Customer Reviews for

Devil's Food Cake Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Rainy Day Read

I have read all of the Hannah Swensen books and find them to be great fun. The characters seem like old friends, and the prose is uncomplicated and entertaining making this the perfect book to help you unwind when you need to escape from real life for a bit.

posted by SMP424 on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

STINKS

I'm done with this series...Waste of Time and Money. Self centered, Hannah, corrects grammar in her head, thinks the men in her life should be around when she chooses, can't decide what man she wants, but they can't move on with their lives. She is an over sized diva......
I'm done with this series...Waste of Time and Money. Self centered, Hannah, corrects grammar in her head, thinks the men in her life should be around when she chooses, can't decide what man she wants, but they can't move on with their lives. She is an over sized diva...If all i want are recipes, i will buy a cookbook. Goodbye Joanne Fluke...

posted by nrcookie on March 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved it!!

    As usual, always leaves you looking forward to what's next...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    Great book

    Another great Hannah Swensen mystery! Recommend this book, as well as the rest in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    LOVE

    I love the hannah swenson seiries it like the seiries of unfortinate events so if you llike hannah swenson get this book. Trust me LOVE
    Get it you will love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    I have the best time reading these mysteries. I feel I know Lake

    I have the best time reading these mysteries. I feel I know Lake Eden, Hannah, her family and friends. The stories are clever and characters extremely likeable

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Nick

    Fing ur self

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Lilac

    She sits in a tree bored.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Dani

    I gtg. C ya later.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Silas

    Bye

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Goldenstar

    Godenstar kills the fox and takes honeykit back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    The fox

    Shoves honeykit in a hole and spins around teeth baree expecting cats to attack.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    If you like a mystery, you have to read.

    Joanne never ceases to give the readers a new twist. She keeps you guessing. A most fun, entertaining and light mystery read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Lightningstar

    Go to fiji fith result see wat new cat u and i just got.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Honeykit

    Drops a boulder on the foxes head

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Mizclaw

    Gtg brb

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Another great mystery

    Again, great book in a series of light hearted mysteries. Even my teen loves these books. I'm not opposef to her reading them either as they are tamer then most (no sex, low on foul language & excessive gore). 5 stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Has a twist at the end - Don't miss it.

    I love all and have all this Joanne Fluke series. Easy read that is very enjoyable. Read this one in one night when the power went out. Had it on my nook. The end is different for Ms Fluke but I did love it and can't wait for #15.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    tasty piece of sleuthing

    In Lake Eden, Minnesota, Hannah Swenson, owner of the popular Cookie Jar bakery, feels good for her best friend Claire who recently married Reverend Bob Knudson. On a sabbatical, Bob's friend Lutheran Minister Matthew Walters arrives in Lake Eden and agrees to preach to the flock at Holy Redeemer so that the newlyweds can go on their honeymoon.

    However, the manna from heaven plan turns to devil's food cake when Hannah finds Matthew dead in the rectory. Although her sometimes boyfriend Winnetka County's chief detective Mike Kingston leads the official investigation, Hannah starts her own inquiry, which he encourages as she has quite a solve rate (see Apple Turnover Murder). She begins to find the saint is a sinner while wondering if the gold coins in the collection plate or the jewel robbery in Minneapolis is the motive for the homicide, and whether the victim's ex convict cousin is involved with the murder.

    The latest "Land of 10000 Lakes" culinary whodunit is a delicious amateur sleuth mystery though Mike might take exception to the word amateur when it comes to his girlfriend solving murder mysteries. The story line is fast-paced with a strong cast including the deceased Lutheran Minster. With additional mouth watering recipes, readers will enjoy stopping at the Cookie Jar for a tasty piece of sleuthing.

    Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4