Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Mistress

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful read...

I couldn't put this book down! The story line was very good, the history told in this book, witchcraft, kept me really interested in what events took place in those days. I loved the dialogue between Sloan and Brianna, it kept you hanging on and sometimes my mouth wou...
I couldn't put this book down! The story line was very good, the history told in this book, witchcraft, kept me really interested in what events took place in those days. I loved the dialogue between Sloan and Brianna, it kept you hanging on and sometimes my mouth would drop open at what they were saying to each other!!! It was a very good book.

posted by Anonymous on September 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Forced myself to finish it

I usually love this author's books, and have read almost all of them. The premise of this book sounded fantastic! The reality just didn't work for me. The story didn't flow, and the main characters were so disjointed that I couldn't even figure out why they were attract...
I usually love this author's books, and have read almost all of them. The premise of this book sounded fantastic! The reality just didn't work for me. The story didn't flow, and the main characters were so disjointed that I couldn't even figure out why they were attracted to eachother initially, let alone for the entire span of the book. I get it-the author did some research into the history of that time. Unfortunately, it only took away valuable pages that could have been spent in character development to make us actually care about the hero/heroine themselves. I found myself skimming large sections, looking for something to connect to emotionally. Then I just wanted to be done with it.
Bottom line: the story is not believable, in spite of the history of the time. The characters are melodramatic and emotionally false. There is lots of action and history, but it further muddles the plot, rather than providing the foundation for the romance storyline. I was really disappointed by this book.

posted by 5551984 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Forced myself to finish it

    I usually love this author's books, and have read almost all of them. The premise of this book sounded fantastic! The reality just didn't work for me. The story didn't flow, and the main characters were so disjointed that I couldn't even figure out why they were attracted to eachother initially, let alone for the entire span of the book. I get it-the author did some research into the history of that time. Unfortunately, it only took away valuable pages that could have been spent in character development to make us actually care about the hero/heroine themselves. I found myself skimming large sections, looking for something to connect to emotionally. Then I just wanted to be done with it.
    Bottom line: the story is not believable, in spite of the history of the time. The characters are melodramatic and emotionally false. There is lots of action and history, but it further muddles the plot, rather than providing the foundation for the romance storyline. I was really disappointed by this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2004

    Wonderful read...

    I couldn't put this book down! The story line was very good, the history told in this book, witchcraft, kept me really interested in what events took place in those days. I loved the dialogue between Sloan and Brianna, it kept you hanging on and sometimes my mouth would drop open at what they were saying to each other!!! It was a very good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Wonderful as always

    All of the books I have read by Heather Graham are wonderul as always. She manages to give you detail of that era combined with the principals in the story. Her characters are so real that you feel that you are there when she is describing the time and the events. I read the book straight through as I do with many of her books. Ms. Graham just keep writing and you can be sure I will continue to buy them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Awful heroine

    This book was a failure of a romance. The heroine, Brianna, was quite unlikable and most of the time, had as little restraint as a spoiled, bratty child. She behaved irrationally and spent much of the time berating the hero unnecessarily and undeservedly. If I had to take a drink for every time she flew into a tirade and physically attacked the hero, Sloan, I'd have needed to have treatment for alcohol poisoning. Sloan was marginally more likable, but it was never clear why he would love the heroine, except for his obsession with her beauty. The characters don't spend any time getting to know one another, so their love is inexplicable, outside of their "magical sexual encounters", described in annoying flowery language. In conclusion, a heroine who is just too stupid to live and an implausible attraction between the main characters means - don't make the mistake I did in buying this book - save your money and bypass this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    A very good read!

    This book was engaging and the plot was superb. It was very entertaining with enough paced plot development and intrigue to keep you reading and wanting to know what happens next. I went in a skeptic and came out a believer in the writing. The description doesn't do the book justice and at no point does the protagonist vow revenge against her love so that is inaccurate. Other than that I would certainly recommend this for historical romance lovers or even those interested in finding substance in a plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    DEMON WALL

    Equipped with tar buckets catapults and more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Erik

    Walks in

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Zne &diamond

    <_>

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    good read

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Interesting story

    I like the story because it was different, i didn't like the main character, Brianna. I did like Sloan. He loved her and always helped her out as much as he could, while she was always ungrateful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Very good

    I enjoyed it :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Devil's mistress

    A bit slow in the middle, but a pleasant read.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2