Customer Reviews for

Devil in the Details: Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Funny and touching

I often to recommend this book to others but couldn't recall the title. Humorous memoir of a serious subject.

posted by 3776326 on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The topic was interesting - but the execution just didn't hold m

The topic was interesting - but the execution just didn't hold my interest. It certainly was not a page turner, though I'm glad I finished it and got the perspective of the author, but I probably wouldn't recommend it to anyone who is looking for something engaging.

posted by 12434513 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Funny and touching

    I often to recommend this book to others but couldn't recall the title. Humorous memoir of a serious subject.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    The topic was interesting - but the execution just didn't hold m

    The topic was interesting - but the execution just didn't hold my interest. It certainly was not a page turner, though I'm glad I finished it and got the perspective of the author, but I probably wouldn't recommend it to anyone who is looking for something engaging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    awesome

    This book is very enlighning and shows how hard life was for Jennifer Traig. No child shoud to go through that stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Wow!

    Real funny stuff. This is the kind of memoir anyone can enjoy. I read it in two days and talked about it for five. Good luck to the author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Still laughing

    HILARIOUS! I am obsessed with this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Heartbreaking

    I was enthralled by this book. Traig uses humor to describe her adolescent battles with OCD. It was highly readable and will probably be a help to others with this disorder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    As someone who suffered from similar symptoms of OCD at such a y

    As someone who suffered from similar symptoms of OCD at such a young age it was a truly comforting book in a lot of ways. You can feel so along when you live so much within yourself that you don't realize other people are struggling in a similar manner. I read it at such an appropriate time in my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Zionist

    How can someone unremorsefully admit to joining a zionist youth grp?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Devil in the Details: Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood by Jenni

    Devil in the Details: Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood by Jennifer Traig falls right in the middle for me.  I picked this book up while on my road trip, after having been recommended to read it by a family member.

    I enjoyed Jennifer's tales of her obsessions, both with germs and religious scrupulosity, because of the humor and honesty she used when describing herself as a teenager.  She knew she was obsessive and a lot to handle, but was able to tell her stories with a positive twist.

    However, about halfway through I decided I didn't need to know much more about her life, so some of the stories seemed to me a bit superfluous.

    Even so, they were humorous and thought-provoking.  I understand how someone could obsess over germs and cleanliness (some of my friends will attest to my disgust with dirty things) but Jennifer also had an interesting issue: scrupulosity, where she took the Jewish ideals, customs, and rules and followed them strictly, but also made up a bunch of her own.

    For instance, she was not allowed to worship graven images.  However, this translated in her mind to not being able to make eye contact with teachers and also to not being able to look at paintings in a museum.

    But as a whole, Devil in the Details was entertaining and a light-hearted way to look at a serious mental illness that affects people, and I do believe it brought me a greater understanding of compulsions.

    What's a memoir that you enjoy reading?

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    Good Read

    It was easy to get lost in Jennifer Traig's obsessive-compulsive world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    As someone with OCD tendencies, this book was a total win. She's hilarious but truthful every step of the way. Nut job, but then, who isn't? :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I don't know what to say.

    Jennifer Traig has created a picture of her childhood and adolescence that feels real and lifelike to the reader. She is humorous, interesting, and well-rounded in her writing. This book actually helped me understand myself as I am currently suffering from undiagnosed anorexia.

    All in all, fantastic work. No complaints, except that chronological rather than topical organization might have been for the best. I do find myself lost and now prefer to reread in fragments rather than in one go.

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Honest, refreshing, and amazingly funny! A 10 out of 10!

    While browsing the clearance table, I came across this little jewel. It looked like it could be funny and hey, I like to organize my skittles in just the same manner so why not buy it. It was also priced at $1.99 so even if it wasn't good, I wouldn't have spent too much money. Imagine my surprise when this ended up being my best read of the whole year. I absolutely love this book. Every once in a while, I will reread it and laugh all over again. There is no embarassing moment left to the imagination. It's an honest representation of those painful adolescent years as well as an acurate look into the development of OCD. I've even lent it out to all of my friends and they all loved it as much as me. Definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Self-deprecating and insightful.

    A great read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Witty and Endearing Encounter with OCD

    In this bittersweet memoir, Jennifer Traig laughs about her puzzling problems growing up with obsessive compulsive disorder in an era before OCD was a recognized disorder. With a witty humor, she describes trials that would have permanently scarred a less resilient youth. In a world where OCD is stereotyped in pop culture, TV shows, and movies it is a relief to find someone willing to provide a more realistic, though upbeat, view of this very debilitating disorder. I imagine many people will be able to find a little of themselves in Jennifer Traig, and teens now facing such issues will find the upbeat happy ending comforting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    A Great Read!

    I loved this book and it was funny all the way through! I would definitely recommend it to anyone, especially someone who enjoys a good laugh. Read it, you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2006

    Humorous and helpful

    I have always been interested in the experience of persons with OCD, so naturally, I picked this one up. I was hooked from the get-go. Traig uses humor throughout her memoir. You get a better understanding of what the disorder feels like through her examples at the end of the chapters. Devil in the Details is one of the best (most entertaining) accounts of OCD that I have had the pleasure of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    i love the book

    i live in the home town of this lady, i get to meet her in two weeks, i love how she descibes her battle with ocd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2004

    Wow! This is REALLY funny!

    I so enjoyed reading this book, I wished there were several more chapters! The author's (and her family's) incredibly witty take on girlhood, with the added challenges of OCD, left me laughing out loud every few minutes, and gasping or crying in between. This is a must read for anyone who appreciates Seinfeldesque humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Admiration for Jennifer Trait

    I enjoyed this book immensely. I think she performed a great service for others with OCD. I admire her for sharing her experience. It can give others hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2