Customer Reviews for

The Devil You Know

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not super original, but pretty good!

    At times Mike Carey's writing is a little "too" British for me, whatever that means, but I enjoyed his tale of supernatural detective, Felix Castor. The mystery was really superb but I had trouble keeping some of the characters sorted in my head. Probably more my fault than the author's. I look forward to the next novel in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slow start, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden

    I can see the small similarities between the Harry Dresden series and this one. There are differences though. I found Felix Castor more dark and grittier than Dresden. It definitely more "noir" and having the setting taking place in London is perfect. London is so dark and wet most of the time and cold. I think the setting fits well and is described perfectly for this novel. The world here is much different than present day. The dead and ghosts are actually out and we're aware that they are. Most of the time though, they actually don't bother us except for a select few that have risen up to settle some differences. There is plenty of magic but it's not in the way of Harry Potter it's more darker and more realistic.

    I have to admit, it took me a while to get into this book. It started off a little slow and I had to nearly force myself to get into it. Eventually it started picking up and I got more interested. It was especially interesting that although it's paranormal in regards to ghosts and other creatures (there's a loup garou but not what you usually think it would be..it's different). There's also an underlying realistic element in it as naturally the ghost is there with a reason and has a story to tell (ie; how she became a ghost) so real life comes into play just as much as the paranormal side does in this book. Which is good it's a nice mixture and it's done nicely so that the magic parts come naturally and it doesn't seem so out of the ordinary, it actually feels like everyday life.

    I think the other reason why it took me a while to get into it, is because in the beginning, Felix goes through a huge narration on explaining how he got to this point, and how he met certain characters and their background stories. He does this throughout the book and although the explanations are great and provides a nice depth to the novel, some of them are too detailed and rather long winded. Then I'm left wondering where did we leave off and what does this have to do with it? although the background information is nice, it should have been done in small specific paragraphs but not deviate entirely from the main plot. This could be a deterrent to some readers and those reading might feel like putting the book to the side and leave it for another day, but try and get through it. You'll find it connects the dots in one way or another and it leaves the story more complete and more detailed.

    As for characters I like Felix. He's got wit and a dark sense of humor. I'm not sure if you could call him your typical detective in a noir book as although he does have an eye for the ladies I don't think he really has much of a charm or is that charismatic. To me he's more like a good guy friend who you'd have a drink with and just relax. He's likable, don't get me wrong and there are certainly parts in the book where I found myself laughing at him because of comments he's made either towards others or towards himself but he's lacking in something. He just falls short of standing out. I guess what I am trying to say is, it took me a while to warm up to him and even then although I like him, there's no strong attachment or anything.

    Overall, it's not a bad book! give it a try if you're a fan of Harry Dresden but want something more realistic, more dark, and with more grit. You'll find it's actually quite good and well worth the wait.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    A Little Lightweight

    This book was good, but I was expecting better. Can't really recomend it. It took to long for the lead character to find out who the ghost was and why it was. The reader knew what was coming but had to wait for the story to catch up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Excellently written. The author writes with wit, charm, and at

    Excellently written. The author writes with wit, charm, and at times thought provoking prose. The main character is likeable, and easy to relate to. The British idioms may through some less educated or wordly people off, but the majority are simple enough to understand and appreciate. I recommend this book and look forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Nicely Done

    Bought this on a whim. Once I took a closer look at the synopsis, I was concerned that this might be a Hellblazer rip-off. Turns out, I had nothing to fear. Felix Castor, while sharing some traits with John Constantine, remains his own thing. It did take me a while to warm up to him, though. The end was a total hoot that I didn't see coming. I look forward to the rest of the serie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    You have to read this book series

    I just finished this book last night on Nook. This book is very gritty compared to other fantasy novels. The main character, Fix, is really stuck between a rock and a hard place. There are some slow parts, but overall this is a good book.

    Now I am on to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a good solid urban-fantasy tale

    Felix Castor is the right kind of hero, actually a good guy without being prodded and poked into position. He may not be completely stand up, but doing the right thing to do the right thing seems his game here. The story moves nicely, twists maybe a little predictably, but it's a fun ride - just because you can see the curves doesn't lessen the roller coaster fun - definitely worth picking up and reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    1st in Felix Castor series is terrific read

    The Devil You Know by Mike Carey is the first book in the Felix Castor urban fantasy series that takes place in a world that is populated with the undead. Felix, Fix to his friends, had been making his living as an exorcist, ridding the living of their undead neighbors or stalkers until a tragedy that left his friend Rafi possessed by a demon and living in an insane asylum. Fix doesn't take on cases any more, but he needs to pay the rent somehow, so when he is presented with an easy looking case in an archive for historical papers. The mysterious ghost seems to be wearing a hood that covers the top half of her face and has recently gone from benign appearances to striking out violently at an employee. Fix is hired to just exorcise the ghost, but as he starts investigating, things aren't exactly what they seem, and then a local crime boss gets involved. Felix is very similar in ways to Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden series. They are both misanthropes with unusual abilities with a mysterious past. Fix, like Harry, is self-deprecating, but he doesn't have the same wry sense of humor, and the books is a bit darker for it. Carey has created a very unique world in Fix's London where zombies hover around schoolyards, and were-creatures are like nothing I've ever imagined. It's a fascinating world, but it's really Fix that carries the story. He has a deep sense of justice and the desire to make things right. His inability to save Rafi has put him on a quest to save everyone else he can, and this makes him an empathetic and heroic protagonist. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Don't bother

    Unless you're a fan of the Author, I don't recoomend him. This book is "Too British" in language and does nothing to endear himself to the American audience.
    I found the characters to be boring. The book was slow moving and just dreadful! I'm a fast reader and can usually get through these kind of books in less than a week, but it's taking me days to get through the first few chapters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great Sci-Fi vacation read

    If you're like me, then reading a good book while on vacation is a must. And again, if you're like me, the romance novels that many people seem to read while on vacation isn't your speed.

    After a few months of badgering, my husband finally got me to give this book a whirl, and I was pleasantly surprised by it. It's got all the makings of a good sci-fi novel: zombies, ghosts, succubi, exorcisms.... you name it, this book probably has it.

    The story revolves around an exorcist that gets caught up in a plot far beyond anything he could have believed possible when he took the job. Carey weaves the story with enough detail to keep it vivid without becoming gratuitous. The characters are all very well developed, and there are enough twists and turns to keep the reader interested.

    This definitely isn't a romantic or touching read. It's gritty and thrilling, making you hold your breath as you turn the page. Carey writes in a style that's easy to read and keeps the plot moving. The Devil You Know is definitely a must-read for anyone that likes sci-fi or thrillers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Great Read!

    Really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read more adventures of Felix Castor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I read about 100 pgs in and I was BORED!

    I gave up on reading this book about a 100 pages into it. The character is not believeable and the plot was just plain boring. I just couldn't get into it. Save the few dollars and just buy a better book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book - not sure why it's in Sci-Fi section

    This book was great. It kept me guessing until the very end. I like the fact that it is a supernatural thriller written for adults instead of teenagers.

    This book has a great ending (not a to-be-continued-type of book), but if you read it and enjoy it there is a sequel, which I am currently reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Original take on the supernatural

    There are a lot of novelists writing about the supernatural interacting with the modern world. The central conceit of most is that the normals don't know what is going on. Carey goes the exact opposite, everyone knows, but they try to live their lives with as little interaction as possible. When things get sticky, call in an exorcist. The plot is good, the characters and the treatment of the supernatural are really superb and original. And the villians are really villianous, which is important, becuase the hero is only as good as the villian. I will definitely buy the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Great Book

    This was a really great book. I had a hard time putting it down. The story has a really good plot. Fix is a really interesting. The ending was great and surprising. I would recommend this book to anyone and I'm looking forward to Vicous Circle to be released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2008

    Wondeful book.......

    I have read this book in on day, could not put it down. I started slow but picked up fast. The ending surprized me. Wonderful book looking forward to read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Unique Ghostbusting Story

    Strange yarn about a London exorcist who encounters ghosts, demons, were-creatures and the like on a daily basis. Many of these are nasty pieces of work, indeed, but not much worse than the humans Felix Castor has to deal with. Part ghost story, part mystery, with white slavery thrown into the mix, the story also provides plenty of unexpected laughs. You wouldn't know it from the author's rather stern cover-jacket photo, but he has a great sense of humor. A bit overlong, but good reading - and the quick twist at the end suggests there might be a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    I loved this book

    The characters in this book are gritty, if somewhat 2-dimensional. The book is very engaging, I had a hard time putting it down. The plot was interesting, there were enough twists and action for anyone, along with a great hero. It manages to be satisfying without being formuliac or completely predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Thrilling New Hero

    This is an amazing story. The subject is very different. If you like ghosts stories or the move The Exortist this book is perfect. I had a lot of twists and turns and it was suspenseful and suprising. A must read for thrill seekers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    A Thrilling Whodunit and Ghost Story

    As a freelance exorcist, Felix Castor¿s reality is a lot different from most people. Ghosts, demons, and other creatures of the supernatural are a part of his every day life. His brother is a priest who believes that Felix, or Fix to his friends, is abusing his God given gift and that Fix should leave the exorcisms to the priests. There are a lot of things about himself and what he does that Felix doesn¿t examine too closely. While he no longer believes in God, he doesn¿t really know what to believe. He exorcises ghosts using his tin pipe and melancholy tunes, but he doesn¿t really know where they go. The case he takes out of economic necessity forces him to examine these aspects of himself and his life. Thus the novel is an action packed ¿whodunit¿ on one level and a philosophical quest on the nature of life and death or natural and supernatural on another. What starts as an ordinary exorcism becomes complex indeed when the ghost he is to exorcise from the Bonnington Archive saves his life. As he unravels the how and what of who the ghost once was and how she became a ghost, he has to grapple with issues he set aside since he drove is dead sister¿s ghost out of his bed. He has to deal with live bad guys who traffic in the sex trade and slavery and the demon they call to kill him. He has to solve the mystery of who is stealing artifacts from the Bonnington Archive, and he has to force the administrator to pay him. This is a scary and dark novel that searches the deepest regions of the human heart and depths to which people will descend for their gratification.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4