Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Bones (Body Farm Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 156 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not the best, but still strong

While The Devil's Bones, the third forensic thriller by two-person authorial team Jefferson Bass, does not quite live up to the high standard set by previous entries, it's still a compelling read. This time, a pair of cases challenge Dr. Bill Brockton's investigative a...
While The Devil's Bones, the third forensic thriller by two-person authorial team Jefferson Bass, does not quite live up to the high standard set by previous entries, it's still a compelling read. This time, a pair of cases challenge Dr. Bill Brockton's investigative acumen: the death of a woman whose charred remains are discovered in a burned-out car, and a shady Georgia crematorium with some really unconscionable business practiced. If all that weren't enough, the nefarious Garland Hamilton (last seen in 2007's Flesh and Bone) shows up to cause more trouble. Some reviewers have complained that Bass muddied the plot of this mystery by throwing in everything but the proverbial kitchen sink, and that's a valid complaint. By way of comparison, my favorite new thriller of '08 - Crimson Orgy by Austin Williams - weaves a tight narrative that grows more claustrophobic and suspenseful with each chapter. The Devil's Bones could arguably have benefited from some tightening, but fans of the series will still want to give this one a look.

posted by Anonymous on March 3, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Boo

You might know harriet klausner has to come along a stick her nose in and ruin this book. Come on bn, when are you ever going to do something to this egotistical plot spoiling poster? She consistently reveals every detail including the ending of every book she reports. ...
You might know harriet klausner has to come along a stick her nose in and ruin this book. Come on bn, when are you ever going to do something to this egotistical plot spoiling poster? She consistently reveals every detail including the ending of every book she reports. Please ban her, delete all her posts and spare us from her plot spoilers. I cannot tell you how many books she has lost you sales on from ruined plot spoilers.

posted by 8888649 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Not the best, but still strong

    While The Devil's Bones, the third forensic thriller by two-person authorial team Jefferson Bass, does not quite live up to the high standard set by previous entries, it's still a compelling read. This time, a pair of cases challenge Dr. Bill Brockton's investigative acumen: the death of a woman whose charred remains are discovered in a burned-out car, and a shady Georgia crematorium with some really unconscionable business practiced. If all that weren't enough, the nefarious Garland Hamilton (last seen in 2007's Flesh and Bone) shows up to cause more trouble. Some reviewers have complained that Bass muddied the plot of this mystery by throwing in everything but the proverbial kitchen sink, and that's a valid complaint. By way of comparison, my favorite new thriller of '08 - Crimson Orgy by Austin Williams - weaves a tight narrative that grows more claustrophobic and suspenseful with each chapter. The Devil's Bones could arguably have benefited from some tightening, but fans of the series will still want to give this one a look.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Boo

    You might know harriet klausner has to come along a stick her nose in and ruin this book. Come on bn, when are you ever going to do something to this egotistical plot spoiling poster? She consistently reveals every detail including the ending of every book she reports. Please ban her, delete all her posts and spare us from her plot spoilers. I cannot tell you how many books she has lost you sales on from ruined plot spoilers.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Soooo entertaining!

    Another superb Jefferson Bass

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Best one yet!

    This book was so captivating and irresistable that I read it virtually nonstop. My favorite one thus far, I cannot wait to download and read the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Forensics

    You have to love or at least like forensics to read these stories. They are full of information related to the "body farm" in Tennessee. I find this place fascinating and the work they do there just as fascinating. Haven taken the course offered at one time through Barnes and Noble gave me a sneak peek into the thinking of the people behind the CSI's and what they do as well as watching it on television but.... these books, all three give you a whole new look into the working of a pathologist and exactly what is involved in their work. Well written, funny, and the characters are believable. I love these books and hope there will be more in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Loved this book

    I had read the fifth book first and just loved it. Great characters, some of the most detailed and unique I've ever seen. The stories are complex, multifaceted, and if you like forensic stories, Patricia Cornwell, autopsies, murder investigations, etc, then this is a must for you. Extreme technical accuracy. When we read book #5, I went out and bought the first four in the series and my wife and I devoured them one by one. It is not necessary to read them in sequence, but it will help as some events and characters are referred to downstream and come into play in subsequent stories (in a peripheral way). Start with Carved in Bone (#1), then Flesh & Bone, The Devil's Bones, Bones of Betrayal, The Bone Thief, then The Bone Yard (hardback as I write this). You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    I recommend

    This is the first time I have read any of Jefferson Bass' books and I really enjoyed it. I have ordered the next two books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2011

    loved it

    great series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling Read

    This book is great, especially if you enjoy a scientific base to your average murder mystery. Although it is part of a series, it has many stand alone qualities; I have not read Jefferson Bass' other books, and this was still completely understandable. It is a great book for all forensic anthropology enthusiasts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Devil's Bones"

    An excellent book. Jefferson Bass' series is wonderfully written and engrossing. Excellent characters and intriguing murders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Bass throws in too many bones

    In this third 'Body Farm' thriller, Jefferson Bass juggles three different plotlines, and the result is a mystery that is diluted by one too many of them. Not only does the series' hero, forensic anthropologist Dr. Bill Brockton, have two different cases to investigate, he's also dealing with the before-trial escape of his nemesis, former medical examiner Garland Hamilton, who murdered Brockton's lover and then tried to frame him in 'Flesh and Bone'. Hamilton's body is eventually discovered in the smoking ruin of a cabin where he was hiding out, but Brockton is not so sure it's him. Meanwhile, the charred remains of a woman named Mary Latham have been found in a burned-out car, and an out-of-state crematorium has apparently simply dumped the bodies of it's customers' loved ones instead of properly cremating them. I think 'The Devil's Bones' would have been a lot stronger if Bass had concentrated on the Hamilton storyline, throwing more twists and turns in that direction, while giving forensics fans something to chew on with a tighter Latham investigation and ditching the crematorium subplot entirely. Still, this is a step up (in my opinion) from the recent Scarpetta novels, not to mention the less-than-compelling Temperance Brennan books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Good

    I really enjoy this series. Since it is told from the point of view of the Forensic doctor, it brings a freshness to the standard thriller.

    Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2014

    great read, highly recommended

    well written, taut story, great forensics

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    Very enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book. Nice to read a good story without blood and guts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Another hit in the Bone Farm series

    Another hit in the Bone Farm series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    reliably fun

    Not great, but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Love

    I love these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Kept me on the edge of my seat!

    Great story. Following the characters through yet another mystery kept the mind engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Great genre fiction

    Look, if I can't wait to get back to the book (compelling read), know the characters by the end, and have learned something (because the accuracy of the details of the things I do know.make me trust those that I don't), then the book succeeds. But if you are not interested in or made squeamish by forensic anthropology this book may not suit you. But if you are fascinated by it and don't need romance or sex to intrude you too might find this a great entry into the genre (and I mean that in a good way).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8