BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Devil Wears Prada

Average Rating 4
( 661 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(256)

4 Star

(191)

3 Star

(98)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wayyy Better Than the Movie!

The characters on the book are much better than they are in the movie. Lots of scenarios are different. This is a good book to read on a long flight or a rainy day. There are plenty of "Oh, My Gosh!" moments and it will keep you interested until the very end.

posted by Tamara87 on November 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Watch the Movie instead!

I finally got around to renting the movie from the video store long after it left the new releases shelves and found it hilarious--so I was eager to pick up a copy of the book from my local library. As an avid reader, I almost always find the book to be ten times bette...
I finally got around to renting the movie from the video store long after it left the new releases shelves and found it hilarious--so I was eager to pick up a copy of the book from my local library. As an avid reader, I almost always find the book to be ten times better than the movie because movies are limited by a number of parameters, namely "time."
That being said, this is one of those occasions where the movie is so much better than the book. The book was simply far too long, filled with page after page after page of endless errand running for a rude boss. We get it already! The movie was able to get the point across much more dramatically AND QUICKLY by simply showing the boss toss one coat after another (indicating day after day) onto her poor assistant's desk. There were simply too many times I dozed off reading this book, but I labored on. The endless complaints about the useless errand running also got to me after a while, to the point where I simply didn't like the main character all that much anymore. She didn't seem to have any self respect, and the explanation that she was doing this as a means to be able to pick anywhere she wanted to work after a year didn't seem plausible. Enough said--rent the movie.

posted by JustMyTwoCents on February 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2005

    A fan of all books, even 'chick lit'

    This book was forgettable and dry. There was no part of the book that gripped you, nothing exciting or humorous. Wouldn't recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    very whiny

    Luckily, I loaned this book from the library. This book starts out good, the author writes so despriptively that you can almost picture yourself there in NY with the character. However, once she gets the job with Miranda, it quickly dissolves into herculean tasks with no rewards and a steady stream of whining from the character. I usually read a book in a day if it's good, this one took a whole weekend to get half-way through, then I gave up and peeked at the ending - in which the character does what she should have done after the first week or two. Blah, blah, blech! Now it's supposed to be a movie, so I hope they do a better job with the script. Even 'Undead and Unwed' by Mary Jane Davidson was a better read than this - and that was total fluff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Very average I have read better books

    I have read better books. I wouldn't buy this book but would check it out from a library which is how I read it. I am grateful that I did not spend my money on it. It is descriptive but lacks the writing elements that draw you in and make you not want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2005

    Now I know why I don't read 'chick lit'.

    Finished this book in a day while at work. Predictable, slightly interesting. Honestly, how many times did we have to hear that her roomates wore fuddy duddy outfits and worked long hours? How many times did we have to be reminded that fufilling a year with the boss would allow the main character to skip a few rungs on the ladder? How many paragraphs were wasted reminding the reader that you could not ask the boss for a more detailed explanation on her requests? So repetative I felt like I was simply reading the same chapter over and over. Yes. We get it, you wiped your hands on her drycleaning. Was there a need to have this happen twice, on two separate occasions within ten pages? Yes, her friend may have a drinking problem. Did this have to be clearly stated twice within a 2 page span? Expmple: Page 161 'Maybe she had been drinking a little more lately, but I knew that her first-year studies were incredibly stressful..more demanding..' Page 163 'I briefly wondered if Lily might be drinking too much these days. ...because she was a student..' We. Get. It. Ridiculous fluff, I now feel like I wasn't 'missing out' on anything by never having read this genre before. I don't need someone to hold my hand and spell things out for me when reading a book. That just makes the writing annoying, clumsy, and banal. I'll read *anything* but this was not pleasant time spent as books should be. This was a chore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Intriguing insight, but still disappointing

    While I enjoyed getting some intriguing insight into what the fashion and fashion magazine industries are like, like at least one other reviewer here, I, too thought, WHY doesn't she just QUIT already??! Who CARES if there's the perception of '... a million girls would just die for a job like that', or however it was put so many more times than it needed to be. I do understand that the idea of quitting and finding another job is often easier said than done. One's true happiness is based on more than a job's money, status, and any fringe benefits of that job (although the free designer clothing IS nice, chances are, most of us will never have that). Her character could have been a bit rougher around the edges, which would have added some much-needed spunk and interest to the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    What a disappointment...

    I started out liking this book, but the ending was such a letdown that I can't give it a high rating. I notice a lot of comments from others about how repetitive it was, just one outrageous demand from Miranda after another. I didn't mind that part at all. I just expected a real payoff at the end for all of Andrea's suffering. When Andrea finally stands up to Miranda, why couldn't she have verbalized some of the things the author had her saying to herself throughout the book? Andrea is supposed to be an aspiring writer, so why couldn't she come up with a more intelligent tongue-lashing than she did?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2005

    ALL THAT FOR NOTHING?

    By the end of this book, I was aching for the tell off of all tell offs and instead, got the stupidest and most anticlimatic ending of all time. Seems to me that the author just liked to do a lot of couture name dropping with no other interesting details. There were many interesting story lines that could have stemmed from this plot- but in the end it was very flat,disappointing and uninspired. Easy to read? Yes! But so is Dr. Seuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2003

    Unreadable

    Sorry, this book is way overhyped. The writing is terrible and the story is paper thin. Save your money and your time. If you're looking for good dish on Vogue and Anna Wintour, it's not even here. The author has insisted time after time that it's not based in reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2004

    Shallow and Silly

    That should be the title of this book since it fits the description of the heroine and her boss. It was all I could do to finish it...why in the world didn't she just quit her job already????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2005

    Easy to read... and also to put down

    I opened this book expecting a fun, easy read. Knowing the premise (girl gets big fashion magazine job, boss is a nightmare) - I anticipated a humorous and probably satiric look at tyrannical bosses in general, and the fashion magazine world in particular. Instead, the main character - Andrea- spends most of the 360 pages describing (in excruciatingly boring detail) the various tasks assigned to her by her ridiculously vicious boss. There's also a 'best friend' character, a 'boyfriend', a 'friendly car service driver' and so on. But I found it very difficult to care about a single one of them, Andrea included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    Not my Fav

    I was highly upset after reading this book, because my librarian recommended it to me. It was entertaining for the most part in the beginning. To be quite honest, I had a difficult time staying interested enough to keep reading. I was so mad that Andrea took a year of being pushed around and yelled at by Miranda. You should never sacrifice your family, friends, and relationships for a job (especially one that your not even passionate about). I give her props for being bold at the end, but I mean seriously, if she was willing to stick it out for a year, why not continue?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    I'll stick to non-fiction (and Vogue)

    The Devil Wears Prada is the type of book that I can easily put down mid-page and pick up again a week later. I found myself so irritated by the absurdity of the characters that it was impossible to become engaged in the story. The novel's only redeeming quality is that the stabs at the ridiculous world of Manhattan fashionistas can be funny at times. Andrea Sachs is an anti-heroine--a picture of passivity who endures abuse long after any intelligent and self-respecting woman would have said enough. I didn't need to read this book to know that NO job is worth what she puts up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    Bad ending

    It was an ok read until the ending. I like the just-released Beverly Hills Tutor a lot more. No lame endings in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    Not even up to 'Beach Read' standards

    When I bought this book it was just for a fun summer read. I expected a light, hilarious novel about the inner workings of a fashion magazine. However, I didn't laugh once and found myself wondering if anything besides her stint as Anna Wintour's assistant qualified the author to write a book. Never mind writing quality and creativity. I consider it a waste of my 11 dollars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Boooring

    I've read all the girly stuff, but this was the generic-know-what-is-going-to-happen-in-the-end book. The plot was non existent and I found myself reading 2 pages and then dozing off. The character was a little whiney for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2004

    2 Much Hype 2 Little Plot

    For all of the hype surrounding this book it turned out to be very dissapointing to me. I feel that it had no plot and was so easy to predict, i found myself hoping it would get better as i read on but had no such luck. I was excited to get a hold of it and endulge but half way through i was anticipating the end to my misery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    NO PLOT

    I heard a lot of hype about this book so I decided to see what all of the hub-bub was about, since I usually don't read book of this type. Now I know why. The only reason why I finished this book was because I was trying to figure out the plot. I then came to the conclusion there really wasn't one. The book seemed like a day-to-day diary of a girl with a big chip on her shoulder working for people who obviously intimidate her. If she hated her job so much, she should've just quit working for the magazine a long time ago and saved ALL of us this aggravation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2004

    Devil Wears Prada falls flat

    I was so excited about this book. It had some good moments, but I would not recommend it. It is extremely slow-paced and too 'talky.' It's tedious. The characters are all pretty one-dimensional and the ending is predictable and very unsatisfying. I found myself saying, 'I read all THAT for a two-word resolution?' Very, very stupid and disappointing. This author has a long way to go. There simply IS NO PLOT worth being interested in. Description of the ruthless fashion world is insightful and well done - but that's about the best thing you can say about the book. Skip it if you want a good plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Not the best

    This book looked great and could have been great BUT I think it was entirely too long and extremely too slow. I expected the book to be a fun summer read but it was a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    potential

    I think the author had potential here, but it did not come to fruition. Too long on some parts, some parts not fully matured. She might be able to take this somewhere with a sequel where she meets Miranda(or is it Ann) on equal footing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 66 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4