Customer Reviews for

The Devil Wears Prada

Average Rating 4
( 659 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(256)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wayyy Better Than the Movie!

The characters on the book are much better than they are in the movie. Lots of scenarios are different. This is a good book to read on a long flight or a rainy day. There are plenty of "Oh, My Gosh!" moments and it will keep you interested until the very end.

posted by Tamara87 on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Watch the Movie instead!

I finally got around to renting the movie from the video store long after it left the new releases shelves and found it hilarious--so I was eager to pick up a copy of the book from my local library. As an avid reader, I almost always find the book to be ten times bette...
I finally got around to renting the movie from the video store long after it left the new releases shelves and found it hilarious--so I was eager to pick up a copy of the book from my local library. As an avid reader, I almost always find the book to be ten times better than the movie because movies are limited by a number of parameters, namely "time."
That being said, this is one of those occasions where the movie is so much better than the book. The book was simply far too long, filled with page after page after page of endless errand running for a rude boss. We get it already! The movie was able to get the point across much more dramatically AND QUICKLY by simply showing the boss toss one coat after another (indicating day after day) onto her poor assistant's desk. There were simply too many times I dozed off reading this book, but I labored on. The endless complaints about the useless errand running also got to me after a while, to the point where I simply didn't like the main character all that much anymore. She didn't seem to have any self respect, and the explanation that she was doing this as a means to be able to pick anywhere she wanted to work after a year didn't seem plausible. Enough said--rent the movie.

posted by JustMyTwoCents on February 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 660 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    Watch the Movie instead!

    I finally got around to renting the movie from the video store long after it left the new releases shelves and found it hilarious--so I was eager to pick up a copy of the book from my local library. As an avid reader, I almost always find the book to be ten times better than the movie because movies are limited by a number of parameters, namely "time."<BR/>That being said, this is one of those occasions where the movie is so much better than the book. The book was simply far too long, filled with page after page after page of endless errand running for a rude boss. We get it already! The movie was able to get the point across much more dramatically AND QUICKLY by simply showing the boss toss one coat after another (indicating day after day) onto her poor assistant's desk. There were simply too many times I dozed off reading this book, but I labored on. The endless complaints about the useless errand running also got to me after a while, to the point where I simply didn't like the main character all that much anymore. She didn't seem to have any self respect, and the explanation that she was doing this as a means to be able to pick anywhere she wanted to work after a year didn't seem plausible. Enough said--rent the movie.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2006

    Lacked Depth

    I did quite enjoy this book but not one character was a rounded three dimensional character. Not at one point in the book do you ever find yourself rooting for Andy or feeling any kind of emotion for that matter. On the surface this book is a good with a good idea but that is just the problem the book remains surface.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inside the Fashion Industry

    Andrea Sachs, a recent college graduate, lands a job as an assistant to the editor in chief of Runway Magazine, Miranda Priesly. Little did she know that her boss would be the most demanding, overbearing, ruthless person in the world.

    The author's style in the novel is simplistic. The narrator is Andrea who takes the reader on a whirlwind adventure into her daily life. The plot line is predictable and the diction is colloquial. This book was entertaining due to the humorous language that the narrator uses.

    If you are a recent college grad or have been there before, you will be able to relate to Andrea. She struggles with making ends meet on a new college grad income while working in an industry that is obsessed with fashion and perfection. Andrea also learns some important lessons around friendship by letting fear dictate her work career because of how intimidating Miranda was with her. Her constant fear and 'marriage' to her work got in the way of her relationships. As a result, she lost some trust with her friends, broke up with her boyfriend, and weakened relations with her friends.

    Lauren Wiesberger graduated from Cornell University then moved to New York to pursue her career as a magazine writer. However, for six months prior to this, she spent time in Europe backpacking with her boyfriend. When she retuned from her trip she realized she had no money and no place to live. So she applied for an assistant position at Vogue magazine to the editor in chief. Her boss had bizarre, demanding requests and made her work like a mad woman to the point where she became isolated with the world around her. She eventualy quit the position and she became a freelance journalist. Lauren's own personal life is seen through the storyline in this book.

    This novel is an easy read book that has simplistic word choice. It is also an escape from the everyday kind of book. If you like fashion and humor The Devil Wears Prada is an excellent choice for you.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wayyy Better Than the Movie!

    The characters on the book are much better than they are in the movie. Lots of scenarios are different. This is a good book to read on a long flight or a rainy day. There are plenty of "Oh, My Gosh!" moments and it will keep you interested until the very end.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    I am working with her!

    She is not my direct boss, however, she was the boss of one of my very close friends... who... luckily for her has not only left the company, but the state! This person is the head of a one of the divisions of a world wide company... and calling her the Devil is being quite nice! I had to write something because of someone elses comment here that the book is unrealistic... you know... until you've walked a mile in there shoes??? Never say never! This book is so right on it's like it followed this evil woman around where I work. Just be happy the Devil isn't your boss... because she is alive and well in Orange County, California!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    And Armani, and Pucci, and . . .

    Some may or may not know, but THE DEVIL WEARS PRADA is about the editor of Vogue Magazine at Conde Nast. Okay, so they changed the names, etc, but it's still the same story, and as someone who worked at that company briefly, I can tell you that every word is true. In fact, I think Weisberger toned it down for purposes of telling the story and 'getting it out.' Frankly, no one would believe the horrendous things that go on in publishing, the movie business, and other areas that deal with media and making a buck. I was reminded more than once of two other books that deal with New York and the way things are messed up---BRIGHT LIGHTS, BIG CITY by McInnery, and KATZENJAMMER by McCrae---and while both are really good, THE DEVIL is more up-to-date. Then of course, there's the movie that's just come out. Duh! That doesn't hurt. At any rate, this is one book you should read if you want to know (and avoid) the publishing industry.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Miranda Priestly is the Devil

    I didn't get hooked until I was near the middle of 'The Devil Wears Prada', but I wasn't disappointed by the end.
    For a debut, Weisberger's book was fantastic.
    I can't believe Mrs. Priestly could be such a female dog, and that Andrea Sachs had to suffer for so long.
    I laughed so hard at the part where Andrea finally laid down the law, told Miranda to screw it, and basically lost her job.
    This provides a fresh take on the fashion journalism business, I think.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    A Boss to Avoid!

    I thought the book was hilarious and unimaginable to a certain extent while describing the idiosyncracies of Miranda Priestly.. a must read in your free time.. the description of the prada bags and jimmy choo shoes in 'The Closet' are fantastic!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Light-hearted and a fun, easy read.

    This book was a fun read and kept me entertained. It's not going to change your views about anything or make you smarter, but it is a nice little break from reality. Great book to take to the beach.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    You'll keep saying 'enough, already... get on with it'

    The problem with this book, although it is entertaining, is that it could just about be cut in half. We didn't need quite that many chapters to agree with how horrible the boss is to everyone. Any other aspect of the main character's life was so outnumbered by the Miranda stories that it didn't have much depth. Which, left the ending to seem succinct and missing something. I'm glad I read 'Everyone Worth Knowing' first because it was pretty much the same scene but more entertaining. I doubt I'll read Weisberger again- I'm just not into the pretentious, high society fluff.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Loved it and laughed the entire time!

    This was a great book about working for the meanest boss ever. I thought it was very funny. I really enjoyed and appreciated Andrea's wit and charm that she used to get her through each work day.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Fascinating

    Being a tomboy and loving sports, I secretly loved this book. While the movie is very different from the book, I found myself watching the movie repeatedly. Then I found out it was a book, and decided to give it a read. I could not put this book down. The writing was fun, but not watered down. I felt like I was in Andrea's shoes. It gives you a somewhat factual glimpse of the assistant life, depending on your boss. If you want to read something different, or you're into elaborate books (The Help, The Kite Runner...) read this!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    Movie was better!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Awesome book!!!

    The book is way better than the movie. Its way more detailed and its just all around a fun read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    the correct review

    no matter what anyone says, i was one of the first to read this book becasue i have never encountered anyone in my lifetime that is more obsessed with new york city, saratoga springs, and the fashion world as well as its surrounding culture. i immensly enjoyed this book and passed it along to many of my friends. this is probably my favorite books becasue it takes me back to being in new york.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Michael

    Michael have a dog he pla weth it evre day

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Loved it

    Hilarious

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Great.

    I've watched the movie, and both are definitley great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Devil Wears Prada By Lauren Weisberger Andrea Sachs has re

    The Devil Wears Prada
    By Lauren Weisberger

    Andrea Sachs has recently graduated college and is trying to find a job that will someday lead her to working for The New Yorker, when she is hired by the most exasperating and demanding woman on the face of the planet, Miranda Priestly. Throughout the novel Andrea is forced day after day to do increasingly demeaning tasks and sacrifice her relationships with everyone around her, when she begins to change into someone unrecognizable even to herself she decides enough is enough.

    The entire book is a satirical look at having a demanding boss which I am sure everyone can appreciate in one form or another. It&rsquo;s witty and well written the only fault I have with it is that Lauren Weisberger seems to have some problem with southern people and describes them as tasteless, the main character even belittles the fact that her sister and brother in law live in Houston and have started to speak with southern accents. I am not quite sure why she finds this necessary but coming from Texas, I didn&rsquo;t enjoy it whatsoever. It is completely unlike the movie which is a good thing I didn&rsquo;t particularly enjoy the movie, the ending of the book was very lacking however it almost feels as though it didn&rsquo;t end at all she just decided to quit writing. This is definitely a book you will have to read for yourself to see if you like it or not as for me it had its good points and it&rsquo;s bad so I am not even sure if I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    A great read

    The book was amazing. I wouldn't have changed a thing if my life depended on it. The author does an amazing job to make the reader feel like they are watching from the sidelines aand cheering the realistic charachters on. More than highly recomended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 660 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33