Customer Reviews for

Devil's Corner

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Very good

    I thought this book was very good. I found it very hard to put down. I liked how the romance turned out in the end. Very good story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2005

    SUPER SUSPENSE AND A STRONG VOCAL PERFORMANCE

    Already entrenched as one of the most popular authors of legal thrillers, Lisa Scottoline shows no signs of success lag. Her twelfth book, Devil's Corner, is once more headed by spunky, bright heroine, Vicki Allegretti, and peppered with trenchant dialogue. Vicki's the kind of gal who finds trouble wherever she looks, and determinedly faces it down. She packs a wallop and a gun, sometimes in her left coat pocket 'where it could shoot out an ovary.' Actress Barbara Rosenblat gives a strong vocal performance as Vicki allies herself with Reheema Bristow to break up a gang dealing in cocaine and death. Meeting an informant can be standard procedure for Vicki but when she shows up at the appointed time what she confronts is a loaded gun. By dint of determination and a lot of luck she escapes a bullet but two others aren't so fortunate. She's at a loss to understand why and how a routine meet turned into a massacre. Her investigation takes her to Philadelphia's sleazier neighborhood, one known as Devil's Corner, a haven for no one but dealers and thieves. It's easy to discover who deals; the big question is who's behind the dealers? A former trial lawyer and Edgar Award winner, Scottoline has delivered another rousing ride through places both low and high with the indefatigable Vicki exceeding the suspense limit at every turn. - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    Suprise

    My first time reading Lisa Scottoline. Will continue to read her books. Fortunately, after reading her book I was reading a local newspaper and to my suprise there appeared her column 'The Philadlphia Inquire' have been reading her articles for sometime, and will continue to read and read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    Another Scottoline Masterpiece

    Great Read. Couldn't put it down. Another Scottoline Masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Another good book.

    Never forget where you come from. You never leave the past behind and if you don't watch out it can come back when you least expect it. Loved the friendship that developed and the way the hood turned around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    You will never get bored & laugh a lot!

    For as little as Vickie is she sure can get in & out of trouble. She doesn't care how big anyone is if you are in the wrong she will find a way to cut you down. And make you laugh all the way through her problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    Great read!

    I enjoyed this book from the beginning to the end. It kept my interest the entire way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    highly recommended; kept me guessing until the end.

    I enjoyed this book. I didn't anticipate the ending. Was a good change from the usual characters in her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Favorite

    This one is my favorite by scottoline. I have read all of her books this spring, this being the last and was delighted to find it has all the best features of her writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Lucky Lawyer

    I like Lisa's books. She writes about strong females, who are a little vulnerable, but don' t let that interfere with what they want to accomplish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Good read

    Similar to Evonavich books which i loved too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    It was ok

    I like Ms. Scottoline on the Murder By the Book things she's done, but I wasnt a huge fan of her writing. This was my first and probably last book of hers. The plot was slow until the last 50 pages or so, it was hard to be sympathetic to the stupidity of the main character and the internalization was poor. Not my best read of the summer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. Loved the banter between the characters and the fast pace of the storyline. Couldn't put it down because I wanted to find out what would happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Disappointed

    Having just ripped through the thrilling & suspenseful "Dirty Blonde", I couldn't wait to read another 'yarn' by this author. Unfortunately this title had none of the page-flipping-suspense, believable dialogue or engaging plot of 'Dirty Blonde'. I will still read this author - even the most talented must occassionally hit a sour note.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    Enjoyed reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An entertaining read.

    Hard to get into at first, but after the first third the plot picked up and it was hard to put down. This was the first time that I have read this author and I am looking forward to reading more after this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    Scottoline can't write fast enough for me!

    All her characters are interesting. I usually don't figure out the murderer until I'm halfway through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2006

    Bring back Bennie and the gang

    I love Lisa Scottoline's books, but somehow this one is off track for me. It's the writing style with the constant intrusion of Vicki's innermost thoughts in the italicized type that bugged me. Not only is it annoying, but Vicki comes off as very juvenile and silly, IMO. Bring back Bennie and the whole Rosato gang!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2005

    Excellent

    This is the first Lisa Scottoline book I have read. I realize what I have been missing. I thoroughtly enjoyed this book. I look forward to reading her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2005

    Big Fan

    I've read and loved just about everything Lisa Scottoline has written. The only book that let me down was The Vendetta Defense. With that said, The Devil's Corner is a clever, witty edge-of-your seat thriller. It's Scottoline at her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3