Customer Reviews for

Devil's Food Cake Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Rainy Day Read

I have read all of the Hannah Swensen books and find them to be great fun. The characters seem like old friends, and the prose is uncomplicated and entertaining making this the perfect book to help you unwind when you need to escape from real life for a bit.

posted by SMP424 on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

STINKS

I'm done with this series...Waste of Time and Money. Self centered, Hannah, corrects grammar in her head, thinks the men in her life should be around when she chooses, can't decide what man she wants, but they can't move on with their lives. She is an over sized diva......
I'm done with this series...Waste of Time and Money. Self centered, Hannah, corrects grammar in her head, thinks the men in her life should be around when she chooses, can't decide what man she wants, but they can't move on with their lives. She is an over sized diva...If all i want are recipes, i will buy a cookbook. Goodbye Joanne Fluke...

posted by nrcookie on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    STINKS

    I'm done with this series...Waste of Time and Money. Self centered, Hannah, corrects grammar in her head, thinks the men in her life should be around when she chooses, can't decide what man she wants, but they can't move on with their lives. She is an over sized diva...If all i want are recipes, i will buy a cookbook. Goodbye Joanne Fluke...

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Don't waste your money

    I'm glad I downloaded this book from my library to my Nook. If I had paid for it, I would want my money back. This series has never been great literature; that's not why I read these books. However, this addition to the series is so light and uninteresting, it's an insult to fans. The so-called mystery is transparent and makes me wonder just how stupid the Sheriff's department is that they needed Hannah to figure this one out. In other books in the series, Hannah's investigation of the murders usually augments that of the authorities, but this time I felt as if she was interfering and could be arrested for obstruction. Her relationship with Mike and Norman has never rung true, but in this book, it was particulary ridiculous, or maybe I'm just tired of it all. There were more than the usual number of recipes, but that's just to hide the fact the story was so short. Save your money!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Ms.Fluke has let her readers down.

    Like most fans of the Hannah Swensen series, I awaited the arrival of the most recent installment, Devil¿s Food Cake Murder, not so much with anticipation as with curiosity. The last book left off, yet again, with the love triangle (Hannah/Norman/Mike) still unresolved. I finished this current book with anger and frustration. Ms. Fluke has an obligation to her readers that she has failed, yet again, to meet. This book is more a recipe book (the recipe for big, soft, chewy molasses cookies with its variations is eight pages long!) than a mystery. The murder is almost incidental and formulaic. As the story comes to its finale (it is again an ¿open book¿ soap-style ending), we are left with two unresolved issues: Is Delores, Hannah¿s mother, ill? Is Norman being blackmailed into marriage with Doctor Bev? The Norman issue in this reader¿s opinion is laying the groundwork for the next mystery; i.e., the murder of Doctor Bev and Norman ending up in the hot seat. Here come Hannah and Mike to the rescue! If you MUST read this book, do yourself a favor and wait until it¿s out in paperback or go to the library for the hardcover. The Devil¿s Food Cake Murder is, for this reader, the last in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    I too have had it with the "torn between two men" prem

    I too have had it with the "torn between two men" premise. How could you ruin a good series like this by running the romance angle into the ground. What a shame! She could have married by now and (I pick Norman-good hearted guy) and that would have opened up all kinds of story possibilities. I also think her treatment towards her mother is overdone and mean so goodbye. Thank you "nrcookie" for you comments to make me realize I'm not alone in my disappointment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    okay

    I enjoyed her books in the beginning but her dialogue to me is very childish. I don't know if I will read anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Meh. I've read the rest of the series and enjoyed them up until

    Meh. I've read the rest of the series and enjoyed them up until now. I was disappointed to learn than Norman is even more of a doormat then I previously realized. Joanne's dragged the so-called romance out for far too long. Move on! This particular story was far-fetched, even by cozy standards. I think I too might be ready to leave Lake Eden, MN for good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Waste of time money and words! Im insulted

    Hannah is a selfish prude. The books are utterly predictable and they insult the intelligence of the reader. I have read all the books and have never once been surprised by the ending. The Norman and Mike triangle is annoying and Hannahs personality makes me want to bang my head against the wall. Also why is it such a big deal if her mother wants to date? Shes dating two men at the same time and no one has a problem with that. In all reality if these men love her so much why are they so comfortable with her dating the other? I dont know why i keep reading these books its a waste of time and words. The least she could do is throw in a good mystery the victim and murderer are always from out of town or very convient like Mikes girlfriend. Give me a break.. these books really suck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    This is the second Hannah Swensen mystery I've listen to (audio

    This is the second Hannah Swensen mystery I've listen to (audio version), and it will be the last. Hannah is needy, insecure and nosy, and the other characters aren't much better. Enough with "Hannah's notes" and "impeccably clean hands", already - does the author really think her readers haven't ever baked anything?! The narrator didn't help - with all the voice changes between characters, it was hard to keep them straight (and honestly, her "Mike" voice made him sound really creepy). I spent so much time mentally rolling my eyes at the weak story line, Hannah's naivete, and the narrator's voice, I felt like I had wasted hours of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    DownSouth

    I have to agree this was more a cookbook than a mystery. I too am tired of Hannah's back and forth life and am sorry I spent my time on a weak see though plot and open ending. Maybe it is time to get back to plot development instead og publishing friends recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Don't Bother Reading The Book

    This book made the series take a sharp turn from a pleasant read to terrible. I was so disappointed as up till now I have been very pleased with the books! They were light and easy to read for before bed reading splurges. However, when you lose respect for one or more of the main characters, the books begin to sour up real fast. I was hoping Joanne Fluke would make a come back in this book to tie up the loose ends from the last book. She only made things look worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2