Customer Reviews for

Devil's Bride (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 223 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Capativaing

The Cynster series is addtive. You finsih one and are looking for the next one to continue the stories.

posted by Aline92706 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Devil's Bride's Chin

POSSIBLE SPOILERS INCLUDED:
Negative:
There are some times when writers fall back on annoying habits that distract from the story. Generally I am pretty forgiving and can just move on to the next book. In "Devil's Bride" the author constantly made reference to Honoria's...
POSSIBLE SPOILERS INCLUDED:
Negative:
There are some times when writers fall back on annoying habits that distract from the story. Generally I am pretty forgiving and can just move on to the next book. In "Devil's Bride" the author constantly made reference to Honoria's 'willful'/'uplifted'/'angled'/'proud'/' etc CHIN!!! I bet it was used as a description of Honoria at least 10 times per chapter.
Even as I type this I cannot believe how much I let it irritate me but it did.

The who-dun-it was made obvious early in the book. The sex scenes were overwrought and ridiculous. The writing felt lazy and wordy.

Positive:
I like the idea of the Cynster men and I enjoyed the interaction between Honoria and the twins as well as with Louise and some of the other secondary characters. I thought Chillingsworth was a good secondary character as well especially the encounter between Honoria and Chillingsworth towards the end of the book.

A friend recommended this author to me so I will definitely try another book of Ms. Laurens based on how well this friend likes her books.

posted by 4827215 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Devil's Bride's Chin

    POSSIBLE SPOILERS INCLUDED:
    Negative:
    There are some times when writers fall back on annoying habits that distract from the story. Generally I am pretty forgiving and can just move on to the next book. In "Devil's Bride" the author constantly made reference to Honoria's 'willful'/'uplifted'/'angled'/'proud'/' etc CHIN!!! I bet it was used as a description of Honoria at least 10 times per chapter.
    Even as I type this I cannot believe how much I let it irritate me but it did.

    The who-dun-it was made obvious early in the book. The sex scenes were overwrought and ridiculous. The writing felt lazy and wordy.

    Positive:
    I like the idea of the Cynster men and I enjoyed the interaction between Honoria and the twins as well as with Louise and some of the other secondary characters. I thought Chillingsworth was a good secondary character as well especially the encounter between Honoria and Chillingsworth towards the end of the book.

    A friend recommended this author to me so I will definitely try another book of Ms. Laurens based on how well this friend likes her books.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Capativaing

    The Cynster series is addtive. You finsih one and are looking for the next one to continue the stories.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read most of the series.  The rest were good, but this one

    I've read most of the series.  The rest were good, but this one is by far the best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    enjoyed it very much.

    couldn' put it down. loved the characters strong personalities, how they didn't bow down to each other.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hope your ready

    Dont start this series unless you are prepared to finish. Because once you start you cant stop! I have lost count of the hours spent engroused in these novels! They are amazing! Stephanie laurens is a true reminder of why I love regency novels! NO ONE DOES IT BETTER THAN HER!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh...Typical Romance Novel

    Meh. This Regency romance with a mystery plot struck me as standard romance novel--nothing too eye-rolling or wretched in style compared to most in the genre, but nothing that was pulling me through the pages either, and fits the marriage of convenience trope as well. After 100 pages I started skipping and skimming and finally just turned to the to the last few chapters to see if I was right whodunnit (which I'd guessed from the opening chapters--way too obvious). I think my biggest disappointment was the heroine, Honoria. She starts out with hopes of someday traveling to Africa and had set herself up as an independent women with plans toward that goal, but ultimately casts those dreams aside without a pang to have the Duke's babies. And there goes the one quality that made Honoria original or interesting. Part of a series centered on the men of the Cynster family I definitely won't be reading more of. (And btw, I found the cutesy/sinister nicknames for the men of that family--like "Devil" and "Scandal" eye-rolling.)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    good hot read

    good hot read. want me some devil

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    First and favorite

    First-rate romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Read me

    Love this series !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Too Long & Drawn Out

    I usually enjoy her books, but this one, even skipping sections, went on too long. After awhile I just couldn't care who killed him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Welcome to the wonderful world of the Cynsters

    I loved this book. It was a great introduction to the wonderful Cynster family. The bad guy was easy to guess, but I loved it anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Engaging

    I liked the plot and character development, but would hav preferred less explicit sex to be a little less explicit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!

    This is a great start to a wonderful series. I found my self laughing, crying, and falling in love! Great read, and do not stop with this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Impressive

    I was at first put off when I read the back of the book and noticed that the main character's name was Devil. However, after getting about 30 or less pages into the book, I absolutely loved the name. Very dangerous and very unique. I never would have thought of it as a nickname. The persistence of Honoria and Devil and their bickering were amusing and had me laughing. It was definitely a feel good book. I think the most attractive thing about this were the names, most definitely. Cynster? Sinister? haha, loved it! Though I still don't know if I'm pronouncing Honoria's name correctly.

    The only thing I wasn't too happy about was the fact that it was easy to figure out who the murderer was. Perhaps if the hints weren't so obvious then it would have been a better suspense but the romance was wonderful.

    I'd love to read more books like this one to keep me entertained.

    I highly recommend this book to those who enjoy a rough romance where one refuses to admit to fate.

    Screw realism. That's what imagination is for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    The first book in an exciting Stephanie Laurens series about the Cynster's. If you like seeing familiar characters and follow their progress, Devil's Bride is for you. Almost like being introduced to a warm family, you'll love those wild Cynsters.

    Stephanie Laurens knows how to capture your attention!! A storm tossed meeting on a back road with a body to gather around. Stubborn wills opposing each other. Complimenting each other. Devil Cynster meets his match in all facets of life. Watch this budding patriarch take his place at the head of the family and finally have the lady to tame his wily brood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    Loved this book

    This was a great story and I didn't want to put the book down. I will look forward to reading the other books she has written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Great book and a good beginning to a wonderful series!!  Recomme

    Great book and a good beginning to a wonderful series!!  Recommend Very Highly!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Historic romance series

    Happy to have found this series. Easy to follow story, steamy romance scenes, just a touch of history. Recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Wingstar's bio

    NAME**** WINGSTAR age*** 17 moons Kin— Honeydrop of SilverClan. Or is it.... some other clan? Mate/crush*** um... its a secret, isn't it? Kits*** Soulkit and Crimsonkit Mither*** Adderlight Father**** Boisenckaw Brother*** Thicksetpelt Sister*** i have none Cousin*** Honeydrop and Waterwing History**** just ask! Pers**** loyal, kind and tough Fav clan*** mine, SunClan and honeydrop's Secret*** Kniws a fever called Cofeebean fever! Bff*** Um.. Story**** My brother Thicksetpelt's Thicksetpelt's reunion coming soon Dust all res.
    Thxs for reading!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    The Devil never looked so good.

    Devil is the oldest of all the Cynster siblings and cousins. He is also the first one to experience how fate works to bring the Cynsters their mates. He is trapped overnight in a cottage with Honora and his dying cousin Tolly by an unusual storm. Devil knows the minute he meets Honora that she belongs to him and nothing will stop him from taking her as his own. Honora tries to talk him out of doing his duty but to Devil there is no duty, just honest lust and ownership. Devil and Honora join together to find who killed his cousin Tolly and face all kinds of danger that just makes their relationship hotter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12