Customer Reviews for

Devil's Bride (Cynster Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Capativaing

The Cynster series is addtive. You finsih one and are looking for the next one to continue the stories.

posted by Aline92706 on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Devil's Bride's Chin

POSSIBLE SPOILERS INCLUDED:
Negative:
There are some times when writers fall back on annoying habits that distract from the story. Generally I am pretty forgiving and can just move on to the next book. In "Devil's Bride" the author constantly made reference to Honoria's...
POSSIBLE SPOILERS INCLUDED:
Negative:
There are some times when writers fall back on annoying habits that distract from the story. Generally I am pretty forgiving and can just move on to the next book. In "Devil's Bride" the author constantly made reference to Honoria's 'willful'/'uplifted'/'angled'/'proud'/' etc CHIN!!! I bet it was used as a description of Honoria at least 10 times per chapter.
Even as I type this I cannot believe how much I let it irritate me but it did.

The who-dun-it was made obvious early in the book. The sex scenes were overwrought and ridiculous. The writing felt lazy and wordy.

Positive:
I like the idea of the Cynster men and I enjoyed the interaction between Honoria and the twins as well as with Louise and some of the other secondary characters. I thought Chillingsworth was a good secondary character as well especially the encounter between Honoria and Chillingsworth towards the end of the book.

A friend recommended this author to me so I will definitely try another book of Ms. Laurens based on how well this friend likes her books.

posted by 4827215 on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Devil's Bride's Chin

    POSSIBLE SPOILERS INCLUDED:
    Negative:
    There are some times when writers fall back on annoying habits that distract from the story. Generally I am pretty forgiving and can just move on to the next book. In "Devil's Bride" the author constantly made reference to Honoria's 'willful'/'uplifted'/'angled'/'proud'/' etc CHIN!!! I bet it was used as a description of Honoria at least 10 times per chapter.
    Even as I type this I cannot believe how much I let it irritate me but it did.

    The who-dun-it was made obvious early in the book. The sex scenes were overwrought and ridiculous. The writing felt lazy and wordy.

    Positive:
    I like the idea of the Cynster men and I enjoyed the interaction between Honoria and the twins as well as with Louise and some of the other secondary characters. I thought Chillingsworth was a good secondary character as well especially the encounter between Honoria and Chillingsworth towards the end of the book.

    A friend recommended this author to me so I will definitely try another book of Ms. Laurens based on how well this friend likes her books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Too Long & Drawn Out

    I usually enjoy her books, but this one, even skipping sections, went on too long. After awhile I just couldn't care who killed him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Historic romance series

    Happy to have found this series. Easy to follow story, steamy romance scenes, just a touch of history. Recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was tempted to paste in the review I just did of the other Lau

    I was tempted to paste in the review I just did of the other Laurens' book I read. Actually, I think I will, since it still fits:

    "Laurens writes smoothly (IMO she overwrites a bit), there is a good deal of suspense, the heroine is sufficiently plucky and independent, the hero stalwart, brave and hunky. It's a very satisfactory, sexy, light read, that kept me entertained the entire time I read it, and which I totally forgot the moment I put it aside."

    In this case, the hero is nicknamed Devil, he has a driver named Webster for a little humorous wordplay when they interact, and this heroine is Honoria, a geeky-spinster turned sexpot. Here there's a mystery to be solved, but really, when there are a limited number of people to consider, it's usually pretty obviously who had the most to gain, and yep, that's who dunnit.

    There's nothing glaringly WRONG with this book, but it's like cotton candy - fluffy and sweet, but not filling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Started of good fun...dragged a bit in the end.

    But overall I enjoyed the characters. Not my all time favorite, but a pretty solid story and romance. Devil got on my nerves often though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    AM

    I know it had to do with the times; but I found the protagonists way too reserved even when they were in bed. The rest of the plott was just okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    a little boring

    I don't know if it's just me, but I can't really get interested in this book. The writing style is distracting and confusing in places, the storyline is repetitive, and I pretty much figured out who the killer was by page 20. If you like really exciting, interesting romance novels, don't read this one. It was an ok story, but could have been a LOT better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2