Customer Reviews for

Devil of the Highlands

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

a fabulous medieval romance

In 1273 England, Lady Edda asks King Edward to arrange for her stepdaughter Evelinde of d¿Aumesbury to marry the ¿Devil of Donnachaidh¿. The stepmother loathes her late husband¿s offspring and detests sharing the fruits of her deceased husband¿s barony, which is beneat...
In 1273 England, Lady Edda asks King Edward to arrange for her stepdaughter Evelinde of d¿Aumesbury to marry the ¿Devil of Donnachaidh¿. The stepmother loathes her late husband¿s offspring and detests sharing the fruits of her deceased husband¿s barony, which is beneath her needs as it is She also wants to punish Evelinde for being the brave daughter of her despicable dead spouse; so assumes the Scottish aristocratic barbarian will be a perfect brute for Evelinde. The monarch arranges for the couple to meet. Each is shocked that their preconceptions re the other is totally wrong. She expected an abusive thug, but he is kind and caring; he anticipated a cold aloof shrew, but she is warm and daring.

After they exchange marital vows, they head to his home in Scotland as she wonders why the nickname as he nothing like his ferocious reputation. She learns the epithet was given to him due to the murder of his father and the alleged suicide of his cousin; everyone assumes he caused both. Everyone except Evelinde until someone tries to kill her. She wonders if her husband is actually insane or is someone trying to make him seem like a berserker murderer; she plans to learn the truth or die trying.

Starting with the evil stepmother, DEVIL OF THE HIGHLANDS is a fabulous medieval romance starring two charming courageous characters. Evelinde is somewhat typical of the sub-genre except that she matures with a keen understanding that the man she loves proves his caring of her and his people through what he does for them. The whodunit adds to a strong thirteenth century tale as the heroine realizes her spouse is the angel of Donnachaidh.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It was ok...

I did enjoy this book, but not enough to buy the next one. I absolutely love her vampire series and i just read kresley coles highlander series, so i was jonesing for more scots. I say stick with the vamps for ms sands, but if you want a good highlander read, go with kr...
I did enjoy this book, but not enough to buy the next one. I absolutely love her vampire series and i just read kresley coles highlander series, so i was jonesing for more scots. I say stick with the vamps for ms sands, but if you want a good highlander read, go with kresley cole or karen marie moning

posted by 7534992 on September 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fabulous medieval romance

    In 1273 England, Lady Edda asks King Edward to arrange for her stepdaughter Evelinde of d¿Aumesbury to marry the ¿Devil of Donnachaidh¿. The stepmother loathes her late husband¿s offspring and detests sharing the fruits of her deceased husband¿s barony, which is beneath her needs as it is She also wants to punish Evelinde for being the brave daughter of her despicable dead spouse; so assumes the Scottish aristocratic barbarian will be a perfect brute for Evelinde. The monarch arranges for the couple to meet. Each is shocked that their preconceptions re the other is totally wrong. She expected an abusive thug, but he is kind and caring; he anticipated a cold aloof shrew, but she is warm and daring.<BR/><BR/>After they exchange marital vows, they head to his home in Scotland as she wonders why the nickname as he nothing like his ferocious reputation. She learns the epithet was given to him due to the murder of his father and the alleged suicide of his cousin; everyone assumes he caused both. Everyone except Evelinde until someone tries to kill her. She wonders if her husband is actually insane or is someone trying to make him seem like a berserker murderer; she plans to learn the truth or die trying.<BR/><BR/>Starting with the evil stepmother, DEVIL OF THE HIGHLANDS is a fabulous medieval romance starring two charming courageous characters. Evelinde is somewhat typical of the sub-genre except that she matures with a keen understanding that the man she loves proves his caring of her and his people through what he does for them. The whodunit adds to a strong thirteenth century tale as the heroine realizes her spouse is the angel of Donnachaidh.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful

    I LOVED this book as well as Lynsay Sands, she is down right amazing. I did a little crying, a lot of laughing, and even some hating, but in the end I was willing to tell all my friends this is a MUST read and one of my favorite books. The plot was great, the characters seem so real and I was free falling into a story of old but a plot of new. I have read almost every book Lynsay Sands has written and have yet to be disappointed. If you are a person who loves romance and a good suspense then I would recommend reading every one of Lynsay Sands books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    It was ok...

    I did enjoy this book, but not enough to buy the next one. I absolutely love her vampire series and i just read kresley coles highlander series, so i was jonesing for more scots. I say stick with the vamps for ms sands, but if you want a good highlander read, go with kresley cole or karen marie moning

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Manufactured Drivel

    I hardly know where to begin. This book was one of the worst if not worst historical romance novels I have ever read. Lynsay Sands should be ashamed of herself. (Probably a pseudonym anyway)This book was manufactured drivel. My guess is that the publisher went to Ms. Sands and asked her to write a story and provided her with a framework or formula to write around. Clearly she did not care for any of these characters because she did not develop them in any way. For example, she could have developed the evil stepmother further or she could have expanded upon the hero and his travails. Furthermore, there was NO conflict between the hero and heroine. During these tough economic times, I feel ripped off. I paid $7.99 plus tax for this garbage and now I will be forced to throw this book in the trash. I refuse to pass it on so as to not waste anyone's time and it will not find a home on my bookshelf.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    HORRIBLE!

    I picked up this book at the grocery store because I liked the cover (Nathan Kamp is the eye candy.) I've read so many Highlander novels and love me some Scots. Even if I don't particularly like a book I'll finish it just to see what happens. In the case of this book I COULD NOT FINISH IT! It was that bad. Please save your money; it was horrible. I have no idea why some of these other reviewers are giving it high marks.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    it is nice to read a book where the man chases the woman instead of the other way a round. i loved the book will keep to read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    Definite Must Read

    This book was extremely enjoyable. I loved the intrigue, the romance, the suspense and the humor was through out. This book was a terrific fun read. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Let me start by saying that I love Lynsay Sands, her writing sty

    Let me start by saying that I love Lynsay Sands, her writing style and sense of humor are fantastic. But this book kind of fell flat for me. It lacked the humor that I know and love. The characters were just okay, the story line was just... Eh. Not what I come to expect from a Lynsay Sands book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I loved, loved, LOVED, this book.  I found it funny, sexy and se

    I loved, loved, LOVED, this book.  I found it funny, sexy and serious.   I didn't want to put it down!  Thank you, Lynsay Sands, for a fantastic book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Exciting

    Lovely and suspenseful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. Cant wait to read more of Lynsay Sands books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Top Notch...........................................................

    As much a mystery as a romance. Great hero---great heroine. Good mystery. Nice secondary characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Horrible beginning but the rest was good

    This book started out so poorly that I almost gave it up, but I'm glad I did not. Predictable but enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well¿I¿ve fallen in love with another highlander. And he is nick

    Well…I’ve fallen in love with another highlander. And he is nicknamed ‘The Devil’. How, awesome is that? I liked this book. It started off with some awesome passion, and then there was some mystery added in, and I was a goner. Cullen really got me from the first meeting. He didn’t fit his nickname, but he doesn’t talk a lot so I can see how people can come to that conclusion, but then he goes and totally woos Evelinde in a very, very nice scene by the water. *SWOON. I also really liked the mystery aspect of this novel. I liked that it affected them at ‘home’ and wasn’t about some enemy clan. Now I thought I had ‘The Villain’ all figured out, but this book was tricky and when it was all revealed I was happily surprised.  This book kept me on my toes, kept me thinking, and kept me falling for Cullen. 




    Good:




    Cullen—I loved when he tells her he will try and tell her as well as show her what he is thinking. Damn….just damn.




    Evelinde—She had a pretty crappy life, but is not willing to settle for anything other than what she wants.




    Bad: 




    I find there was a lack of depth in their romance. I guess I just wasn’t feeling their love too much.




    Overall (Writing style, story line, and general):




    Overall I really enjoyed this novel. I liked the mystery, I enjoyed the characters, and swooned over the male character, and I found the writing as easy to follow as any writing about Scotland during the time of Lairds and Highlanders could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Interesting fun read

    Cullen is strong honorable and man of few words. Evelynde is adventurous and often finds herself in embarrassing situations. She brings laughter and joy into his life. He brings safety and love into hers. It is a believable enjoyable read with the added fun of using the clues the main characters find to discover how why and who committed the murders. I liked the fact that although there were love scenes there was much more to the story and characters than just continuous sex scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    A good story

    I'm not s romance fan, but I liked this book (I just fast forwarded through the sex parts I prefer for that to be left to my imagination). The story is engaging. I liked the character development. The woman who read the audio book had a pleasant voice and pronounced all the words correctly. this was a good purchase

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've read many books by Lynsay Sands and every single one of the

    I've read many books by Lynsay Sands and every single one of them is a great read! Definitely a favorite author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good storie

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Make it a Movie!!!! Excellent Read!!!!

    I really enjoyed this book from beginning to end!!! You could just visualize the scene as you read!!! Loved the main characters!!! There is humor, drama, romance, mystery in this novel!!! Definitely will read more books from this author!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    a fun adventure

    this book was fabulous. it made me cover my mouth that had dropped open with giggles several times!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9