Customer Reviews for

Devil in My Arms: A Loveswept Historical Romance

Average Rating 4
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE this series and this book was a wonderful addition. Devil

    I LOVE this series and this book was a wonderful addition. Devil in My Arms was a fantastic historical romance that had thrills, mystery, and, of course, some steamy romance. I loved this book!

    Eleanor was a lovely heroine. She has been through a lot because of her marriage, enough that it would have broken a weaker woman. But, she fought to escape and built herself a new life beyond the shackles of her marriage. I loved that she managed to match wits and cleverness with Hil, which is quite a feat considering how smart this man is. I only had one complaint about her and it was that she was kind of rude to Hil, considering he's the one who aided her rescue. A little more gratitude rather than defiance wouldn't have gone amiss. But, otherwise, I thought she was great. She was strong, clever, and very likable.

    Hil was also wonderful. I already liked him from his appearances in the previous books in the series, but this book made me adore him. He's not a very conventional gentleman. For one, social niceties go right over his head.  He might be able to find the missing link in a critical investigation, but he can't seem to figure out when a question he asks for the sake of his ever curious mind might be construed as rude. For another, he has no problem doing anything to get what he wants, be it the woman he loves or a chance to solve an investigation. But, he could also be sweet and kind and there is no denying how smart he is. I thought he was wonderful and I adored him.

    The romance was super hot. The sparks between these two were on fire and they weren't shy about letting their desires known. It was definitely spicy. But, they were also very sweet together. I really liked the progression of how they fell in love, despite doing their best not to. It was sweet. I thought these two were a lovely couple.

    Wiley played a bigger role in this book and I still adore him. He's just so awesome and adorable and I think he's amazing. I really hope he gets his own book because I would love to read more about him.

    The plot was fast paced. I was hooked the entire way through. There were thrills, mystery, and I was riveted. The courtroom scene, which was about the last quarter of the book, was amazingly done. It had me on the edge of my seat, full of anxiety, needing to know what happens. That was undoubtedly the best part of the book. I really enjoyed the story and the ending was perfect. I think it's safe to say that this series is officially one of my favorite romance series. I can't wait to read more from this series and this author.

    Devil in My Arms was a brilliant historical romance. I absolutely loved every part of it, from the hot romance, to the thrilling mystery. Lovers of romance, this is a book you definitely have to read.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    Once again I¿ve tried an author who is new to me and have been t

    Once again I’ve tried an author who is new to me and have been thoroughly delighted. DEVIL IN MY ARMS is the third in a series, but is easily a stand-alone novel. I had no trouble enjoying the story without the deeper background of secondary characters that would have come from the earlier books. I will say however, having read DIMA I intend to go back to read the first two. Samantha Kane is a clever writer and I am eager to read more of her work.

    As the synopsis tells us, Eleanor has run away from her malicious and abusive husband and after a few months he has her declared dead so that he can remarry someone able to give him an heir. Until this point she had stayed hidden in out of the way places, but with the encouragement of her sister and brother-in-law she comes back to their home in London changing her identity. They tell everyone she is Elizabeth, a distant widowed cousin from the country.

    When in London she meets her brother-in-law’s good friend, Sir Hilary St. John. He is a bit different than most men of the ton. St. John is a confirmed bachelor and a bit of a rake, but mostly he is known for his intellect and ability to investigate. He is rumored to have strong connections with Prinny, so even though his background is mysterious he is a constant source of wonder and conjecture. This means whenever he attends a function, which is rare, all eyes are watching to see just what he will do and who he will speak to. When he sets his eye on “Elizabeth” and she responds in kind this presents a problem in her pursuit of being discreet with her interactions while in London so as not to catch the attention of her husband. Despite admonitions there attentions to one another is causing a stir they just can’t seem to stay away from each other and begin a passionate affair.

    St. John and Eleanor were brilliant together. Most women bore him, but he finds she has a wit and intellect that rival his own. He is fascinated when she constantly challenges him on every level and he is completely smitten. She is just as enamored of him and really is a perfect match for him in every way. SK rounds out this story with delightful secondary characters (I especially liked Wiley) and bad guys to garner any readers contempt. The story was well-written and evenly paced, keeping my attention on every page. I rate this story with 4 stars.

    *I received this ebook free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    In Samantha Kane¿s Devil In My Arms, her heroine Eleanor Enderby

    In Samantha Kane’s Devil In My Arms, her heroine Eleanor Enderby is hiding with her sister and brother in law having run away from her abusive husband. Sir Hilary St. John is intrigued by Eleanor from the first moment he sees her, and once they meet again wants to protect her. Throughout the story we see the push and pull of their relationship and the dangers that surround their lives.

    Samantha Kane crafted a story full of mystery, love, passion, drama and tension, yet she was also able to keep it light and witty in many spots. The romance itself was a mix of sweet and hot and sexy. The author mixed into the story a compelling cast of characters, that had me laughing out loud with some of their interactions! Eleanor and Hilary were a perfect pairing, it was wonderful watching their wit, wisdom and banter match head to head. She was just who Hil needed! As Devil In My Arms is the third book in The Saint's Devils series, we get to reacquaint ourselves with characters from the previous two books. It was a treat to see where all of them are in their lives now. I especially loved to see how Wiley has grown and matured (I hope that one day we get to see him in his own book!)

    I absolutely recommend this book! While I do not believe you need to read the others in the series to enjoy this book, I feel you would get more out of it if you do.

    I received an ARC from Loveswept via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    This is book 3 in her Saint's Devils series. Eleanor Enderby is

    This is book 3 in her Saint's Devils series.

    Eleanor Enderby is on the run from her tyrant of a husband. After three months of hiding, she is making her way to the sister she hasn't seen in many years.

    Just as she is about to make it to the safely of her sister's home, she encounters Sir Hilary St. John. Is he one of her husband's hirelings that will take her back to him?

    She soon learns that Hilary is one of her brother in law's best friends and that he had been sent out in search of her.  Hilary is instantly intrigued by Eleanor, but must travel out of town on a mission.

    Six months pass and Eleanor's husband has declared her dead and is remarried with a child on the way. Believing her self to be safe, she ventures into the ton under a fake name. 

    Of course, she encounters Hilary again and neither one of them can fight their attraction to one another. They soon embark on an affair that is unfortunately talked about in the gossip columns. Can they risk the safety of Eleanor by continuing their affair?

    I absolutely LOVED this story!  We met Hilary earlier in the series and I loved his being pair up with Eleanor, they were perfect for each other. The banter and wit shared between them had me laughing out loud. I really hope that this series continues because I would love to keep revisiting the characters!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh my! I do love to read Samantha's books. I start reading and h

    Oh my! I do love to read Samantha's books. I start reading and her characters grab me up and I am there undergoing whatever tragedy or fun they are having. I felt so terrified for Eleanor with her abusive husband. I have met Hilary St John in previous books so it was fun to see him get all wound up when he meets Eleanor. After that Eleanor' s past comes to the surface. Hilary and Eleanor both dance around their love. Then there is a murder Hilary has to solve. Samantha had me tied in knots! I couldn't put it down but then I would get so wrapped up in it I had to walk away. Please read this book and the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Devil in My Arms is the first I have read of this author¿s work

    Devil in My Arms is the first I have read of this author’s work and my obsession with all things historic romance wouldn’t let me pass it up.  Samantha Kane has a new fan, with the plot, the characters and the exceptionally witty dialogue and word play from both the hero and heroine.  




    Not all was roses for Eleanor: long suffering of abuse at the hand of her husband for her (and isn’t it always the woman in these stories) inability to present him an heir.  Finally unable to take the abuse, she runs away, and lives in hiding, trying to stay under the radar.  She finally decides to take a chance, and appeared at her sister’s home after three months of hiding. 




    Hillary St. John is not your typical regency hero.  One of the Devils, he is a ginger (redhead) which is completely different from other male heroes of this period.  He is also erudite and quick witted, with a penchant for puzzles and an appreciation of women who speak their mind, very unlike his contemporaries. 




    There are mysteries and dangers in this story, with several roadblocks to the relationship between Hill and Eleanor, not the least of which is her refusal to enter into a situation that requires her subrogation to another, her marriage cleared her head of idealistic and romantic dreams, and her survival and safety are first in her mind.  Hill just wants her, and wants to protect and heal her wounds, although the road to this end is not a simple one. 




    There were some elements that are highly irregular in the regencies: Eleanor is a woman possessed of very modern sensibilities and attitudes, which she manages to express regularly.  The regard which Hill affords the women he encounters is more than simple politeness; he doesn’t fail to see the cleverness behind the pretty faces, or the ability of women to approach problems logically.  While the situations and obstacles presented are very appropriate to the time, the cooperation to find the culprit and the happy ending are unusual and very entertaining.  With a touch of steam to liven up the quiet moments with Hill and Eleanor, the pages just flew past.  I certainly will be purchasing the others in this series, and will be awaiting future installments. 




    I received an eGalley from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review : all conclusions are my own responsibility. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2013

    Eleanor Enderby is married to a vicious, abusive husband and she

    Eleanor Enderby is married to a vicious, abusive husband and she has tried to escape him before but this time she is determined to succeed. She makes it to her sister and brother in law's house and decides to use an assumed identity when her husband declares her dead and remarries. She is intrigued by and attracted to her brother in laws' friend, Sir Hilary St John. He has been searching for her at the behest of her sister and husband and is well known as an investigator who always solves his cases. What follows is thier unfolding romance, murder, revenge and a ticking clock to save his lady love. The writing was excellent, the dialogue and character portrayal very compelling. Ms. Kane has penned an enjoyable story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    I have been anxiously waiting for this book since I read The Dev

    I have been anxiously waiting for this book since I read The Devil’s Thief, the first in the series. Hil is introduced as the leader of the Devils and I loved him from the beginning.

    I cannot decide if he is uncaring about how is bluntness is perceived by others or just oblivious. He reminds me a little of Sherlock Holmes. Hil solves problems and finds things/people for both friends and strangers. His help is often solicited by the Prince Regent. He knows the secrets of everyone. He is more intelligent than anyone else he knows and no one ever gets the best of him.

    And then he meets Eleanor.

    It’s not that he doesn’t like women. He is the original Devil, after all. It’s just

    “He didn’t do well in relationships. Everyone told him so. It wasn’t that he didn’t want to have some sort of lasting commitment -- a companion to share his life with -- but he was unable to focus solely on the women with whom he was involved, which irritated them. He was a busy man.”

    Did I mention, and then he meets Eleanor?

    Eleanor is the sister of Harriet who is the star of the second book Tempting a Devil. She is on the run from her abusive husband and has been missing for months. “Harry” hires Hil to find her sister.

    From the very first meeting, Eleanor bests Hil. He doesn’t find her. She shows up at her sister’s house when she is ready to be found. Her plan is to have her husband declare her dead and she will enter society disguised as another woman.

    Hil is fascinated with Eleanor. He expected a timid, downtrodden woman and finds a strong, capable woman who is determined to not be a victim.

    She is taking London by storm and does not appear to be impressed by Hil in the least. Even in the most innocent conversation, she manages to top him.

    Hil is a busy man and she is taking up far too much of his thoughts. Doesn’t she know he has work to do?

    Devil in my Arms is primarily a romance. However, it also has a complex plot involving murder and a tense courtroom drama.

    Of course, everything works out in the end, but the reader is never quite sure how she is going to get there.

    The book is left open for a possible sequel involving a secondary character. I really hope Wiley gets his own book. His character has developed so much since his introduction.

    It’s not necessary to have read the first two books in the series to enjoy Hil’s and Eleanor’s story, but I recommend you do so. This book is my favorite, but they are wonderful in their own right.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    H Ok

    This was the first book i read from this authir and it was ok. I like hill and Eleanord as a couple. But the book at times it felt slow and i had to skip pages. Over all it was ok.





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A desperate and frightened wife runs from her cruel and evil hub

    A desperate and frightened wife runs from her cruel and evil hubby and seeks help, understanding and love from her sister, but finds true love with royal PI and knight-in-shiny-armor, Sir Hilary.

    After 10 years of abuse, starvation and unspeakable loneliness, Eleanor Enderby flees her hubby and shows up on her married sister's, Harry, front door. Before she knocks, she meets Sir Hilary St. John and he shows her the first touch of true kindness. She is embraced, protected and hidden, until her hubby declares her dead, with a dead body, and has remarries. Sir Hilary made an impression and she thinks of him often, while Hilary is off doing some job for the Regent. When he returns, he meets Mrs. Elizabeth Fairchild, Eleanor has been transformed in to the widow cousin of her sister's, Harry. Eleanor and Hilary just click and they begin a game "of who is cleaver than who" during the Season. They begin a love affair, dodging her family and his friends, but they can never been truly together because of her marriage. Will she ever be without her marriage hanging over her head? Can Hilary ever have Eleanor as his truly and lawful wife? What will happen if or when her hubby finds her again? Will the law be on her side or his evil one?

    This is the 3rd book in Samantha Kane's The Devil's Saints series and my first Ms. Kane book. Ms. Kane had great and flawed characters in this tale. Her heroine, Eleanor, was wounded and scarred, on the inside, from all her years of her hubby's abuse, but she still had the inner strength that won't let her give up on freedom. Hilary was the Devil of The Devil's Saints and the Saints loved to watch him fall for his true love. Hilary is a hero with a strong sense of right and wrong and, with Eleanor, he had to learn and deal with his new shades of grey. This was a good story of wanting, desires, evil, good, right and wrong, but it was a little to long and drawn out for me. Ms. Kane is an amazing writer who creates, nurtures, gives birth and LOVES each of her life like characters and that is why I will continue to read her books. I give this book a score of 3 fingers up and 6 toes.

    NetGalley ARC given for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    Third in good trilogy (LVR)

    This book ends a good trilogy of well-written Regency romances. Be sure to read them in order!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    highly recommend

    good writer kept you intertained

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I have not read the previous books in this series and this book

    I have not read the previous books in this series and this book can absolutely be read as a stand alone.  Samantha Kane has a fabulous writing style.  All the characters in this book are very charming. Hil is quite the alpha man.  I love the unique relationship he and Eleanor have.  They both know what they want and have no problem talking about it, especially during their intimate moments. It's fantastic! I also love how the story builds up to a crescendo and then in great mystery novel style, comes crashing down with a scene that has everyone gasping.  I can't wait to read the other books in this fantastic series.

    Received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    A Myrt's Review Devil in My Arms by Samantha Kane An Excitin

    A Myrt's Review

    Devil in My Arms by Samantha Kane

    An Exciting Romance That Offers Even More

    This is a terrific Regency romance that comes with something extra. It includes a look at a married woman's rights (or lack thereof) and a view into the legal system of the time. The two main characters are smart, witty and make for a very sexy couple with an intense relationship. The supporting characters are interesting in their own right. The story is full of clever banter between all the characters. The plot is made up of interesting twists and turns. Even the Prince Regent shows up. I highly recommend this book for an entertaining historical romance that will keep you engrossed until the very end.

    I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Really, really great read.

    Samantha Kane is a great story teller. This book is wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    EXCELLENT!

    This is an excellent story which I recommend without reservation! An unusual story line, strong characters and intelligent dialogue set this book apart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Dragged on and on...............................................

    Dragged on and on..............................................................
    Neither of the main characters were interesting.   The plot was ridiculous.  Really dumb.  I don't want to put spoilers in but let me just say that their Idea of a witness protection type program was beyond moronic.  The hero seemed dull. The heroine fashion challenged.  They kept going on about how she wore a pink dress that was way to young for her.  She liked wearing her hair really short.   In this time period,  Why?   I gave up halfway through.  Could care less what happened to them.  Not a good sign  in a romance novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Just couldn't get into the story

    I tried but it just wasn't getting anywhere for me. I finslly gave up reading this. Just boring!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Gibfk

    Bfyvfh b b

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Add shania_daria@hotmail.com

    Im a fourteen year old girl from the caribbean

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2