Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Elixir (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A definite Christmas wishlist must have.

A masterfully written thriller, " The Devil's Elixir", is a combination of action packed adventure, with just enough thought provoking science fiction, that leads Sean and Tess on an adventure neither thought possible, with surprises around every corner makes it hard to...
A masterfully written thriller, " The Devil's Elixir", is a combination of action packed adventure, with just enough thought provoking science fiction, that leads Sean and Tess on an adventure neither thought possible, with surprises around every corner makes it hard to put down.

Sean's 1 st person dialogue pulls you into his world, you' re not just a reader you' re a part of his every thought, feeling, want, need, and desire. This intimate insight leaves you with a breathless passion and sense of urgency that can only be shared with Sean Reilly and Raymond Khoury.

By, Leisa Lisic

posted by leisa-lisic on December 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Devil's Elixir is yet another disappointment by Ray Khoury a

The Devil's Elixir is yet another disappointment by Ray Khoury and his second book that I put aside before completing (The Sign was the other). He failed to develop the historical connections and related modern day action it should generate that he did so well in The La...
The Devil's Elixir is yet another disappointment by Ray Khoury and his second book that I put aside before completing (The Sign was the other). He failed to develop the historical connections and related modern day action it should generate that he did so well in The Last Templar and again in Templar Salvation. In fact, it was hard to follow any connection back to the meager historical account he presented in the opening while the modern day story was only a monotonous repetition of police and FBI busts and narco-mob counter actions.

posted by falcon70 on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    A definite Christmas wishlist must have.

    A masterfully written thriller, " The Devil's Elixir", is a combination of action packed adventure, with just enough thought provoking science fiction, that leads Sean and Tess on an adventure neither thought possible, with surprises around every corner makes it hard to put down.

    Sean's 1 st person dialogue pulls you into his world, you' re not just a reader you' re a part of his every thought, feeling, want, need, and desire. This intimate insight leaves you with a breathless passion and sense of urgency that can only be shared with Sean Reilly and Raymond Khoury.

    By, Leisa Lisic

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    The Devil's Elixir is yet another disappointment by Ray Khoury a

    The Devil's Elixir is yet another disappointment by Ray Khoury and his second book that I put aside before completing (The Sign was the other). He failed to develop the historical connections and related modern day action it should generate that he did so well in The Last Templar and again in Templar Salvation. In fact, it was hard to follow any connection back to the meager historical account he presented in the opening while the modern day story was only a monotonous repetition of police and FBI busts and narco-mob counter actions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    anticipating the next novel...

    Reviewed by Stephen B for Readers Favorite

    Sean Reilly, FBI agent, only wants to enjoy a short respite from an exasperating case over the July Fourth holiday. He can try to recharge from some emotional stress in his relationship with his girlfriend, Tess Chaykin, former archaeologist, with whom he’s had a few adventures. However, his ex-girlfriend, Michelle Martinez, calls pleading for help. Michelle and her four year old son, Alex, just escaped a kidnapping. She also tells Reilly that he is Alex’s father. Hours later, he arrives in San Diego only to almost immediately step into a gunfight with the kidnappers that ends with Michelle’s death. Sean is plunged into a mystery that involves a biker gang, a Mexican drug lord, and recent kidnappings of scientists. Reilly’s past comes back to haunt him, specifically, an operation in Mexico five years earlier where a life or death decision left him with unresolved guilt. Working with local agents and with the aid of Tess, Reilly uncovers a plot to introduce a new super drug to the unsuspecting populace. However, more secrets lie in wait for discovery, including Alex’s strange behavior.

    This is a thriller with a lot of action from the get-go. Khoury doesn’t take you on a worldwide tour as in his previous novels, but settles in on the California scene with a few background details in Mexico. I really enjoyed the puzzles being solved. There is a bit of science fact along with the fiction, some ‘mind blowing’ possibilities, a little profanity (but not too much), and some edge-of-your-seat action scenes. I have been a fan of Khoury’s from his first novel and was not disappointed in the least with this latest effort. There is always a bit of the mystical and speculation in his novels. "The Devil’s Elixir" is no exception and finishing it left me disappointed that it had to end. Guess I’ll have to wait, anticipating the next novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    A fabulous read, as usual from Mr. Khoury

    Raymond's new book is exactly as I expected it to be... a page turner! I love the way Sean is written in first person and the other characters are not, well done sir. I always must start his books early in the morning, since I can't put them down! The character development between Tess and Sean provides more insight into their relationship and past life... Raymond Khoury never disappoints this reader!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Enjoyable read. If your planning on reading in bed...you will not want to put it down to go to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Enjoying the book

    I have not completed my reading of this book. However, I have enjoyed the other books of the series with Sean and Tess. I am sure I will enjoy this book too. "The Last Templar" was the first book I read by Raymond Khoury. I read the book in two days. I could not put it down. So, far this book is just as exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Another great book

    Raymond Khoury is excellent and he did not disappoint with this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Doesn't Stand Up

    Really does not compare with the previous two in the series. It lacked the historical and religious undertones that I felt made the first two in the series so interesting. It is really just a cop caper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Could have been so much more

    I love the templer series, but this latest effort fell flat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Decent read

    Interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Not his best work O Bo Not his besst work

    I kept waiting for the action to pick up like it did in his previous books but then i got to the last page and it was over. Still a decent read, just not what i have come to expect from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    can't get a book to download eventhough it is paid for.

    Not good

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not my favorite, but good read

    I could hardly wait for this book to come out. I anxiously waited, and started reading it, as soon as it came out for nook. THe plot was good, story line well written, but he lost me once the book took a turn with memories. It became unbelievable to me. I finished the book, and gave it 3 stars. I will read Khoury's books again, this one just does not make it to my favorite book list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    THE DEVIL'S ELIXIR - A 5 Star Treat!

    Author Raymond Khoury is at the top of his game in The Devil's Elixir, a riveting, edge of your seat, roller coaster ride of a tale. If I were not already a bona fide Raymond Khoury fan, The Devil's Elixir would cinch the deal for this reader. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3