Customer Reviews for

Devil's Kiss (Devil's Kiss Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One word. WOW.

I've never read a better first novel than this book. The story was crazy and sophisticated and the characters; modern yet mature. The character's history and personalities are unique and different, yet the author takes general teenage issues and weaves it into something...
I've never read a better first novel than this book. The story was crazy and sophisticated and the characters; modern yet mature. The character's history and personalities are unique and different, yet the author takes general teenage issues and weaves it into something greater. Wow. I don't want to give away the story so I will refrain from continuing, but I am DEFINITELY looking forward to more novels from this author.

posted by Lokita on June 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dark, Action-filled, Suspenseful, Page Turner

The Devil's Kiss kept my attention throughout. I think this book is well suited for those who like action-filled and suspenseful reads and not so much for those looking for romance or a love story. Billi's life seemed so hopeless. It was impossible not to feel for this ...
The Devil's Kiss kept my attention throughout. I think this book is well suited for those who like action-filled and suspenseful reads and not so much for those looking for romance or a love story. Billi's life seemed so hopeless. It was impossible not to feel for this girl...she felt so trapped and alone. Strangely enough though, by the middle of the book I didn't feel much for her, or the other characters, anymore. I was just reading the story and felt indifferent. Perhaps, because it became some what predictable or maybe because everyone was so secluded and separate from the rest. I don't think Chadda intended it to be a heart-tugger but just action filled...and he succeeded.

posted by 1762549 on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Devil's Kiss, A Story to Change Everything!

    Now my librarian at my school gave this to me and told me it was new and I should give it a try since I had read like everything else. So I started it a little confused in the beginning like I am when I start every book. Although this was the first with a twist, it was inspiring. In the book this girl has to go through changes she can't stop, she is treated awfully and she can't stop it until now. This book changes how you see fantasy books and how you picture happy endings. The romance is so messed up you can never go back to love stories.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    Dark, Action-filled, Suspenseful, Page Turner

    The Devil's Kiss kept my attention throughout. I think this book is well suited for those who like action-filled and suspenseful reads and not so much for those looking for romance or a love story. Billi's life seemed so hopeless. It was impossible not to feel for this girl...she felt so trapped and alone. Strangely enough though, by the middle of the book I didn't feel much for her, or the other characters, anymore. I was just reading the story and felt indifferent. Perhaps, because it became some what predictable or maybe because everyone was so secluded and separate from the rest. I don't think Chadda intended it to be a heart-tugger but just action filled...and he succeeded.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One word. WOW.

    I've never read a better first novel than this book. The story was crazy and sophisticated and the characters; modern yet mature. The character's history and personalities are unique and different, yet the author takes general teenage issues and weaves it into something greater. Wow. I don't want to give away the story so I will refrain from continuing, but I am DEFINITELY looking forward to more novels from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    If you have 3 stars or less as your rating...

    Your insane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    TO whom may conern: here my rate and review.

    To whom may conern: here my rate and review. I didnot like this book very well it was ok.not my favroite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    Awesome! It was very intense, definitely action-packed, and a be

    Awesome! It was very intense, definitely action-packed, and a beautiful story, even though it's very heart-breaking and tragic. But I still enjoyed it a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Drop dead amazing

    I was astouned at how beautifuly wrought such a historic tale could be. Absloutley worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Beatiful in its own way

    Perfect. I cried so much in this book. U will see y if u do read it. This book has love, friendship, and trust and so many things to learn from. Loved it til death. If someone dies and u love them so much it feels like another part if u has fade."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    WOW

    This book was so good i finished it in 1 day... i really love Billi and her best friend Kay... but i think Billi is a hella badass... i wish i was badass like her... Chadda is an awesome aurther... but i wished he could have describe Billi and Kays past... i cant wait to read the next book!!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    ?????????

    I am actually really curious to the fact that a indian/middle eastern person wrote it. It looks good but i want to know how many pages in the book are there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!

    I got this book and was unable to put it down. It was a little predictable at times, but it had a good plot. A good book for those that like a little tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!!

    Grabbed this book at random and loved it!. The plot was interesting and a bit creepy. But Billi's struggle with the fact that she is forced to live her life as a Templar and her burning rage for the way her father treats her adds interesting twists to the story. And no, this book doesn't have a happy ending. Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Quick Read!

    I finished this book pretty easily. It was goo but not great... sometimes the story pulled me in but other times i was bored. Billi's an interesting heroine but sometimes it can get annoying. But i will admit i'm excited for the next one. The ending left me wanting more only problem is i have no idea what to expect. It wasn't as good as i thought it would be but still a good story. If you in the mood for Knights, Oracles and Evil souless ghuls or Dark Fallen Angels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    good

    I actually liked this book. It has some awesome evil characters all the way through. I always knew the bible was full of some evil dudes lol!It's defiantly not one of those books trying to recruit you into christianity or anything, far from it.The book was very fast paced and I loved the main chick in this book,she was badass!There were a few things I didn't like,I didn't like the fact she was kind of whiny about her duties or that she was eaisily fooled by the evil angel dude(not naming names here)I'm not an expert on the Templars but I really like this.For those that know about them you'll have to tell me yourself what you thought.And I love how he writes the book and actually explains why things happen(a lot of authors don't do that)Also he wasn't sexist in writing his main character,at least I didn't think he was.He let her do anything the guys did and let her go even further beyond them! LOL I find it very amusing that he let her do things most female writers wouldn't have let her done if they were writing it. And even though she was a teenage girl she wasn't too boy crazy or obsessed like most female writers like to make their main female character. You didn't have to read on and on about how cute someone is or how in love they are.Not all girls are like that in real life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    okay

    I didn't buy this book because I wasn't sure whether or not it would be worth my money, especially in hardback. I ended up borrowing it from a friend. I am glad that I didn't buy it. Though the book isn't absolutely horrible like I have seen other reviews say, it isn't that great either. The plot is predictable. The characters are somewhat rounded. Though the idea of fallen angels and stuff is awesome this book just didn't do anything for me. It read slowly, so even when I thought I had read a lot, I had much more to go. Would I recommend buying this? No. Reading it at a library? Possibly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    .....

    All I have to say is.... I wasted like 15 dallors on this crap of a book. I was bored throughout the whole book. I will never tell someone else to read this book, because I would never put some through that much bordem. Billi was annoying and so was Kay. Not people I liked readiing about! Fallen angels, a (kind of...little) love interest, a pandemic - all of these elements should have made me happy, but I didn't like any of the characters enough to actually care about them. Don't buy this book, if you really want to read it then just borrow it from someone who has it or from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Rummel for TeensReadToo.com

    Billi has a crazy life - she's been inducted into the Knight's Templar and her job is to keep evil down.

    After the night her mother and half their group were murdered, it's been tough. There's not many of her kind left. While it's the only life she's ever known, she wishes that she could be normal - not go to school with cuts and bruises and need to explain herself or go on an actual date.

    She's fed up with her world and her stoic father and doesn't want this life. When she meets a boy, she defies the rules and begins seeing him. However, he turns out to be the leader of evil and he's after the Templar's prized possession.

    As she gears up for the biggest fight of her life, Billi comes to learn more about her world and her family. Is she too late in wanting to save the world?

    I LOVE this book cover; it instantly drew me in. Plus, the title made me curious. It's a great read filled with angst, longing, fantasy, the paranormal, and just a hint of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Story That Reveals What True Sacrifice is Really About.

    Truly a spellbinding story that lures readers into it's tale of duty, honor, love, angst, and sacrifice. The Devil's Kiss will pull you into story as it weaves the tale of young heroine Bilqis SanGreal. An amazing story that without question is one of the best books I have read and one that easily makes its way to the top of my list of favorite. Without a doubt an excellent work of literature that will pull its readers in and makes one think twice about the true nature of evil. I highly recomend this book to all who enjoy religous lore, myth of both light and darkness, as well as adventure.
    Without question five out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Smashing!

    Billie has a crazy life - she's been inducted into the Knight's Templar and her job is to keep evil down. After the night her mother and half their group were murdered, it's been tough. There's not many of her kind left. While it's the only life she's ever known, she wishes that she could be normal - not go to school with cuts and bruises and need to explain herself or go on an actual date. She's fed up with her world and her stoic father and doesn't want this life. When she meets a boy, she defies the rules and dates him. However, he turns out to be the leader of evil and he's after the Templar prized possession. As she gears up for the biggest fight of her life, Billie comes to learn more ab out her world and her family. Is she too late in wanting to save the world?

    I LOVE this book cover, it instantly drew me in. Plus the title made me curious. It's a great read filled with angst, longing, paranormal, and just a hint of romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced and action packed!

    Although the MC in this book is a girl... its most definitely reads like a boy. Probably because the author is a male. The book was full of action & adventure. The plot was very thought out, using myth and religious lore. Myself being a female, I believe young ladies reading this will be a bit diappointed that there wasn't much in the department of romance. As I said before, it read more like it was geared toward young boys, or the type of young lady that isn't such a girlie girl. Regardless, I think it's a story you'll enjoy. I have one negative: the subplot of Father & daughter was a little weak. Not at all unrealistic, considering the circumstance, but I felt it could have held more depth, their relationship given more substance and backstory--especially when it came to the girl's mother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5