BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Devil's Star (Harry Hole Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Series

    This is a great cop/mystery series but I suggest that you read the first book in the series to know the characters.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Many Faceted

    This is a very good crime novel set in Norway, the authors home country. The characters and the plot are well thought out. I was surprised by a number of turns that the plot took. The main character, police detective, Harry Hole is on his last legs with the police department, his girlfriend, and humanity in general. He has been haunted since his childhood by his quilt of losing his younger sister in a bizarre elevator accident, which he was powerless to stop. Now the young female detective he had been working with on a police corruption case, has been murdered and he feels it is his fault. He tries drowning his guilt with liquor and pushing away all his acquaintances, including his girlfriend. An opportunity to redeem himself and to avenge the killing of his partner arises when he is forced to work a case with detective Waaler, whom Harry suspects of murdering his partner. The case starts when a girl is found naked, murdered in her apartment with one finger cut off. Under one eyelid a red star shaped diamond is found. This and two similar murders set in motion the twisting plot that brings the murder and Harry's problems to a denouement.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling mystery at it's best!

    Jo Nesbo is a author that grows better with each novel. I purchased this novel online, because it has not been released in the U.S. and publishers have missed the boat with this author. I don't normally pay $25.00 for a paperback, but this one is worth every penny.
    The Devil's Star starts off fast and moves into an intricate plot that's seldom seen in the mystery genre. A novel worth ordering from the U.K., if you have to, and will leave you feeling exhausted from the ride.
    Publishers have to be crazy to have stopped printing Nesbo's novels after only two, when the ones that follow are some of the best ever written in any country. Jo Nesbo is simply the best in the business.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The third Hole Norwegian police procedural is a great whodunit

    Oslo police detective Harry Hole drowns his greatest professional and personal failures with alcohol. He tried to persuade his superiors that Detective Tom Waaler killed Harry's police partner Ellen Gjelten (see The Redbreast), but no one believed him; Harry also believes the dirty cop sells weapons on the streets. On the personal front, he has been inept in connecting with his girlfriend and her son.

    Ironically, Chief Inspector Bjarne Moller teams up Hole and Waaler on the murder investigation of Camilla Loen whose finger was removed and a devil's star shaped diamond jammed under her eyelid. Harry is assigned a missing person's case that soon ties back to the Loen murder. Those corpses are followed by similar bodies as Hole realizes a serial killer is on theloose.

    The third Hole Norwegian police procedural is a great whodunit as the hero struggles to sober up in order to work the case ALONG side his Nemesis. The story line is fast-paced from the onset and never slows down as Harry struggles in all aspects of his life except investigating a homicide. Sub-genre fans will relish his latest caseload on and off the job.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Love these moody Scandanavian detective stories

    I'm a fairly cheerful person myself, so I'm not sure why I like these quirky and unhappy characters, but to me Harry Hole is somebody I just want to root for. His personal demons are worthy adversaries and Harry keeps up the good fight. The plot of this book is sufficiently intricate to keep me guessing, the villains are truly villainous and matters are tied up but not so neatly as to be incredible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Mystery

    Well written novel that makes you truly feel connected to the protagonist in the story, Harry Hole. Great plot that kept you involved and trying to solve the crime alongside the Oslo police force. The sub-plot romance that went on between Harry and Rakel was a great touch! This was the first Nesbo book that I have read, but I will definitely back track to some of his earlier works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Brilliant

    Once you start on Jo Nesbo you better have time to finish, you won't want to do anything else! ADDICTIVE!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Well-Conostructed, Believable

    This is a detective-mystery and thriller. Nesbo is one of the crop of Scandinavian mystery writers that is currently so popular and respected. His lead detective is Harry Hole, who at the start of the book is in a deep depression and has relapsed into his alcoholism, due to his failure to prove that another police inspector is the head of an arms smuggling ring and has committed murder. Now, he has to work with this man to find a killer who leaves a star-shaped, red diamond on his victims.
    I found the plot to be well constructed and believable. I had some problem, especially at the beginning, with the way the time-line was presented. It seemed to me that too large gaps were skipped at the early stages of the investigation, without anything apparently happening in those periods.
    At the end of the book there are several possibilities for the true perpetrator of the killings, and I was not able to choose among them until the author revealed the secret. This made the book more enjoyable for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Twist

    I'm always on the look out for a new Scandanavian writer and I was happy to have found Jo Nesbo. Great character in Harry Hole and wonderful story telling. I'm looking forward to reading Mr.Nesbo's other books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    For Fans of "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo"

    This is the 5th book in the series that takes place in Oslo, Norway. Too bad the first two were never published here. Jo Nesbo takes his place amoung Connorly, Child and Burke with a well written fast paced thriller. The characters are well established and the story is a real thriller. While not necessary to read this book, reading the other two available in paper, will help establish the main characters and provide some back story which will help understand the subplot of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    To pink ipad

    Go suck a dick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    I have read many of Nesbo's books and have enjoyed Harry Hole.  

    I have read many of Nesbo's books and have enjoyed Harry Hole.  This book, however, was not one of his best.  Very convoluted - almost didn't care who the bad guy was.  Just wanted it to be over. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Another great entry in the Harry Hole series

    All of the Harry Hole series are stand alone novels (so that you don't have to read the entire series -- although I would highly suggest that you do). The pace is exciting and concerns what length people will go to portray something that they are not. As always, Harry Hole battles his many demons to get to the bottom of the crimes. I have read all 10 books in the series and cannot wait for the next one. Jo Nesbo is master of this genre and in addition to the police procedure, forensics, fast paced action, the characterizations are so well drawn out that you feel as though you know them personally. He also draws on the Norwegian landscape and culture so well that he should probably work for Norwegian National Tourism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Get pink ipad

    Kiss hand 3 times post under 3 books look undre pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Another Nesbo winner.

    Pretty creepy and very interesting. You won't be putting this one aside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Hi

    Cggxhkhcttdtxgjvuvydt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Harry Hole is the worlds most flawed protagonist. Besides the p

    Harry Hole is the worlds most flawed protagonist. Besides the plot, which is quite good, the novel overdoes Harrys near-death experiences. I thought the Snowman was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Better than Stieg Larsson

    A book I couldn't put down. reommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Another gripping Harry Hole mystery

    Like the other Harry Hole Mysteries by Nesbo, this one is gripping and difficult to put down. The humanity and foibles of the characters, combined with an intricate plot and suspenseful writing make a winner. It's also always interesting--as a US based reader--to learn a bit about the Norwegian culture and geography. And--as in the Dragon Tattoo books--everyone has IKEA furniture!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Another great mystery from Scandinavia

    Terrific mystery with a different nuance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4