Customer Reviews for

Devil's Brood

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic book....ebook price outrageous!

I already own this book in hardcover and thought it was fantastic! Sharom Kay Penman knows how to write history and tell a story. I saw that the book was available for $2.99 and since I was shopping or nookbooks thought I would add it to my nook collection. I was appa...
I already own this book in hardcover and thought it was fantastic! Sharom Kay Penman knows how to write history and tell a story. I saw that the book was available for $2.99 and since I was shopping or nookbooks thought I would add it to my nook collection. I was appalled to discover that the nook price is $19.99. Why is the hardcover $2.99 and the nookbook $19.99?!?!?!?!?!? I WILL NEVER PAY more than $10 for a nookbook. I am outraged and disgusted at these $20 nookbooks.

posted by Nidaria on September 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

WE ARE AGREED

I loved the first two books of this trilogy, buut I am not going to pay $19.99 for any nook book. Ten dollars is pushing it as far as I am concerned. B&N, you need to reconsider your relationship with your readers.

posted by ladylawyer8650 on September 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    WE ARE AGREED

    I loved the first two books of this trilogy, buut I am not going to pay $19.99 for any nook book. Ten dollars is pushing it as far as I am concerned. B&N, you need to reconsider your relationship with your readers.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Will not buy

    Enjoy this author but will not buy this overpriced ebook.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic book....ebook price outrageous!

    I already own this book in hardcover and thought it was fantastic! Sharom Kay Penman knows how to write history and tell a story. I saw that the book was available for $2.99 and since I was shopping or nookbooks thought I would add it to my nook collection. I was appalled to discover that the nook price is $19.99. Why is the hardcover $2.99 and the nookbook $19.99?!?!?!?!?!? I WILL NEVER PAY more than $10 for a nookbook. I am outraged and disgusted at these $20 nookbooks.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    Penman has become my favorite author of historical fiction. This series should be required reading. Penman brings the history to life and not only showed two individuals as monarchs, but a husband and wife at odds and as parents raising 4 difficult sons - all of these folks wanting power. I've read all three in this series and have a much better understanding of the struggle between Henry II and Becket, Henry and the Church, his struggles with his family and the aftermath it caused in the third book. The only problem with the third book is that it ended and we have to wait for the 4th! I've always had a great interest in this time period of history and Penman has developed my interest even more. I just bought the first book in the series on the Welsh history - Here be Dragons. Penman is a wonderful author - please - get that 4th book in this series written!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    A well written vivid medieval tale

    In 1172 King Henry Fitz Empress names his oldest surviving son Hal as his coregent. However with the title comes nothing else as the second Henry since the Conqueror refuses to give his offspring any meaningful authority. ------------- Hal is irate as he feels his sire has insulted him with a name that is a title only and has no power behind it.. The monarch¿s wife Eleanor of Aquitaine rallies their male offspring to back their oldest brother in a bid for power. Over several years, however, Richard, Geoffrey and John not only join Hal in an open revolt against their sire, they war with one another over land, which each knows denotes power in late twelfth century England. Eleanor cannot believe how convoluted her encouraging her children to rebel against their martinet father has spun, but remains steadfast in support of Hal.----------- The third Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine historical thriller (see WHEN CHRIST AND HIS SAINTS SLEPT and TIME AND CHANCE) is an excellent extremely complex medieval saga. The story line digs deep into two obstinate but powerful monarchs who battle in bed and on the throne for the top position. Their adult children also come somewhat into focus especially the frustrated males, which in turn amplifies the intricacy of the story line. Fans of a well written vivid medieval tale will want to read Sharon Kay Penman¿s powerful twelfth century chronicle.------------ Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    And we thought that kids nowadays got into trouble┬┐. And we thought that kids nowadays got into trouble┬┐.

    And we thought that kids nowadays got into trouble…. In this final installment of the story of Henry II and Eleanor of Aquitaine, we are given the account of their four rebellious and ungrateful sons as well as the flawed judgment of the father and mother. Each son (Hal, the young king, Richard - Duke of Aquitaine, Geoffrey, Duke of Brittany, and John) has grievances with the power that King Henry wields over the regions of his kingdom. Each wants the reins to be slackened and the management to be theirs but Henry cannot give up his domination over the lands and the brothers join together to wrest control away. Normally in a story of this type there are heroes and villains, but not so here, probably because it is based on truth. We are dealing with flawed humans who not always are thinking or acting clearly but are passionate in their desires, selfish, exercising poor judgment or no judgment at all. Henry could not understand why his sons would be so ungrateful as to rebel against his authority. He did not feel that they were mature enough to handle the reins of power, however, when they cited his experiences at the same age, he could not justify his delays to them. Henry's issues appeared to be with trust throughout his life - his father trusted him at an early age, but he could not trust his sons which only brought about the rebellions that repeatedly threatened his kingdom and his life. He could forgive many of those involved in the rebellion but the betrayal of his Queen Eleanor was the wound that he could not heal which only drove his sons farther away. Not only is the reader treated to the historical accounts of the events of the reign of Henry II but we are also shown the driving forces of the other 2 sons - Hal, the young King, and Geoffrey the Duke of Brittany - who did not live to wear the crown of England. We know of Richard the Lionheart as well as evil King John, but rarely are we treated to such a personal look at the other two sons who frequently were in the forefront of the rebellions and the reasoning that drove the battles between father and sons. The characters were brought to life so thoroughly on these pages that often I wanted to shake a few and say, what are you thinking? No matter what, the historical events of the 12th century depicted throughout this meticulously researched book, are woven spectacularly into a tale of a dysfunctional family worthy of 21st century reality TV.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Amazing Histtlorical Fiction

    I love this book- the details make you feel like you are really there with the characters, experincing their world with them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Riviting

    This is this is the third in the Eleanor of Aquitaine series and it is just as fascinating as the two previous books. I find Penman's writing excellent and her characters vivid and believable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    3dognite

    When one misses the characters in a book when it is over, I think the author has done the job of making their characters truly believable. Weaving history and fiction together makes reading twice as enjoyable! Penman is one of the best. Love all her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    Great Read!!

    This is the third book by Sharon Kay Penman following the fascinating life of Eleanor of Aquitaine. Penman did a great job of bring the medieval world of the 1100's to life. Great read that I would recommend to anyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    wonderful history

    Sharon Penman writes the best novels about British History I have ever read. I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    Interesting reading

    An interesting historical-fiction manuscript; however, the choice of lead characters is out of the ordinary, causing this reader's interest to be lost on several occasions. One must trudge on to find the next interesting section and sometimes that is a battle.

    Seems as if Geoffrey deserves a short to mid-length book of his own, maybe we will eventfully get one. In fact, there are several interesting and deserving characters left begging for fictional development. How would this Henry have stayed as monarch for so long?

    This tome needed a first-class editing job and did not get it. The book is much too wide-ranging and not the best in her wonderful set of historical works, too bad. She had two or three books of material, and it is too bad for her readers that she did not shorten the format.

    Even with its problems, the book is still wonderful. This is an excellent winter time read, but not a novel for the beach, it would leave the reader 'flat-chested'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sharon Kay Penman Does It Again...

    Ms. Penman has once again kept me up well past midnight reading her exquisite prose. "Devil's Brood" is the third in a series about Henry II and Eleanor of Acquitaine, but not the final one, I was pleased to learn.
    (If you haven't read the first two books, do so, before tackling this one. Like most people's lives, you really can't know them if you haven't known what happened to them earlier in their lives.) Henry and Eleanor begin this book in their late forties or early fifties, so a lot has gone into their relationship and their circumstances before Devil's Brood begins.

    In this book, the author really gets inside the hearts and minds of both of the main characters--you truly do feel their pain, and there's plenty of it. Many nights I wanted to shout to the characters, "Don't do that!" When you talk to characters, which I normally do not, you know the author has done her job.

    Devil's Brood is an apt title if ever there was one. Henry's sons were nothing if not ones to hold grudges, start rebellions, and generally make one fervently hope for a barren womb. But they make for great story-telling. It also makes you wonder how any of Henry's kingdom survived, and yet, tired as you are, you can't put the book down, and when you've read the last letter of the last page of author's anything, you cannot wait until the next book comes out.

    Henry and Eleanor are two star-crossed lovers with lots of individual charisma and power. Explosive, head-strong, wise while being so foolish in some of their judgments that you want to scream, but they are joined forever, and as Penman says "not even death can change that."

    And nothing but death will keep me from reading Penman's next masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Worth the wait

    As an avid Sharon Kay Penman reader I've looked forward to the ongoing family saga of Elanor and Henry. This family puts even the most intense soap opera to shame, but Penman's storytelling kept me involved and looking forward to the next part of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    The City

    Swarmed with the undead. Tread here lightly, if at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3