lead to global catastrophe.
    Faulks delivers Bond with his usual creature comforts, lethal weaponry, gorgeous women, and destruction at a maximum level. The action heats up quickly in Devil May Care when an English aircraft goes missing over Iraq. These events and others lead 007 to battle for his life against a greed driven maniac who will push James Bond to his limits.
    Devil May Care will satisfy spy novel aficionados with its suspense and hard boiled espionage. While the story is engaging, Faulks is often guilty of trying too hard to emulate the writing style of Ian Fleming. The, more than often, references to famous Bond villains and previous adventures come across forced and somewhat stale, while persistently reminding us that we are in the 1960's with references to The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. Also Faulks fails to capture the descriptive prowess of Fleming that made many of the character in the world of James Bond larger than life.
    Devil May Care is a good addition to the James Bond canon. Sebastian Faulks is no Ian Fleming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    Great Cover and Very Exciting Novel, I highly recommend it!

    The reason why I love the cover is because Dominika van Santen, former Top Model of the World is on it, she is absolutely beautiful and amazing and the photographer and designer did a great job as well. The book and the story is also excellent and I highly recommend it! Two Thumbs Up!!!! Now I see why it is a "New York Times Bestseller".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    Love the Cover as well as the book

    The reason why I love the cover is because Dominika van Santen, former Top Model of the World is on it, she is absolutely beautiful and amazing and the photographer and designer did a great job as well. The book and the story is also excellent and I highly recommend it! Two Thumbs Up!!!! Now I see why it is a New York Times Bestseller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Devil May Care

    It is impossible to recapture the true Fleming style; Sebastian Faulks no more writes as Fleming as Raymond Benson does (or John Gardner). That really isn't much of a criticism, given Fleming's well-deserved reputation. Unfortunately, Faulks leaves out the Fleming style altogether, giving us a semi-chaste Bond who drinks and eats more than he seduces, whines more than he shoots, and just plain lacks the elegant savagery we associate with the world's most famous spy (a post-heroic Bond is not a very engaging chap). The plot is loosely constructed and makes little sense, and both the villain (Dr. Julius Gorner) and the henchman (Chagrin) are shallow, derivative creations. Bond girl (Scarlett Papava?? Ugh.) gets too much attention for what emerges as a rather obvious reason. A drawn out conclusion and weak "twist" finally put the book to bed, something you will be ready to do the moment you pick it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    You love the movies? Better love the books.

    Being an avid lover of the movies (Connery, Brosnan, Craig only), well, it wont help you in the books. It may have inspired you to pick this particular book up - it did for me, though my only other reading experience was with Casino Royale. But, to be honest, you need more than just a Bond movie fanaticism. You need first to have read at least one of the original Fleming books, or understand that the Bond from the movies is not the Bond from the books. The fundamentals are there - he enjoys fine foods and an almost insatiable appetite for spirits. He enjoys women, gentlemen's sports, games of chance, and can be a cold, detached, and relentless conspirator and killer. There are gadgets, but of the dreadfully realistic variety - hidden knives, listening and tracking devices, modified cameras, and all of them not straining the suspension of disbelief. He has his enemies, they have their henchmen, though their methods and ambitions tend to be less extravagant than their movie counterparts. It is the attention to the book Bond that help Mr. Faulks succeed brilliantly in this latest adventure. While he clearly abides by Fleming's format, down to the smallest details, he demonstrates that he has more than an imitator's understanding. He earns the right to portray Bond on the page, helping the character retain his cool, his charm, and his passion (whether he's wooing or killing), and avoids making him just a two dimensional representation of movie Bond. The story is richly detailed if a trifle slow in spots. It can be a bit predictable, but only in the way that every Bond fan knows there's going to be a fierce chase, a beautiful woman, a battle of wills, a capture, horrible torture, daring escape, and the final showdown in which our hero wins victorious, if at great expense. One aspect of the novel which felt a trifle cliche even in the Bond universe were the deformity of the villains, Dr. Gorner and the appropriately named Chagrin. The former has an afflicted, monkey-like left hand, and the latter is a messy psychopath and brain surgery experiment. Even these can be forgiven since, if I may wax philosophical, Bond villains represent the external monstrosity where Bond himself represents the monster within. In all it was a fast, exciting read, filled with characters you know and love, whether from previous books or the movie series. Truly a worthwhile purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4