Customer Reviews for

The Devil Wears Tartan

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    I normally like this author but this book was dreadful. It was v

    I normally like this author but this book was dreadful. It was very
    boring and the characters were not likable. The book was terribly
    depressing and I barely finished it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Love it

    -

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Great

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Indulge and You will be Delighted !!

    Great read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Devil Wears Tartan by Karen Ranney

    Reviewed for queuemyreview.com; book release Sep08<BR/><BR/>I think it was the cover of this book that called to me. A brawny highlander, shown from the waist up, dressed only his plaid. Delicious. Then I read inside the front cover: a woman felled by scandal and a recluse called the Devil of Ambrose. Now who could resist a Victorian romance like that?<BR/><BR/>Davina is a fallen woman--shunned by society and doomed to a life of spinsterhood. She really can¿t blame anyone but herself. Her father always did say her curiosity would get her in trouble. But it could be worse, she does prefer to read anyway, so now she¿ll just spend her life learning from her books. Until the aunt who took her in after her father¿s death arranges a marriage for her. And not just any marriage, she¿ll be the Countess of Lorne. Obviously, there¿s something wrong with her husband and darn her curiosity again, but Davina can¿t stop herself from wanting to solve his mysteries¿especially once she sees him and realizes he¿s young and handsome, and very skilled in the art of lovemaking.<BR/><BR/>Marshall is a tormented man who spends his life secluded, by choice, from society. Where once he exulted in the fun, games, and challenges of his life he¿s now haunted by the souls of those who died under his command during his last diplomatic mission to China. But before he dies he wants an heir and asks his man of affairs to find him a wife of childbearing age. He doesn¿t expect to care for her and he just hopes that the luxuries and wealth of being the Countess of Lorne will be enough to make up for being married to an insane man. He just never counted on Davina and her unwillingness to settle for less than what she wants¿and she appears to want him.<BR/><BR/>This story has quite a bit of angst. He¿s suffering and even though it¿s apparent to the simplest reader what¿s wrong, he doesn¿t figure it out. Uh huh. Davina is quite brilliant herself and she doesn¿t figure it out either¿sure. That was my biggest beef with this story. If you can get past that, the rest of the plot is plausible and I wasn¿t certain of the villain until the last part, suspicious but not certain. There¿s a kind of side-story involving Davina¿s aunt which doesn¿t really pan out, instead the author gives the reader just enough glimpses of what¿s going on to tie it into the main story. I¿m not sure if that was to prepare readers for a possible future story starring the aunt or not, but that¿s the only reason I can think of for doing so. For the most part, I just felt a certain distance from all the characters in this novel. I didn¿t feel a growing connection between the hero and heroine, it just seemed that they woke up one day and cared for each other after very little interaction. Then they maintained a distance from other and yet the heroine was willing to do anything to save the hero. I just couldn¿t buy it.<BR/><BR/>Karen Ranney is an author who¿s had great success with her Highland stories. It could be that this particular book is not one of the best, but for whatever reason, ¿The Devil Wears Tartan¿ just didn¿t gel for me. The characters stayed creatures on paper and the story didn¿t hold much in the way of surprise. I did appreciate the humor in the ending and the wealth of information in Egyptology though. However, it wasn¿t quite enough to make me truly enjoy the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The devil you say

    Ms. Raney has given us a wonderful novel with characters who have so much depth that you can't help but fall in love with them. Marshall Ross the Earl of Ambrose came back from China a changed man who lived through torture and the loss of half of his men, he needs a wife to carry on the name and so he chooses Davina McLaren to play the role, he wants a wife of convenience who will give him an heir and leave him alone but Davina has other plans, she has secrets of her own but wants to chase away the ghosts that haunt Marshall and be a wife in every way. See where the road takes these two unfortunate lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    a superb gothic Victorian romantic suspense

    In 1870 the scandal with womanizing adventurer Alisdair Cannemot leaves Davina McLaren with one option. She can marry a man she never met, but others claim that the ¿Devil of Ambrose¿ is insane. She decides to take her chances with the lunatic so after her Aunt Theresa arranges the marriage and leaves town immediately, Davina begins wedding preparations. Her aunt returns in time for Davina to say I do in the Edinburgh castle of the Earl of Lorne.------------------ Marshall Ross is infamous as the ¿Devil of Ambrose¿ everyone assumes something evil happened to him as the Queen¿s diplomat to China. He no longer can tolerate the outside world so remains a hermit with servants. However, he and Davina are mutually stunned by the immediate attraction between them. She starts to wonder if she is so shallow as to fall in love with the ¿Devil¿. As they become better acquainted she realizes her beloved husband is not crazy, but someone with access to him is somehow causing him to suffer nightmares that he believes are real. She vows to risk her life to expose the villain before the maniac permanently harms her spouse.----------------- THE DEVIL WEARS TARTAN is a superb gothic Victorian romantic suspense based on documented historical events starring a fallen courageous woman and a traumatized man whose love gives each something neither has had recently: hope. Marshall is fascinating as the male lead with deep issues while Davina starts as a classic gothic damsel in distress but soon shows no fear will prevent her from trying to uncover the truth of what is going on at foreboding Black Castle.----------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1