Customer Reviews for

The Devil You Know (Morgan Kingsley Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Devlishly good!

    loved this book. It held my attention the whole time. It was exciting and moved progressively, with hardly any down spots. There was a bit too much self-reflection for my taste but otherwise this is a great book. Morgan seems to have progressed in character. She finally seems to be accepting reality and is slowly coming off her high horse. The sex/romance parts of the story w/ Adam and Dom are always hot hot hot! I highly recommend this book and the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed - Rehash of first installment

    The second installment of the Morgan Kingsley series is basically a rehash of The Devil Inside. When it's all set and done, you will realize that not a lot happened in this book. Morgan and her posse face yet another threat from one of Dougal's minions in the form of a sociopathic demon, and in the midst of this, Morgan tries to find out why they chose her as a host for Lugh. To Jenna Black's credit, she toned down some of the sex, but replaced it with constant internal monologue about Morgan's feelings. Whereas the first installment was fast-paced, this one was like wading through mud. The first 3/4 of the book, Morgan mills over the events that happened in the first installment coupled with a few new developments, and she never really progresses in her decision-making. Also, her core values are constantly contradicted. In one chapter, for example, she's willing to let Adam torture her brother Andrew to get information about an event she experienced in her childhood; but then, she has a harder time siccing Adam on someone that actually mis-treated her in the past. This constant back-and-forth and progress-regress became a little exhausting to read. Then, the last quarter of the book, some action finally takes place, and I enjoyed the last few chapters a lot more than the rest of the book. Even though I rate The Devil You Know three stars, I'm curious to find out what happens next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    an excellent urban fantasy

    Exorcist Morgan Kingsley and Demon King Lugh have reached an agreement on sharing her brain space. Neither is quite happy with the arrangement, but both see the compromise as the only way they can co-exist. --------------------- Meanwhile Morgan still has family issues although she feels y good that her now demon free brother Andy is retuning to normal even though she and her parents remain alienated. Further disturbing her is a shocker about her origin and a part of her memory buried since a childhood trauma is beginning to frighteningly surface. The more she learns what was locked behind the closed door, the more Morgan wonders who she really is. Before she can come to grips on her issues, a pretender to the demon throne sends a psychopathic hunter to stalk and kill his Highness and his host.--------------------- The direct follow-up to the superb DEVIL INSIDE is an excellent urban fantasy in which once again the Black universe with its demons, possessions, laws, and special prisons seem genuine and make for an invigorating thriller. Morgan remains a top gun albeit comic book heroine who is at her best dealing with the humiliation of an exorcist being possessed by a demon although she and her royal inside have worked out an arrangement to peacefully co-exist for now. Soon they will need to increase their cooperation to fight a nasty adversary targeting both for death. Fans of this devilish saga will appreciate Morgan whose motto is to kill first and ask questions afterward so she goes after the Hunter.----------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's a good read...

    I like this series of books. It's a good escapism for a weekend read. I like the characters even if some topics are a little disturbing sometimes. But it keeps it interesting. Not everyone is going to be comfortable with some of the sexual ref. They really didnt bother me. The over all concept of demon possession is a little creepy but it works well for this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Entertaining reads, however the main heroin has been found wanting.

    Morgan is supposed to be a "strong chick with multiple earrings and a back tattoo" however she does more complaining and whining then she does taking charge and kicking ass. You'd think someone who has to continuously battle with the demons would have some martial arts training.

    I was able to make it through the four books in two days. They are quick entertaining reads. None of the books really left me wanting the next one. I bought all four at once so it wasn't bad enough to send them back.

    The story all start off strong and fall flat towards the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An exorcist in a world of demons

    Morgan Kingsley has a few things going for her... her name and her occupation as an exorcist in a modern day world populated by human-hosted demons. The Spirit Society are the pro-demon supporters versus God's Wrath who are the anti-demon fanatics that are all about burning demon hosts at the stake. The concept is somewhat fresh but the protagonist just sounds like your usual run of the mill bitchy and hard to like heroine. She wusses out when tough but important decisions need to be made and hides behind anger and attitude when she is scared. The series starts off interesting enough but by Book Three I too am wondering why her boyfriend Brian finds her to be worth staying with at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Paranormal yes, romantic not really

    If you read this book looking for good paranormal action, this is for you. If you picked this book as a paranormal romance, you'll be disappointed. Yes, there are sexy moments, but Jenna leaves me confused about who Morgan is supposed to 'be' with. She's attracted to Dom and Adam, she's hot for Lugh, and then there's Brian her on/off again boyfriend who she actually is 'with'. Personally, my vote is for Lugh, but other than in her dreams I'm not sure how this relationship would work. Rest of the plot is good, and moves along quickly. Morgan's childhood explains her talents and we get a deep look into her family life (not so great). All in all, this was a solid action read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5