Customer Reviews for

Devil in a Kilt

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love in Scotland

    I love this book. It is the first book by Welfonder and after reading Seducing a Scottish Bride, I've gone back and read all of these books and loved each one. Especially the use of a little dog in almost all her books. Linnet MacDonnell marries Duncan MacKenzie as a way to bring peace between clans. MacKenzie wants to use Lady Linnet's special gift regarding his son. Their relationship is the story and a wonderful story it is. This love story has strong characters, is well written and has a great story that introduces us to other characters that we will see in Welfonder's other books. If you love medieval Scotland romand stories--this is a Must Read. I greatly recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    New fan of Welfonder

    I bought this book on the recommendation of a friend.She went on and on how she liked the book so I bought and it didn't disappoint. I liked the story plot although I wanted to hit her father for dumping her, however her brothers were a loyal bunch for all they could do in that time period. I like how she was gotten because of her psychic gifts and would not use them to satisfy him. I liked this book so much I am looking forward to the next in the series. This is the first of the series.
    I liked the way the author wrote as well. She gets to the point and the story is so good she doesn't use a lot of filler stuff like some authors do. I hate reading lots of things about the country side or the decorations of the places in the book. Small amounts are ok for a story but some do go on and on with it and that slows the book down to me. This author doesn't do that. I like her style of writing and would compare her to Julia Quinn, Lisa Kleypas and Candice Camp in the historical arena. If you like their style give this author a try. She won't disappoint.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2003

    AWESOME FIRST NOVEL !!!!

    This was one of the best.... cannot put down romance novels I have read in a long, long time. Sue-Ellen you have written a book with characters that will not soon be forgotten. A book that I will read more than once. I absolutely loved it !!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2003

    DEVIL IN A KILT IS READING TO THE HILT!

    Sue-Ellen Welfonder gives a meaty, educational performance to her novels, complementing a woman's intelligence as well as swelling her heart with desire and passion. I've read all her novels, recently purchasing Master Of The Highlands, and I'm eager to dive into the pages of this book and be once more swept away by one of America's hottest romance writers of this time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    Welfonder is one of my all time favoriate authors. Will read anything she writes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Excellent Read!!!

    Love, love, loved this book. Highly Recommend!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Love the Devil

    Love, love this book! Hilarious, sexy and hard to put down, I would recommend this to every romance reader!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Scottish Highlands, Sexy romps, Chivalrous knights, Tumultuous adventures... Oooh La La!

    I love books about the Scottish Highlands and this is one of the best historical romances I've read. Sexy romps, chivalrous knights, tumultuous adventures.... It had enough twists & turns to make it near impossible to put down. This one is a keeper!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    We love you Sue-Ellen

    This is an astonishing read!!! Don't even start reading 'Devil In A Kilt' until you have enough time to finish it. It's that hard to put down. In this book. You will be transported in time, to medieval Scotland, to live among the people created in the pages of this book. They come alive, they whisper their story in your ear. Their heartache becomes your heartache. Their love becomes a part of you. This is a book to be cherished. We love you Sue-Ellen Welfonder.!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Outstanding!

    I read this book in a day. I just couldn't put it down. I had to know how it was going to end. If you love Scottish medievals, you will not be disappointed in this book. I can't wait to read Marmaduke's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    Enchanting Scottish Historical

    In her debut novel, Ms. Welfonder has painted a vivid picture of life in an early fourteenth century Scottish castle. <br><br> Having despaired of ever being as beautiful as her six older sisters, Linnet MacDonnell has resigned herself to an arranged marriage to Duncan MacKenzie, laird of the MacKenzies, also known as the Black Stag for his fierceness in battle. But Linnet knows that Duncan only desires her as his wife for her ¿sight¿ which will enable her to tell Duncan whether Robbie is his son or that of his evil half-brother, Kenneth. <br><br> Linnet¿s life at Eilean Creag, Duncan¿s castle, is much improved from her existence under the roof of her drunken father. Duncan is kind to her, though he has made it clear from the start that he was interested in a marriage in name only and wished only for Linnet to care for Robbie and discover the identity of the boy¿s father. Duncan¿s inability to love again after the treachery of his first wife is an obstacle that only Linnet¿s love can heal if he will but open his heart. <br><br> Written with much emotion and details into the life in a fourteenth century Scottish castle, DEVIL IN A KILT is a thoroughly enjoyable historical. While the supporting characters add surprising depth to this novel, the love of the heroine proves that love can heal even the most hardened of hearts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2001

    A Stunning Historical Debut

    Sue-Ellen Welfonder bursts onto the romance scene like a comet with her first novel, DEVIL IN A KILT. With large doses of steamy romance, a smattering of mystery and a pinch of the paranormal, she entraps the reader and holds on tightly for every page. When you start reading this book, make sure you have plenty of time and a good night's sleep, because you won't put it down until you read 'the end.' A fabulous, enthralling read and a definite keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Couldn't put it down

    Ms Welfonder has created a wonderful tale of love and second chances. From page one until the last, you'll be swept into the lives of the hero and heroine as if you're actually there, witnessing the path they must travel to find their destiny. Devil in a Kilt is a must read. I anxiously wait for Sue-Ellen's next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2001

    A New Author To Watch

    A hero to die for, a heroine strong enough to tame him, and the journey of new discoveries. DEVIL IN A KILT has everything that romance fans love. This is one book you won't be able to put down. Sue-Ellen Welfonder has a new home on my keeper shelf!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2