Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Code (Kidd Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Read this

    What else can be said......... It's a John Sandford book and it's well worth reading again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    A good read

    This book has a great plot that keeps the reader guessing. Kidd and LuEllen solve murders and take it to the bad guys. My husband and I both enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    'The Devil's Code'

    If you like reading about murder mysteries and conspiracy, you will enjoy this novel by John Sandford! It is crazy how Kidd winds up in a big mess, but other than that it was alright. I personally didn't realize it was the third book of the Kidd series until I started reading it because I chose Sandford and this novel for an author project. If you want to read this then read the first two before this, it will make reading this one a lot easier. John Sandford has a talent for writing this kind of novel so I'm sure it would be a lot better by starting the series with the first book and not the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    My first John Sandford book

    I was hesitatant to read anything not fantasy, but this book hooked me right away. Sandford uses colorful characters and vivid descriptions to get the reader's attention. I'd recommend anyone to read this book, especially those who haven't read John Sandford before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2002

    Disapointed in this one

    The Kidd is an interesting enough character and always has been but the story just doesn't pull you in. I'm a fan of John Sandford and have been for years, which is why I actually read DEVIL'S CODE to the end. Sandford has already proven his writing skills, I just hoped for more effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2002

    Great addtion to Kidd Series

    A great follow-up to The Fool's Run and The Empress file. If you like the other Kidd novels, then you'll be pleased with this one! If you have bever read Sandford's Kidd series, you'll enjoy a great, plot-twisting, suspenseful, technological thriller. Good technical details to keep the tech-at-heart interested and good stroyline / suspense to keep those that like surprises pleased. A quick, enjoyable read. Looking forward (hopefully) to the next Kidd novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    Excellent Reading

    This is a excellent novel. The action and adventure, the thinking and mystery, old school detective work mixed with new aged computer related contacts is perfect. For someone that has a hard time getting into a book this one would be perfect for them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2001

    Kidding is an option

    This was my first Sandford novel, the introduction to a new author. He couldn't have impressed me more. I read this book over summer in three days. I couldn't put it down! I loved the technology, mixed with the old-fashioned type thinking. I definently recommend this book. Within one month, I finished The Devil's Code, The Empress File, and The Fool's Run. I cant stop reading Kidd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    Good Read

    I guess I was thinking to much along the Prey Series and took a little while to get into the book. Once it got going it was really good. Very exciting climactic ending. Would recommend to others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    No kidding, a great non-Prey novel

    <P>At his home in Dallas, John James Morrison knows he is in trouble by the nocturnal visit of the security agents. They escort John to AmMath where St. John Corbiel plays a tape in which they caught John violating company policy. John tries to bluff but Corbiel kills him. The security agents arrange a cover-up to make it seem like a night guard shot John while discovering him in a forbidden area late at night. <P>John¿s sister Lane Ward believes the official interpretation of her sibling¿s death rings false. She asks John¿s former partner Kidd to investigate her brother¿s death. Kidd, an expert on stealing data traveling along the information highway, agrees. He learns that John uncovered something major that led to his deliberate murder. Kidd and his partner LuEllen begin to uncover a monster conspiracy involving AmMath and the Feds using technology to hide murder and blackmail. That knowledge could make Kidd the next dead person. <P>It has been about a decade since John Sandford wrote a Kidd novel (see THE FOOL¿S RUN and THE EMPRESS FILE) having switched to the popular Prey novels. Perhaps the earlier Kidd tales were ahead of the times, but with the Internet, Intranet, and Extranet explosion, THE DEVIL¿S CODE plays like a modern day electronic thriller. The tale is well executed due to Kidd¿s intellect, witticism, and ethical beliefs. Although it may seem hard to accept an electronic thief has scruples, Kidd does and that propels his compulsion to investigate. Best selling author John Sandford has returned with one of his great characters in a story that will please more than just net conspiracy buffs because of its fast-paced, gigabit loaded hard driving plot. <P>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2