Customer Reviews for

The Devil Wears Plaid

Average Rating 4
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A WONDERFUL HISTORICAL ROMANCE SET IN SCOTLAND!

THE DEVIL WEARS PLAID by Teresa Medieros is a wonderful historical romance set in Scotland. It is well written with details, depth, fast paced and a page turner. It has romance, sensuality, intrigue, adventure, retribution, betrayal,secrets,Highlanders, English bride, f...
THE DEVIL WEARS PLAID by Teresa Medieros is a wonderful historical romance set in Scotland. It is well written with details, depth, fast paced and a page turner. It has romance, sensuality, intrigue, adventure, retribution, betrayal,secrets,Highlanders, English bride, friendship, tragedy, full of passion, a feud between two rival Highland lairds, and family. The characters are enchanting, interesting, strong, determined and full of passion. The hero, Jamie, is handsome, dangerous, a Sinclair,and the grandson of a Hepburn.He is determined to find justice for the death of his parents by who he believes killed them, a Hepburn. He be lives he is illegitimate, been told the Hepburn's killed both of his parents, wants retribution and finds out all he thought was true was not. The heroine, Emma, is defiant, beautiful, although some think she is homely with her freckles, and dark skin, high spirited and determined to fulfill her family's obligation. She is betrothed to the old Hepburn laid but is kidnapped by Jamie Sinclair the day of the wedding for Ransom. What follows is an adventure, passion, finding what is truly important and fulfilling your dream of happiness. Emma learns the truth of Jamie's existence, by mistake, she shares it with Jamie and everything he thought was right and truth is proved to be a lie. This is a wonderful story of true love, passion, forgiveness, and finding happiness. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy Scottish love stories, high octane adventure, passion and determination to make things right. This book was received for review from Good Reads and details can be found at Simon and Schuster and My Book Addiction and More

posted by AAR on October 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointed

Teresa Medeiros is one of my favorite romance authors, a writer who embraces the genre and gives readers everything they want when they wander into the romance aisle: a strong yet tender hero, a fiery and interesting heroine, a compelling setup, interesting secondary ch...
Teresa Medeiros is one of my favorite romance authors, a writer who embraces the genre and gives readers everything they want when they wander into the romance aisle: a strong yet tender hero, a fiery and interesting heroine, a compelling setup, interesting secondary characters and great sex. Which is why I was so disappointed by her latest effort, "The Devil Wears Plaid." The book gave me a hint of all the things Medeiros does well, but I couldn't lose myself in the characters and scenarios like I usually do. The book felt rushed, as if Medeiros didn't have the time to fully invest herself in the characters or scenarios, either. I wonder if someone can expect quality when quantity seems to be the emphasis of both authors and publishers? I would much prefer to see fewer books from my favorite authors and for those books to represent the highest quality of their writing.

posted by GabriellaL on September 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    Very disappointed

    Teresa Medeiros is one of my favorite romance authors, a writer who embraces the genre and gives readers everything they want when they wander into the romance aisle: a strong yet tender hero, a fiery and interesting heroine, a compelling setup, interesting secondary characters and great sex. Which is why I was so disappointed by her latest effort, "The Devil Wears Plaid." The book gave me a hint of all the things Medeiros does well, but I couldn't lose myself in the characters and scenarios like I usually do. The book felt rushed, as if Medeiros didn't have the time to fully invest herself in the characters or scenarios, either. I wonder if someone can expect quality when quantity seems to be the emphasis of both authors and publishers? I would much prefer to see fewer books from my favorite authors and for those books to represent the highest quality of their writing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    A WONDERFUL HISTORICAL ROMANCE SET IN SCOTLAND!

    THE DEVIL WEARS PLAID by Teresa Medieros is a wonderful historical romance set in Scotland. It is well written with details, depth, fast paced and a page turner. It has romance, sensuality, intrigue, adventure, retribution, betrayal,secrets,Highlanders, English bride, friendship, tragedy, full of passion, a feud between two rival Highland lairds, and family. The characters are enchanting, interesting, strong, determined and full of passion. The hero, Jamie, is handsome, dangerous, a Sinclair,and the grandson of a Hepburn.He is determined to find justice for the death of his parents by who he believes killed them, a Hepburn. He be lives he is illegitimate, been told the Hepburn's killed both of his parents, wants retribution and finds out all he thought was true was not. The heroine, Emma, is defiant, beautiful, although some think she is homely with her freckles, and dark skin, high spirited and determined to fulfill her family's obligation. She is betrothed to the old Hepburn laid but is kidnapped by Jamie Sinclair the day of the wedding for Ransom. What follows is an adventure, passion, finding what is truly important and fulfilling your dream of happiness. Emma learns the truth of Jamie's existence, by mistake, she shares it with Jamie and everything he thought was right and truth is proved to be a lie. This is a wonderful story of true love, passion, forgiveness, and finding happiness. I would highly recommend this book especially if you enjoy Scottish love stories, high octane adventure, passion and determination to make things right. This book was received for review from Good Reads and details can be found at Simon and Schuster and My Book Addiction and More

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Impressed!

    Ok, usually I love her bookds, but this one was just not good at all! I was very disappointed on the storyline. For me, it seemed like there was no chemistry at all between the hero and heroine. I wish she would have developed their relationship and characters a little deeper. I read this book front to back, but I have no clue what actually happened because it is a very dull book. Hopefully, her next one is better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Historical Romance

    This book is a fun historical romance. Light and fun and full of roguish romance. It starts out in the typical way. Man steals woman to make another suffer, man finds woman surprisingly attractive, woman finds man surprisingly attractive, both find themselves in each others arms and win over the bad man she was about to be married. Now, yes, I did just basically tell you the story, but that formula is as old as perhaps the castle under contention. :) What I liked about this story is that the woman has her own mind and finds strength within her capture. Even though she does rely on Jamie's physical prowess to keep her safe, her wits and inner strength keep her up to the challenge of a bunch of burly men and the highland wilderness. Yes, I liked Emma. She was a good match for Jamie. You don't always find that within these types of stories. I also loved Jamie although there were times I could hit him over the head for being so stubborn.

    All in all I give this book 4 stars. It's a fun, light historical romance. If you love a roguish man in a kilt, sexy time in an abandoned church you will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    readers will appreciate Teresa Medeiros' skills to make her story line fresh, exuberant, and entertaining.

    Having left gentle Lancaster for the harsh Highlands, Emmaline Marlowe's choices are simple. She either marries someone she does not want to or her father goes to debtor prison. Thus Emmaline is at the church about to wed the Hepburn clan laird, a man older than her father.

    Stunning everyone at the church, Jamie Sinclair rides inside the holy edifice and grabs Emmaline before riding away with her. Jamie is not abducting Emmaline for altruistic reasons. Instead he and the Hepburn clan are enemies; he plans to use the chief's fiancée as an expendable discard in his scheme to avenge what they did to him. However, he quickly wonders who the captive is as the feisty Emmaline rejects being any man's throwaway though she must say I do to save her father.

    The Devil Wears Plaid is an exciting Highlander historical romance starring the first of the "E" sisters and the rogue who abducted her. Emmaline proves energetic and courageous rather than the weak person her capturer anticipated. Although they fall in love (Stockholm syndrome aside), she knows her mission is to save her father (and the rest of the family) so she leaves. Although the premise has been used before many times; readers will appreciate Teresa Medeiros' skills to make her story line fresh, exuberant, and entertaining.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Cute story

    Really liked it-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    Not your usual Highland romance

    Sure it starts with a kidnapping which is standard scottish fair but this one has some really fun moments...loved when she shoved him in the tub and almost shot him! The hero is strong but kind and the heroine is fiesty and stubborn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Teresa Medeiros is a favorite for me

    AN INNOCENT WOMAN
    Emmaline Marlow is about to wed the extremely powerful laird of the Hepburn clan to save her father from debtor's prison when ruffian Jamie Sinclair bursts into the abbey on a magnificent black horse and abducts her in one strong swoop. Though he is Hepburn's sworn enemy, Emma's mysterious captor is everything her bridegroom is not--handsome, virile, dangerous...and a perilous temptation for her yearning heart.

    A DANGEROUS MAN
    Jamie expects Emma to be some milksop English miss, not a fiery, defiant beauty whose irresistible charms will tempt him at every turn. But he cannot allow either one of them to forget he is her enemy and she his pawn in the deadly Highland feud between the clans. Stealing his enemy's bride was simple, but can he claim her innocence without losing his heart?

    Emma makes the ultimate sacrifice for her family - to pay her father's debt, to save her sisters' future, and to ease her mother's worries - by marrying an eighty-year old Scotland clan leader who can solve all their problems, including overlooking Emma's tarnished past. On the day of her wedding, she gets snatched from the alter on horseback by an enemy clan leader and must now deal with sleeping under the stars on the Scottish moors, talking to brutish/vulgar Highlanders, and keeping secret her developing feelings for her sun-bronzed guard. When dark truths become known, can Emma's new life really be as simple as black & white and can the past be re-written through her freedom?

    Teresa Medeiros is a favorite for me since she was the first author who got me into reading romance. I devoured all of her books before I even got into the rest of the romance wonderland of authors I'm in now, thus all her new historical romances are a true joy for me! But enough about that . . . on to the book . . . and this was for sure a fun read. I love the style of this book and how the characters really come to life without being overly dramatic since there is lots of climatic action and thrilling revelations going on throughout. Emma is easy to like with her adorable innocence and stubborn selflessness, while Jamie is a natural heart-throb who portrays a perfect balance of compassion and perseverance. Together they heat up the pages, while the side characters add well to the overall story without overpowering the main leads - always a good thing! This is a great book for Fall, something to curl up with on the couch with a throw and all afternoon to devour - enjoy!!!

    Likes: Jealousy is always a thing of beauty in blooming relationships, it puts your feelings in the open - which is pretty evident in this book during Muira's cottage scenes. Fun! Fun!

    Dislikes: Jamie's grandfather on his father's side is dark and desperate . . . almost gruesomely so! But the shocking secret from Jamie's grandfather on his mother's side is just too tragic for my taste!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Sweet

    A really romantic and fun book,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    great read

    incredible story...loved it !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Really enjoyable read!!

    This was my first book read by Teresa Medeiros... I really enjoyed it. I thought it was an easy read, unable to put down kind of book. I liked the story line... enjoyed the characaters. It certainly makes me want to read more books by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Fantastic!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted September 30, 2011

    VERY HARD TO PUT DOWN

    LOVE TERESA'S STYLE OF WRITING. I LOVE THE SCOTTISH, ENGLISH THEME FOUND IN A LOT OF HER BOOKS. THIS ONE IS REALLY GOOD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7