Customer Reviews for

The Devil in Pew Number Seven

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

This Book Deserves Six Stars

I must admit when I received "The Devil in Pew Number Seven" by Rebecca Nichols Alonzo with Bob DeMoss I was a bit skeptical. I figured this was just another "how to" book about Spiritual Warfare heavily based on experience and short on Scripture. Boy was I wrong!

Be...
I must admit when I received "The Devil in Pew Number Seven" by Rebecca Nichols Alonzo with Bob DeMoss I was a bit skeptical. I figured this was just another "how to" book about Spiritual Warfare heavily based on experience and short on Scripture. Boy was I wrong!

Being a preacher's kid is never easy and Mrs. Alonzo's early childhood certainly weren't a picnic on the beach. She experienced more terror by the time she was seven then most will see in 5 lifetimes. Mrs. Alonzo leads her readers through those early years including how she witnessed her mother being shot and killed right before her very eyes. Once I began reading this I couldn't put it down and neither will you!

While this is a true story describing the destruction of a family it's also a story of forgiveness and I assure you this book will not only break your heart but feed your spirit as well. It's that good!

This book deserves six stars as a five star rating doesn't do this book justice. I strongly suggest you go to your nearest bookstore and buy this book!

I was given this book free of charge by Tyndale Publishing as part of their Blogger Review Program and was not asked to give a favorable review.

posted by PhilNaessens on September 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

You have to remind yourself it's a true story

The Devil in Pew Number Seven is written mostly as a memoir and tribute to Rebecca Nichols Alonzo's parents. It gets a little mushy at times when she constantly refers to them as Momma and Daddy ( I wish she would just call them Ramona and Robert!). However, this was a ...
The Devil in Pew Number Seven is written mostly as a memoir and tribute to Rebecca Nichols Alonzo's parents. It gets a little mushy at times when she constantly refers to them as Momma and Daddy ( I wish she would just call them Ramona and Robert!). However, this was a personal and family tragedy so I can understand how she would want to preserve her parents as saints, as she paints them this way.

Once you get over the part of how her parents met and started out, it gets more interesting. Stick with it...it's worth a read to remind us that sometimes the worst and scariest monsters are real people.

posted by m-e-a on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Devil in Pew Number Seven is an intriguing read. It will sti

    The Devil in Pew Number Seven is an intriguing read. It will stir the mind, challenging you to consider what drives the heart of men. A true story, this book tells of love, loss, and forgiveness. While it is an interesting read, it is also a hard read. Parts of the book will be difficult to understand and other parts will be easy to understand…in Christ.

    Phone Tree Rating: 4/5 Stars ****

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Devil in Pew Number Seven

    I must start this review by saying this book frightened me. I love crime stories and mysteries, but this was a true story and it frightened me, because it truly is a possibility in any day and age.

    In the late 60's Pastor Nichols moved to Sellerstown, North Carolina. A small town, really just a wide spot in the road, named for all the people in the area named Sellers. What Pastor Nichols did not realize was that this small country church, he was the new pastor at, was controlled by a man who was not even an member.

    This story is the story of said man's journey to rid Sellerstown of Pastor Nichols and his family. As he sent in a anonymous letter, they would leave either "walking, crawling, dead or alive." It is truly a time of emotional abuse, terroristic threatenings, bombings and a frightful time for a young family.

    I must say I truly admired the clarity, and the lack of bitterness that Rebecca showed in this book, it was truly an inspiration of forgiveness and grace. 278 pages $14.99 US 4 stars.

    Thanks to Tyndale for providing this book for review. No payment was received for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Excellent book!  This book was hard to put down. I love true sto

    Excellent book!  This book was hard to put down. I love true stories. Such an inspiration on forgiveness. Not sure I would be as forgiving as she is or the courage they have. Would recommend this book to everyone!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    wow what a powerful story of forgivness

    you wont believe this book. I kept thinking to myself this cannot be true,,,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Scourge

    ok..... hisssss

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Sarah

    Seven days.......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This book kept my attention throughout and was very intense. It was also instructive on the power of forgiveness and inspirational for a closer walk with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Inspirational

    This book was very inspirational. The things that happened to her family and their willingless to forgive is just very imspirational. You learn what this family went thru and wht they endured..but you also see them forgive and stand their ground. At the end you get an idea of what it takes to forgive someone and how God's love is so powerful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Excellent book

    This is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    A must read! Amazingly Inspiring!

    This book is a must read for anyone who has a family, lives anywhere, has struggled with forgiveness or just wants to read an inspiring true tale told by someone who lived through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    highly recommended

    It was a very copelling book. The strength and courage of the author to re-live the most horrific time in her young life!!! The fact of having a strong faith to help her through it. The power of forgivness. Makes you think about what is really important!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Great read

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    Haunting Testimony to the Power of Forgiveness

    The Devil in Pew Number Seven is the story of a small-town preacher who made enemies with a controlling, manipulative, vindictive man by daring to change his church and his town for the better. It is the story of a man, called by God and unwilling to be scared off by Satan, his family, and the terrors they lived through.

    The author reminds the reader early on that this is a true story and warns that while at times it may seem improbable, far-fetched, or even impossible, it wasn't; it happened. It happened to the author and her family. That small-town preacher was the author's father, Robert Nichols.

    The Devil in Pew Number Seven is the story of one man's devotion to God and another man's worship of control and chaos. It is a disturbing story, one that will leave the reader wondering how one man could be so hateful, how another could choose to keep himself and his family in harms way, and how the child who witnessed it all could grow into a young woman brave enough to retell this story, her story, even so many years later.

    In the end, it is only by forgiving the man who brought such terror into her life that Rebecca was able to move forward. In forgiving her tormentor, Rebecca demonstrated the power of forgiveness and the change it enables in both the forgiven and the forgiver. The Devil in Pew Number Seven is a haunting testimony to the power of the Lord, the strength of His presence in our lives, and the healing nature of forgiveness.

    I received this book from Tyndale Publishing in exchange for my honest review. The thoughts printed in this review are entirely my own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    modern day Job.

    If ever there was a modern day Job, it was Pastor Nichols. For one man and his family to endure such trauma yet never doubt God is an inspiration for us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2