BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Devil in Winter (Wallflower Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best in Wallflower Series

St. Vincent was introduced in the previous two books (Summer and Autumn) and he could have been dismissed as a cad or a one-dimensional character. But that would have been too easy, too predictable. There had to be more to this guy than what we had been shown and the...
St. Vincent was introduced in the previous two books (Summer and Autumn) and he could have been dismissed as a cad or a one-dimensional character. But that would have been too easy, too predictable. There had to be more to this guy than what we had been shown and there had to be the right woman to bring out the good. Enter Evangeline Jenner, the shyest of the Wallflowers. These two are by far the most interesting couples in romance and ones you root for the most.

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This couple is great.

This was another re-read. I am trying to get through all the Wallflower series. This one is one of my favorites in the group but I just really like St. Vincent!

posted by curlyloulou on February 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book by Lisa Kleypas

    I am a new reader of Lisa Kleypas. She has completely touched me with this story. I prefer romance novels in which the heroine is not perfect. Evie was truly refreshing and her blossoming relationship with the so-called rake St. Vincent was a page turner. I liked that Kleypas did not hide Evie's stutter or St. Vincent's past history as a womanizer ( as if just seeing her for the first time reformed him). For a romance novel, it was realistic and entertaining

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Devil in winter by Lisa Kleypas

    I thought this was an excellent book. If you are a big romantic at heart and like the idea of two people who on the surface seem polar opposites but then find their way to love you are going to really enjoy this treat. Her books are interesting enough to catch your attention but not too far fetched that you lose interest. I love how the characters reveal themselves and then find themselves tested. This is by far one of my favorite books that she has created. It is not for those who are dower but for the everlasting romantic that likes to live and believe romance is still alive. I highly recommend reading this and the other wallflower books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    It started out with a proposal that offered cash on his part, and freedom on hers. This sensual story begins with a carriage ride where St. Vincent and Miss Jenner are to be wed. Only condition, made on her part, is that after the first consummation, there would be no more love making. Being St. Vincent, gifted with the art of seduction, he sets himself to bend the repulsive proposition. But a few stolen kisses, wicked words, and sensual skin to skin contact, would never budge Evie. Determined, St. Vincent strained himself with work while he makes plans to stay women free for 3 months. Little did this god like creature, with a heartless soul, know that his cold heart would be warming up to the love the shy flower, Evie, had to offer.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Best in Wallflower Series

    St. Vincent was introduced in the previous two books (Summer and Autumn) and he could have been dismissed as a cad or a one-dimensional character. But that would have been too easy, too predictable. There had to be more to this guy than what we had been shown and there had to be the right woman to bring out the good. Enter Evangeline Jenner, the shyest of the Wallflowers. These two are by far the most interesting couples in romance and ones you root for the most.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MAJOR KUDOS TO ALL OF LK'S NOVELS

    Each story line is enticingly satisfying in ever way, with completely different scenarios. When she writes the sensual passionate scenes between all the characters involved it isn't just gratifying, they are intensely unbearable. Every single moment that is shared, your pulse is repeatedly thundering against your skin, a mile a minute, past the point of no return. Your loins become immensely moistened, and lite a blaze. Your attention is captured as a fish dangling on a mightly hook. Unable to cease reading due to the fact you might miss something. And lack of sleep doesn't become an issue; especially when your mind is wrapped around the concept and hope that the hero & heroine will be satified with each other at the very end.

    Knowing Lisa Kleypas's writing abilities very well with the numerous novels by her I've read thus far; she always writes with a happy ending in mind. However, discovering the journey that is taken is truly magnificent and inspiring. AN EXCELLENT WRITER/AUTHOR BEYOND COMPARE.. EVERY SINGLE ONE OF HER NOVELS DESERVES WELL BEYOND A 5 STAR RATING!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    Best book ever... a must read

    I have read pretty much all of Lisa Kleypas' books and I must say that this is one of the best she's written. I could not put it down...I finished reading it over a weekend. It's better to read the first two books ''Secrets of a Summer Night' and 'It Happened One Autumn''before this one as you will understand the story and the characters much better.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    loved!!!

    This is the best one of the wallflowers series

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Sweet, Smart & Sexy

    One of my favorite Kleypas books - I loved it. Evie is an unexpected heroine with quiet wisdom and strength, and although St. Vincent begins the story as a somewhat unlikable rake, your feelings for him will evolve as his feelings grow for Evie. Unfolds in a lovely way - a very enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    DEVIL IN WINTER

    Becoming acquainted with Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent, in "It Happened One Autumn", does not prepare you for the total transformation he unwillingly and unwittingly undergoes in "Devil In Winter". He appears to be the epitome of a self-absorbed, smug, aristocratic, leech. The only thing missing in St. Vincent's life is substance. He has made his life a quest of women, and his own idle pursuits. Sebastian is empty and shows no indication of a want or need to improve himself. Until he finds he is without money, power, and a best friend that had always stayed by him. He is at the depths of despair when an unexpected proposition comes his way; one that could quite possibly change him from such a miserable excuse for a human being to a hero. It seems impossible to him, but something in Evie, urges him to become something he could never envision himself to be.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This couple is great.

    This was another re-read. I am trying to get through all the Wallflower series. This one is one of my favorites in the group but I just really like St. Vincent!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read for Any Season

    I loved this book. I am a huge fan of Lisa Kleypas, and I was not disappointed. I was really looking forward to reading this book, and it was just as good as I hoped it would be. Evangeline Jenner and Sebastian, Viscount St. Vincent were a great match. At first, Sebastian definitely comes off a bit arrogant. However, from the beginning, I could see traces of a true hero. Evangeline came out of her shell beautifully. The various events that LK included added to the story. From the death of Evie's father to Evie's near "kidnapping" to the celibacy oath to Sebastian's own sickroom struggle, the plot kept you on your toes.

    It was well written and very romantic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2009

    It was pretty good

    The story of St. Vincent and Evie was very sweet and enjoyable but I found that the character development was too fast. St. Vincent suddenly changed from a bad to a reformed rake too quickly for my taste. i would have loved to see a little more spice in their story but over all it was nice. i liked the fact that we get to see the previous characters of the other wallflower series. I like to see them with their couple and so happily at that!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    Fantastic!

    I can't believe some of these reviews that didn't like the book! This was one of the most fantastic reads of my life, to be honest. I picked it up used and was excited to read a Kleypas because Julia Quinn spoke so highly of her. I could not put it down! St. Vincent was one of the most perfect hero's I've ever read - watching his transformation was so great. And Evie, likewise, is one of the best heroines. I did have to put the book down periodically during the blood-letting scene as I was actually sick to my stomach (and riding the bus, too!), but that did not at all hinder my enjoyment. After I read Devil, I read the rest of the series, and Devil is still my absolute favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    not the best in wallflowers

    This story in the series was the most boring novels I've ever read. I loved the first two, and when I read the excerpt of this one I was really looking forward to it. Much to my disappointment there seemed to be little romance, and lots of sex scenes between the couple. I found the 'chemistry' between them to be unconvincing and the more Sebastian reformed throughout the story, the more unrealistic he became. I will read the next wallflower's book just to find out what happens with Daisy, but personally I hope the author doesn't put Evie and Sebastian in the story too much. They kind of annoy me.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2006

    A Promising Read

    This is Lisa Kleypas¿ third book of the Wallflower series. Continuing with the girls introduced in Secrets of a Summer Night, Devil in Winter focuses on the characters Evangeline Jenner (daughter of Ivo Jenner introduced in Dreaming of You) and Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent (from It Happened One Autumn). Though strikingly beautiful, Evie is painfully shy and when under duress has a notable stutter. An heiress, she is overlooked by any suitor and left to the confines of her verbally abusive and constraining relatives on her mothers side. Her mother had scandalized her family wilth her relationship to club owner, Ivo Jenner and had died during pregnancy. Now, with her father ailing, Evie is pressured by her family to marry her cousin in order for them to receive her inheritance and maintain the control over her life. Wanting to be with her father during his final days and obtain her own freedom she arrives uninvited at the home of St. Vincent with a proposal of marriage. Though this meeting could scandalize her for life, Evie is hoping that her wealth will convince Sebastian to marry her, for he has recently been depleted of his funds. Sebastian, a dashing rake is as different from Evie as night is from day. With the looks of Adonis and the tongue of the devil he is confident, powerful and suave and has charmed most of the women in England. Now the question remains: will he marry her for money alone, or will the heart of the devil succumb to love¿s mysterious power? Because ¿who knows the heart of The Devil in Winter¿?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Great characters - good story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Bad Boy

    Sebastian is the rake you have to love (and every woman wants to tame), and Evie the stuttering, shy wallflower. This was my favorite Wallflower Book, and I did really love all of them. The story starts at the end of It Happened One Autumn. You really can't appreciate this story if you haven't read the first two wallflower novels.
    It was the first real revelation of Evie's life away from the wallflowers and you experience watching her come out of her shell and show how much courage she really has. Both married out of desparation, Sebastion for money and Evie for protection. After many trials throught the early stages of thier marriage arrangement, they begin to realize they really do have a "love match".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Devil in Winter

    It was okay. I don't think it was amazing, and I don't think I'll read it again. It's good for a library read, but I wouldn't want to spend money on this book. The story line is pretty good, but the character development was way to fast. It's like one page he was this big rake, and then the next page wham bam, he's reformed. That's the only problem I have with this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    Sweet, Sexy, and Wonderful

    I love this book soooo much!!! It was the first Lisa Kleypas I read and I was hooked. I adore these kinds of books, where a shy/bookish wallflower and a rake with a heart of gold fall in love. The thing I ahve trouble with is that sometimes when romance writers write their heroines they just either end of being bitchy and unlikeable or kinda ditsy. But Lisa Kleypas has the best heroines and I especially love Evie. I relate to being the shy girl that guys treat like a piece of furniture'hey! I'm not a coat rack:''. And with he help of her hero she comes into her own, becomes more confident and finds love. I also love St Vincent. I feel like he's a real rake, but in the end, even though his still wicked, he really loves Evie. I fell in love with this book and these characters.And in the end it is also one of the sweetest romances I've read. Highly Recomended!! One of my fav books ever!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2007

    Best Lisa Kleypas Book!

    This is, by far, my favorite Lisa Kleypas book! And whatever you do, don't listen to those bad reviews of this book! I have read them, and can tell they are just writer wannabees and jealous of Lisa Kleypas! When you hear 'too contrived' from a reviewer, that is a sure bet that she is a writer (and probably just a wannabee writer). Or if the reviewer says, 'too cliched', that's another sign of a writer wannabee who is jealous. But, all that aside, this book is deliciously and devilishly great! I wasn't disappointed in the least! I read it in 24 hours! And have since re-read it several times! Love every bit of it! And back to the writer wannabees. I'm one too. But I'm not that insecure to be jealous of Lisa Kleypas (who is the Queen of Historical Romance). Quite the contrary. I read all her books, then re-read them. Trying to learn from the best! And believe me, she is the BEST!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19