Customer Reviews for

The Devilish Pleasures of a Duke (Boscastle Family Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The Boscastle we have waited for

    In 1815 the widow Emma Boscastle is the exception to the family¿s tendency to cause mayhem and scandal. However, the ¿Dainty Dictator¿ as her siblings affectionately and with some trepidation call her, feels with each of them married, the family reputation should improve and she will be able to run her girls academy in peace. Heir to a dukedom, Adrian Ruxley has just come home after time as a mercenary. His estrangement with his father is legendary and he plans to keep it that way. That is until he sees Emma for the first time at a wedding where she accosts some aristocrat for accosting a maid only the maid¿s beau punches out Adrian. He has fallen in love at first sight and knows he must change his behavior if he is to successfully court and make her his wife. However, before entering the lioness¿ lair, he must run the gamut of his family who remain embarrassed by his previous vocation and hers, as her siblings are very protective of their Dainty Dictator. Then there is Emma who is attracted to Adrian, but has doubts about taking on another scandalous male. --- Fans of the zany Boscastle brood will appreciate the tale that we have all waited for since book one to learn who is strong enough to match wits while lose pounds of flesh and pint of blood courting Emma. The story line as always is fast-paced and humorous while also returning with the siblings and their spouses from the previous five books, and the hopes of a next generation early Victorian Boscastle saga for a third trilogy. The Boscastle Regency romances are consistently some of the best historicals and this finale enhances that belief. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adrian and Emma - I LOVED IT!!!

    I cannot say enough about Jillian Hunter and the Boscastle family series of books. By far, I found that I absolutely adored Adrian Ruxley to no end and only could dream of a man as desirable as he (other than my husband of course). Adrian and Emma, although total opposites, made the most spectacular love match. I can't wait for more of Ms. Hunter's books to arrive on the shelves, especially more of the Boscastle family and their seductive male heros. I recommend all of her books with all the passion in my blood!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic!

    I have read nearly all of Jillian Hunter's Boscastle Series and I have to say that this is my favorite. Adrian Ruxley and Emma Boscastle are so perfect for you each other you can't help but hope they get together in the end. Adrian has spent his entire life trying to find someone, anyone, who will see him for what he really is, despite rumors of his wayward life. Emma has spent her life trying to master her wild Boscastle blood. She lives life bound by convention and formality. But perhaps she has finally met the one man who can help her unleash her wild nature and show her that sometimes breaking the rules is the key to unlocking your happiness. I would encourage any and all who have read the previous Boscastle books to pick this one up. Also, if you are new to the Boscastle series, even though this book is not the first in the series, it's not a bad place to start. To the disappointed reviewer, all I can say is that perhaps you did not read this book thoroughly enough. I for one thought that both hero and heroine were incredibly well developed and that all parts of the plot fit together quite nicely for a well-rounded novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    Memmorable!

    I've only recently discovered Jillian Hunter and her irrascible Boscastle family. I am reading their stories in order, enjoying each and every one! I have to say that Adrian is my favorite male lead thus far. I understand that there needs to be suspense in a story and often a chase of some sort, but it's nice to occasionally have the man be so ironclad certain of his feelings first and to honestly share them with himself and his object of affection. Adrian is drawn to Emma from first sight at the wedding of one of her former students. He can't help himself and recognizes how strongly he is attracted from the beginning, as well as what that means in their society. Despite his horrific past and his resultant reputation, he decides this is too serious a pursuit to be underhanded or sneaky, thus his honest and hopeful presentation to Emma at the same time that he respectfully maneuvers around her interferring, protective brood. He's the best of both worlds, open with his heartfelt admissions yet willing and able to defend his chosen one to the death if necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2007

    Disappointed

    I was disappoined in this continuation of the Boscastle saga. The basic story line was ok although somewhat unbelievable. Adrian's character was not as well developed as he should have been. Characters such as her nemesis Alice and her charity case Harriet appeared to be just stuck in the book without real depth. I have read the other two books in this trilogy and they were very entertaining but this one truely was not her best effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Who Would Have Thought...

    After the 5 more rambunctious and scandalous Boscastles had their stories, I was worried that The Dainty Dictator's story would be a bit of a let down. Boy was happily proved wrong. There hasn't been as fun a Boscastle since the first one between Grayson and Jane. With a love story that is sweet, lead characters that are charming, a family that is well integrated better than the previous books, this one has it all. Do not miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    The Dainty Dictator Finds Love

    In the third and final book in the second Boscastle trilogy Jillian Hunter has once again written a tale that will entertain and thrill even the pickiest reader. Her writing style is finely detailed and her characters are full of mischief which is definitely a winning combination. I do have to say that I¿ve anxiously awaited this book to be published. THE DEVILISH PLEASURES OF A DUKE focuses on Emma Boscastle, known to her family as the Dainty Dictator. Emma is a widow who deems it her duty to try to keep the unruly Boscastle clan in line. She runs a girls academy teaching manners and the appropriate traits necessary for an English Lady. Her entire life is focused on making sure everyone around her stays out of scandalous situations and is above reproach. With the Boscastles this is a task not many could achieve and Emma has had her hands full. Emma herself is above reproach until Adrian Ruxley enters the picture. He is the son of the Duke of Scarfield and has been running from his own demons. Seems his father and he argued while he was growing up and tired of his father¿s accusations, Adrian left to become a mercenary much to his family¿s embarrassment. Once he sees Emma he¿s determined to have her and vows to change his life to a more suitable one in which Emma can survive happily. This means making amends with his estranged family besides convincing Emma¿s brothers that he is suitable husband material. With Jillian Hunter, nothing is mundane and the initial meeting of these two is hilarious. At a wedding, Emma is accosted by William, the man who has been courting her. Well actually a maid is accosted by William, Emma intervenes, she¿s insulted and Adrian steps in to defend her. The maid¿s boyfriend thinks Adrian was the one who was the villain and hits him over the head with a chair. With Adrian unconscious and in need of nursing, Emma feels it¿s her duty to take care of him while he heals. Yep, it¿s definitely not a normal introduction but that¿s the fun of reading a Jillian Hunter novel ¿ normal isn¿t in her vocabulary! Fun and laughter is definitely on the top of her list though. Character development is excellent as I¿ve come to expect from Hunter. Emma and Adrian were so well described that I felt like I¿d known them for years. Letting us know what the other Boscastles have been up to was like getting reacquainted with old friends, for which I was thrilled. This family is so full of fun that reading about them always brings a smile to my face. Sub-characters were also well developed and I can only guess as to which sub-characters will be the main focus of future books. Each would be equally interesting. Scenes were well described and suspense in some of them built until I read as fast as possible. The one scene in which Adrian escapes from the Boscastle home after a liaison with Emma was priceless¿ I don¿t want to spoil it but suffice it to say I laughed at the outcome and cheered for the women who outwitted the Boscastle men! Pitting the men against the women in her books is always fun and gets the reader chuckling out loud. Overall this book is so much fun that you won¿t want to put it down until you¿ve finished. It¿s a great way to spend a day or two and you¿ll enjoy getting reacquainted with the Boscastle clan and introduced more in-depth to The Dainty Dictator who really isn¿t so different than her siblings she just hid her devious traits a bit better. THE DEVILISH PLEASURES OF A DUKE definitely should be added to your Must Read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2