Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Right Hand (Dante Valentine Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Definitely outstanding!

    Dante Valentine and her demon lover, Japhrimel, are summoned to once again meet with the Dark Prince. His mission for Dante is to hunt down four Flight Demons that have escaped hell. She has seven years to accomplish this task. I was blown away by this third book in the series. It had me tense the whole time. This book delves even deeper into Dante and Japhrimel's relationship and it is a roller coaster of a ride. Hold onto your seats for this one. It was phenomanal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Scarey! But Surprisingly interesting.

    I chose this one since I am unable to get it through my library. I often read the storys first and then if I really like it I try to purchase the series. I like Saintcrow's books and I have read two of her series. Those I am unable to locate through the library I purchase from B&H. com. or Barnes and Noble. Herbooks are rather for those who both think and like to be scared. Thinking comes first however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    I don't know :(

    Dante and Japhrimel are doing the Devil’s bidding for the next seven years. Who said chasing demons would be fun?
    My issue is with Dante Valentine.
    She’s conflicted, childish and all over the place right now. Its either black or white with her, no shades of gray.
    I think I would’ve given this more stars if Dante was a bit more likeable in this installment. Her incessant whining really worked my last nerve.
    My apologies for not being very thorough with the review. It was very hard for me to get through this one. I’m going to finish the series just to see how it ends.
    Hopefully the next one will be better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's great to see Dante back!

    This was a much better improvement from the second one. (I found Dante to be a little whiny). She still packs a punch with her wit and literally kicks butt in the action scenes. Although she's still emotional at times, and Japhrimel doesn't really help her much (at least it seems like it). I'm glad Dante got back on her feet and is somewhat back to her normal self.

    Like the previous two novels, the action scenes never disappoint me. They're well written and very descriptive and it really does feel as if you're watching a movie instead of reading a book. I still think Dante still needs to develop a bit more. It's like she's stuck in a rut and can't seem to get past the emotional stage of her development. It's developing, but I think it's developing a little too slow. Yet as I mentioned above, I'm glad she's back to her butt kicking ways. She still has some issues to resolve, and hopefully they'll get solved soon to get the plot moving faster.

    The relationship between Dante and Japhrimel seems strained and tense. Although there's a lot of love, there's also a very deep sense of mistrust between the two of them as Japhrimel still hides a lot of secrets. I like them as a couple and they both compliment each other well.

    Plot-wise, the book was good. Although it was slow at first to get into. The action does pick up and some twists were revealed to keep the story interesting. I still feel as if the story is missing something though, but it could be because I just don't like the way Dante's character is developing. The twist in the end was good and I'm looking forward to picking up the next book to read the series further.

    Dante Valentine fans will be happy that she's back to her own self (somewhat) and Japh is still sexy as ever. The action and plot twists will keep us coming back for more. Let's hope with this new twist, the plot will be taken further and will be an enjoyable read like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    read it to finish it

    It may have been that I just was not in the mood for the main character, but I found myself gradually developing a eye-rolling irritation and dislike of her. The main character had little to much melodrama and whining, but with schizophrenic tendencies for acts of enragement. The plot line and style are what drew me in, not to mention that I've read some of Saintcrow's other novels, but this series is like chamomile tea for me. And I despise chamomile tea. The background and story, and the very creative side characters are wonderful. Incorporation of Egyptian mythology, random bits of Christianity, things that go bump in the night, those are the things that kept me reading. If I could have substituted another heroine this book would have ranked much higher. I don't think I'll continue with this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love watching characters in a novel evolve...

    Third in the Dante Valentine series and definitely the best thus far. The first was good, the second was okay, but The Devil's Right Hand blew the other two away.

    I specifically like that Danny Valentine is accepting her past, learning from her mistakes and triumphs, and letting down some of her walls. She's growing as a character before our eyes. Too often a character in a series becomes too stubborn, unable to incorporate these experiences into their lives, and they become predictable and uninteresting. Saintcrow has given us a character that has just the right amount of stubbornness to keep them grounded in who they are. But her character has also allowed both her positive and negative life experiences to embrace her and has chosen to embrace them back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Stating to get a bit whiney

    The Dante Valentine series has not lacked for action so far and this book delivers. It's a bit whiney w/ more stupid, obvious mistakes but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    In the far distant future on Earth, the phenomena known as the Awakening brought into being a vast number of psionics and those with magical abilities that hid in the shadows before entered this new world. Dante Valentine has found her necromance powers (the ability to raise the dead and ask them questions) that help her earn a living as a bounty hunter. When out on one of her assignments she meets Japhrimel a demon who is part of the Greater Flight, Lucifer¿s oldest son and his best assassin. ------------------- He gives up his place in hell for her becoming an A¿nankhimel a fallen who has tied himself to Dante who he genetically changed into a half demon known as a hedaria. Lucifer calls Dante to him and Japhrimel accompanies her. They make a deal that they will hunt down four greater demons who escaped to earth in exchange for Japhrimel getting his demonic powers back in full. Dante is now under Lucifer¿s protection for eternity and full control of the Hellessvront, people places, objects, and money that Lucifer has available on Earth. When Dante finds out whom one of the demons she is to hunt is she wants to back out of the deal but nobody reneges on an agreement with Lucifer and lives to tell the tale.----------------------- The story line is fast-paced but devilishly driven by the Faustian deal. Dante is strong and independent but she is also using magic and afraid that good things and people in her life, like Japhrimel will be destroyed. Readers can actually see her struggling to accept Japhrimel¿s love for her. It is a torturous process with so many doubts when she feels insecure that the audience will think Japhrimel is a saintly demon for putting up with her. Lilith Saintcrow is one awesome fantasy writer.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    Wow!! I can't wait for the next one ...

    I discovered Dante Valentine by accident about a month ago, and now I'm hooked!! This is the third book in the series. The action unfolds against a dark, moody alternate reality in which organized religion has given way to the worship of personal gods from every pantheon imaginable. I loved this instalment. We have Dante and Japh, and the ongoing tension between them, which nevertheless only seems to heighten the bond between this team of Necromance and Demon. It's not sappy, but it packs a tremendous emotional punch when you least expect it, and that makes it powerful. I've re-read the books twice already in the last month. They're so fresh, and unique, and soooo well-written. In this, Ms. Saintcrow has definitely improved - or her editor has ... . The first book - which I loved, as I said - needed a firmer hand to get rid of some repetition. The second book needed a bit more exposition, some more backgrounding on the world's mythos/ethos, etc. The third book got it perfect. I can't wait for the final two in the series. These books go on my 'keeper' shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4