BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Devil You Know

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

fun historical tale

Late at night, renowned rake Bentley Rutledge runs into Frederica d¿Avillez in the hallway while everyone else sleeps. Freddy is upset because the man she thought would marry her, Johnny Ellows is betrothed to someone else because his family believes she is not good en...
Late at night, renowned rake Bentley Rutledge runs into Frederica d¿Avillez in the hallway while everyone else sleeps. Freddy is upset because the man she thought would marry her, Johnny Ellows is betrothed to someone else because his family believes she is not good enough for them. Bursting into tears, Bentley provides comfort, but soon Freddy kisses him. Already dreaming of Freddy, Bentley finds himself a willing partner to her seduction though he tries to put a halt to their activities. That night, knowing he deflowered a virgin, a stunned Bentley leaves for his home to regroup and to prepare himself to marry Freddy. However, neither Freddy nor her family comes after him. Soon, Bentley hears that she is to marry someone else. He attends a ball hosted by her family and confronts Freddy. Later he realizes she is pregnant with his child. He demands they marry, but Freddy insists she will not. Forced to marry, they both realize that their attraction is love, but will either willingly admit that their marriage is the best thing that has happened to either of them. Though somewhat by the standard fans of Regency romances will relish THE DEVIL YOU KNOW due to the delightful cast especially the lead couple. Bentley is an interesting protagonist raised as a hedonistic rake by his decadent father in a case where nurturing overcomes naturing unto he admits he loves Freddy. The heroine is a charmer not afraid to admit that she is more at fault than her beloved for the seduction that ¿ruins¿ both of them. Together they provide the audience with a fun historical tale. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

Kinda slow for me.

posted by 3264800 on December 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fun historical tale

    Late at night, renowned rake Bentley Rutledge runs into Frederica d¿Avillez in the hallway while everyone else sleeps. Freddy is upset because the man she thought would marry her, Johnny Ellows is betrothed to someone else because his family believes she is not good enough for them. Bursting into tears, Bentley provides comfort, but soon Freddy kisses him. Already dreaming of Freddy, Bentley finds himself a willing partner to her seduction though he tries to put a halt to their activities. That night, knowing he deflowered a virgin, a stunned Bentley leaves for his home to regroup and to prepare himself to marry Freddy. However, neither Freddy nor her family comes after him. Soon, Bentley hears that she is to marry someone else. He attends a ball hosted by her family and confronts Freddy. Later he realizes she is pregnant with his child. He demands they marry, but Freddy insists she will not. Forced to marry, they both realize that their attraction is love, but will either willingly admit that their marriage is the best thing that has happened to either of them. Though somewhat by the standard fans of Regency romances will relish THE DEVIL YOU KNOW due to the delightful cast especially the lead couple. Bentley is an interesting protagonist raised as a hedonistic rake by his decadent father in a case where nurturing overcomes naturing unto he admits he loves Freddy. The heroine is a charmer not afraid to admit that she is more at fault than her beloved for the seduction that ¿ruins¿ both of them. Together they provide the audience with a fun historical tale. Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Not recommended

    Kinda slow for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Loved It!!! Bentley turned out great and Liz Carlyle gave him a

    Loved It!!! Bentley turned out great and Liz Carlyle gave him a great love with Freddie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Wonderfully brave book

    Remains true to romance novel formula while giving an honest glimpse into the abuse that leads to the creation of a womanizer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Angela shikany

    I've read and loved all of LizCarlyle's books. This is my favorite. Even more than A woman scorned and A woman of virtue, two of the best Regencys ever written. Bentley is an important auxiliary character in many of Carlyle's books and this book explains him. He 's such a tender soul broken and tainted by a dark childhood. A killer, yes but a very fully deve
    loped character, lovable and all man, faults and all. I liked the heroine too and thought her perfect for him. To get the full picture readBEAUTY LIKE THE NIGHT, A WOMAN OF VIRTUE, NO TRUE GENTLEMAN (also especially good), before this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Great Read

    I am glad Kresley Cole recommened it. Kresley was right I fail in LOVE with Bentely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Wish I Knew Not To Read This Story...

    This is the first book of Liz Carlyle¿s that I bought via B & N. I started with ¿The Devil You Know¿ ¿ one of her later books. I expected great things as many of the reviewers noted how funny and smart and sexy this book was and they couldn¿t put it down! Well¿after finishing the story I think my sense of humor must be off, I am not too bright and I don¿t know what sex appeal is as I couldn¿t agree with hardly any of the reviewers! I started out liking the main characters of Frederica and Bentley as they were clearly interesting, appealing and dynamic people and had known one another through family for years. Unfortunately, once they got together as a couple due to one night of passion and then conceiving a child well¿things got boring and predictable. Sigh¿so typical¿the guy runs from his emotions yet is drawn to hot girl for sex¿.girl allows the sex as she is falling in love with him yet, won¿t stand strong and fight for what she wants and gets wimpy and takes what crumbs he leaves behind etc. I wanted them to fight more for their relationship than they did. Each time they confronted one another ¿ Bentley took off to drink, brawl and flirt with other girls and Freddie ran to her room crying ¿ ugh!!! How irritating. Each seemed to confide in others more than each other (such as Bentley to his cousin Joan). Freddie and Bentley were clearly drawn to each other due to the passion and sex but, until the end of the story, their marriage never seemed real. There was little interaction outside the bedroom to make their story one you rooted on and hoped would work out. The last few chapters were finally good as the story explained why Bentley had such a poor relationship with his older brother Cam, why Bentley was so sexual and why he could not open up and love as he needed to. The final chapters worked and made Bentley real and someone the reader could define and sympathize with at times. Frederica also finally took the bull by the horns and did some homework to figure out what was wrong with Bentley and confront the issues so, they could finally have a family. It was about time! Even though they had some hot and heavy sex scenes (especially after Freddie saw a plate book with naughty sex scenes), that is simply not enough to carry a book and make characters or a story memorable. Cam and Bentley coming clean and making up and Bentley telling Freddie the whole truth were the hightlights of an otherwise weak story line. If you can make it through the early and mid parts of the book you¿ll be fine. Considering all the other good stories out there¿you might just pass this one up. I¿ll give her another chance and try her other two books. I think this writer is actually quite talented and perhaps the story just got away with her (much too far!). On to the next book¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was one of the best romance novels that I have ever read!! I love the everyday wife and husband stuff!! And I absolutly love the husbandly concern that Bentley shows for his wife!! AWWWWWWWWWW!!! And as for the family dynamics in this book, well they can only be described as excellent!!!! My hats off to you LiZ!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2004

    My favorite book!!!

    I may be young and probably shouldn't be reading these types of books, but I do and have made this one my favorite. The book is funny and filled with little twists that make it all the more enjoyable. The charaters are believeable and the ending (as usual) is funny, cute, and the part of the book you can't help but read over and over again. An excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2003

    I FOUND ANOTHER GOOD AUTHOR

    I FOUND ANOTHER AUTHOR TO LOVE! I READ SO AVIDLY I HAVE A HARD TIME WAITING FOR MY FAVORITE AUTHORS TO WRITE NEW BOOKS. I FOUND MS. CARLYLE QUITE BY ACCIDENT. I AM UNABLE TO TAKE HER BOOKS TO WORK AS I HAVE A HARD TIME EXPLAINING WHY I AM LAUGHING SO HARD AT TIMES. HER STORIES ARE WITTY-WELL WRITTEN-SEXY AND MUCH TOO FEW PAGES. THIS IS THE SECOND OF HER BOOKS AND I LOOK FORWARD TO READING ALL OF HER WRITINGS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2003

    Not at all what I was waiting for.

    I like the prequel of this book and was eager to learn about how the wicked Bentley would find his match. Sadly to say, the story was redundant and the heroine was insipid. The only reedeming feature of this title was the touching reconciliation between Cam and Bentley. Read only if you want to know the explanation of Bentley's reckless behaviour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2